Raised This Month: $134 Target: $400
 33% 

[TF2] Armchair Generals


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
nergal
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Plugin ID:
4406
Plugin Version:
1.0
Plugin Category:
Gameplay
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    makes spectator alot more interactive
    Old 11-05-2014 , 11:31   [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #1

    Wiktionary defines "armchair general" as an outspoken warmonger, and/or a self-appointed strategist, who normally lacks actual military experience, and probably has no intention to get any in the near future.

    This plugin allows the Spectator class to be more interactive through the use of pre-made Annotations to command a team of their choice.

    General-Spectators will get a nifty HUD that tells them what team they are leading, the class count of their team, and how many players are dead.

    To Command your team, press RELOAD while as a General for a menu that'll pop up and simply look at the intended area whilst selecting what command to give to your team.

    This plugin uses the Transitional Syntax+API.

    CONFIGS CONVARS
    PHP Code:
    // This file was auto-generated by SourceMod (v1.7.0-dev+4925)
    // ConVars for plugin "armchair-general.smx"


    // what flag admins need to bypass the Generals limit
    // -
    // Default: "a"
    sm_armgeneral_adminflagbypass "a"

    // How long Annotations can 'live' for
    // -
    // Default: "8.0"
    // Minimum: "0.100000"
    // Maximum: "9990.000000"
    sm_armgeneral_annotelife "8.0"

    // How many Generals BLU Team can have
    // -
    // Default: "3"
    // Minimum: "0.000000"
    // Maximum: "16.000000"
    sm_armgeneral_blulimit "3"

    // Enable the ArmChair General plugin
    // -
    // Default: "1"
    // Minimum: "0.000000"
    // Maximum: "1.000000"
    sm_armgeneral_enabled "1"

    // x coordinate for the General HUD
    // -
    // Default: "-0.05"
    sm_armgeneral_hudx "-0.05"

    // y coordinate for the General HUD
    // -
    // Default: "-1.0"
    sm_armgeneral_hudy "-1.0"

    // How many Generals RED Team can have
    // -
    // Default: "3"
    // Minimum: "0.000000"
    // Maximum: "16.000000"
    sm_armgeneral_redlimit "3"

    // Allows Generals to see other Generals annotations
    // -
    // Default: "0"
    // Minimum: "0.000000"
    // Maximum: "1.000000"
    sm_armgeneral_seeallannotes "0" 


    Changelog ---
    Oct 24, 2015 - updated code to use a single Commander methodmap and added the ability for commanders to send custom messages instead of premade ones.

    March 11, 2015 - improved code, added class specific filtering and added admin command for custom annotations. Added advertisement to alert players of this plugin's feature
    Attached Images
    File Type: jpg 2014-11-05_00001.jpg (92.9 KB, 862 views)
    Attached Files
    File Type: smx armchair-generals.smx (19.6 KB, 53 views)
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (armchair-generals.sp - 52 views - 16.9 KB)
    __________________

    Last edited by nergal; 10-25-2015 at 01:38. Reason: update
    nergal is offline
    Snaggle
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Location: England
    Old 11-05-2014 , 12:17   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #2

    That's a very clever idea. Is there a limit on how many people can do this while in Spec? It sort of reminds me of the Commander feature in the Battlefield series.
    Snaggle is offline
    nergal
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Old 11-05-2014 , 12:21   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #3

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Snaggle View Post
    That's a very clever idea. Is there a limit on how many people can do this while in Spec? It sort of reminds me of the Commander feature in the Battlefield series.
    limit is default 3 for red and blu team.

    There is also an admin bypass so admins can always go "Commanding Officer" when they want.

    If you or anyone have any ideas/features you would like to see added to this, just put your idea here
    __________________

    Last edited by nergal; 11-05-2014 at 12:22.
    nergal is offline
    404UserNotFound
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: 🍁
    Old 11-05-2014 , 22:48   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #4

    If you want to stay true to TF2 history, I'd change this to "Commander Class", as this is similar to what Valve originally was going to add (though with a minimap of sorts) as part of a Commander class.

    Other than that, very nice!
    __________________
    I'm not a SourcePawn expert, I just play one on TV.
    Want to join the SourceMod Discord server? Click here!

    404UserNotFound is offline
    nergal
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Old 11-05-2014 , 23:09   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #5

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by abrandnewday View Post
    If you want to stay true to TF2 history, I'd change this to "Commander Class", as this is similar to what Valve originally was going to add (though with a minimap of sorts) as part of a Commander class.

    Other than that, very nice!
    How was the commander class going to work? would he have a wider field of view? Weapons?

    EDIT: looking at the Commander from TF2 Wiki, this plugin functions extremely similar with the only difference being that Commanders could drop supplies and call in air support

    From the Wiki itself - https://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Commander

    Quote:
    "the Commander would have been able to help coordinate attacks, alert to enemies, placing structures, call for parachute drops over enemy territory, to name a few; however, unlike the remainder of the classes, due to the RTS design, the Commander was a non-physical role, only able to passively influence battle"
    place buildings, etc etc.

    The only reason I didn't do that is because I didn't want to mess with the current balance situation of the game BUT I will do this if you guys really want
    __________________
    nergal is offline
    404UserNotFound
    ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: 🍁
    Old 11-05-2014 , 23:13   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by nergal View Post
    How was the commander class going to work? would he have a wider field of view? Weapons?

    EDIT: looking at the Commander from TF2 Wiki, this plugin functions extremely similar with the only difference being that Commanders could drop supplies and call in air support

    From the Wiki itself - https://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Commander



    place buildings, etc etc.

    The only reason I didn't do that is because I didn't want to mess with the current balance situation of the game BUT I will do this if you guys really want
    I'd add in the ability to place health/ammo packs, but set up an enable/disable convar for that particular feature. Same with buildings (maybe just a level 1 sentry gun with additional convars to enable/disable level 2 and level 3 sentries separately)

    I'd love to see actual "parachute drops" for the health/ammo packs if at all possible. Maybe some way of parenting the BASE Jumper model to the pack model and somehow triggering the "open" animation whilst having the pack slowly fall to the ground and only become obtainable once on the ground.

    Not sure if the parachute thing would be possible though.
    __________________
    I'm not a SourcePawn expert, I just play one on TV.
    Want to join the SourceMod Discord server? Click here!


    Last edited by 404UserNotFound; 11-05-2014 at 23:15.
    404UserNotFound is offline
    nergal
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Old 11-05-2014 , 23:43   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #7

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by abrandnewday View Post
    I'd add in the ability to place health/ammo packs, but set up an enable/disable convar for that particular feature. Same with buildings (maybe just a level 1 sentry gun with additional convars to enable/disable level 2 and level 3 sentries separately)

    I'd love to see actual "parachute drops" for the health/ammo packs if at all possible. Maybe some way of parenting the BASE Jumper model to the pack model and somehow triggering the "open" animation whilst having the pack slowly fall to the ground and only become obtainable once on the ground.

    Not sure if the parachute thing would be possible though.
    Sexcellent, I'll work on an update starting Friday till Weekends But maybe leave out sentries and just allow only dispensers to be made by Commanders?

    There should be a 1-3 minute cooldown for those dispensers too from convar of course, same with the ammo/health kits.
    __________________

    Last edited by nergal; 11-05-2014 at 23:44.
    nergal is offline
    robotortoise
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2013
    Location: Somewhere in the US
    Old 11-06-2014 , 00:21   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #8

    This looks neat!

    It might be fun for exclusive maps instead of all maps to keep balance, though.

    Or at least a way to toggle it via a custom vote. (Maybe you can do that already through custom votes....IDK. Does it precache anything?)

    It would be cool in like a WW1, WW2, or Civil War map.
    __________________
    -Robotortoise [Palutena's Bro]

    If you ever need help with Wii/Gamecube/DS sounds/music/ect., I'm your man!

    Contact me via Steam

    I don't bite.


    How to loop and compress .wav files

    Me and my friends' server
    robotortoise is offline
    Marverlous
    Senior Member
    Join Date: May 2013
    Old 11-06-2014 , 18:57   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #9

    O.O This is so awesome! Any chance there can be a cvar to limit so only certain flag can be General?
    __________________
    Marverlous is offline
    nergal
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Old 11-06-2014 , 21:41   Re: [TF2] Armchair Generals
    Reply With Quote #10

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Marverlous View Post
    O.O This is so awesome! Any chance there can be a cvar to limit so only certain flag can be General?
    yes, set all all team limit cvars to 0 and set the admin flag cvar.
    __________________
    nergal is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:01.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode