Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

[TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 12-04-2012 , 08:44   [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #1

The current mantreads ingame are too weak to do any real damage and isn't worth replacing the shotgun, is there a way to buff it without needing to install goomba stomp? maybe have it do x6 damage instead of x3
__________________

Last edited by nergal; 12-04-2012 at 08:47.
nergal is offline
Dr. McKay
Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlantis
Old 12-04-2012 , 09:34   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #2

Perhaps hook OnTakeDamage on everyone via SDK Hooks, then if the weapon is Mantreads, override to 9,000 damage?
__________________
Dr. McKay is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 12-04-2012 , 10:25   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
Perhaps hook OnTakeDamage on everyone via SDK Hooks, then if the weapon is Mantreads, override to 9,000 damage?
You can check if it's mantreads by checking the damagecustom param. It'll be equal to TF_CUSTOM_BOOTS_STOMP (from tf2_stocks) for ManTreads.

Or at least I think that works for non-lethal damage.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 12-04-2012 at 10:26.
Powerlord is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 12-05-2012 , 13:56   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
Perhaps hook OnTakeDamage on everyone via SDK Hooks, then if the weapon is Mantreads, override to 9,000 damage?
9,000 damage? O_O

wouldn't it be a little better to just hook the x3 damage and buff it to x6 damage based on fall damage?

the idea is keeping all it's mechanics the same, just buffing the damage a bit so it can be useful.
__________________
nergal is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 12-06-2012 , 09:17   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by nergal View Post
9,000 damage? O_O

wouldn't it be a little better to just hook the x3 damage and buff it to x6 damage based on fall damage?

the idea is keeping all it's mechanics the same, just buffing the damage a bit so it can be useful.
In that case, just use the TF2Items Item Manager to change the Mantreads damage attribute.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 12-09-2012 , 19:55   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
In that case, just use the TF2Items Item Manager to change the Mantreads damage attribute.
I don't think you can modify it that way.

The way the mantreads work is by calculating fall damage, and if you land a person, the game takes the calculated fall damage, multiplies it by 3, then applies that damage to the person you landed on instead of you.

my question is, is it possible to increase the multiplication value to 6 instead of 3 so that players that want to use the mantreads can actually do damage worthy damage.
__________________

Last edited by nergal; 12-09-2012 at 19:55.
nergal is offline
Dr. McKay
Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlantis
Old 12-09-2012 , 20:03   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #7

Try this.
PHP Code:
#include <sdkhooks>

#define ITEM_MANTREADS    444

public OnClientPutInServer(client) {
    
SDKHook(clientSDKHook_OnTakeDamageOnTakeDamage);
}

public 
Action:OnTakeDamage(victim, &attacker, &inflictor, &Float:damage, &damagetype, &weaponFloat:damageForce[3], Float:damagePosition[3]) {
    if(
IsValidEntity(weapon) && GetEntProp(weaponProp_Send"m_iItemDefinitionIndex") == ITEM_MANTREADS) {
        
damage *= 2.0;
        return 
Plugin_Changed;
    }
    return 
Plugin_Continue;

__________________

Last edited by Dr. McKay; 12-10-2012 at 09:29.
Dr. McKay is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 12-10-2012 , 02:39   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
Try this.
PHP Code:
#define ITEM_MANTREADS    444

public OnClientPutInServer(client) {
    
SDKHook(clientSDKHook_OnTakeDamageOnTakeDamage);
}

public 
Action:OnTakeDamage(victim, &attacker, &inflictor, &Float:damage, &damagetype, &weaponFloat:damageForce[3], Float:damagePosition[3]) {
    if(
GetEntProp(weaponProp_Send"m_iDefinitionIndex") == ITEM_MANTREADS) {
        
damage *= 2.0;
        return 
Plugin_Changed;
    }
    return 
Plugin_Continue;

I tested it and it kept spamming me this call stack, also it kept doing over 500+ damage for the stomps but either way I think it's balanced by the fact that it kills in one stomp!

thx Mr. McKay!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	102.9 KB
ID:	113074  
__________________

Last edited by nergal; 12-10-2012 at 02:40.
nergal is offline
Leonardo
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 90's
Old 12-10-2012 , 03:29   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #9

m_iItemDefinitionIndex
__________________
Leonardo is offline
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 12-10-2012 , 08:51   Re: [TF2] idea - Mantreads buff?
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
m_iItemDefinitionIndex
lemme try that out

brb with results

edit: still got stack trace

that error could be that im testing on my end on clientside but im 100% sure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	113085  
__________________

Last edited by nergal; 12-10-2012 at 09:01.
nergal is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode