Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Seperate Admins for two server instances


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
MrWiggles
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Old 07-14-2012 , 13:31   Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #1

Hello, I'm still digging through the forums. I know how to set up admin permissions and all. But I only really know how to make universal admins.

I run three TF2 servers from the same installation; I just use separate screens, launch files, and assign different configs using the servercfgfile, motdfile, and mapcyclefile flags in the launch configuration.

That way I only have to update one server when an update is pushed, and I save space on the SSD. I know there are much smarter ways to implement this that gameserver hosts and more professional communities use, but this is what my limited knowledge can do.

The admins_simple.ini file is universally executed, presenting me with a problem: Anyone who is admin on one server, is admin on ALL servers.

I'd like to separate my admins. Admins in one group would run servers A and B, while the second group can admin server C.

What's the best way to go about this?
MrWiggles is offline
DeaD_EyE82
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Germany
Old 07-14-2012 , 15:28   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #2

Use symlinks, when your os is Linux. Then you can manage two different servers with different plugins, admin_simple.ini etc.
__________________
German Support for HL2-Servers:

sourceserver.info
DeaD_EyE82 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to DeaD_EyE82
Chaosxk
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Westeros
Old 07-14-2012 , 16:04   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #3

Using Sourcebans gives you the option to specify which admin has powers in whatever server you choose.
__________________
Chaosxk is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 07-14-2012 , 16:23   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaosxk View Post
Using Sourcebans gives you the option to specify which admin has powers in whatever server you choose.
But still need install SourceMod for each server... right ?

http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Multiple_...28SourceMod%29

will this help anyhow
http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=155634
Bacardi is offline
DeaD_EyE82
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Germany
Old 07-14-2012 , 17:03   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #5

Single installations with diffrent configurations are complex.

Code:
mkdir masterserver
./steam -command install -game "Counter-Strike Source" -dir masterserver/
mkdir server1 server2
cp -sr ~/masterserver/* ~/server1
cp -sr ~/masterserver/* ~/server2
add plugins and configs to server1 and server2
start them

After a update you can copy added files with:
Code:
cp -sr ~/masterserver/* ~/server1 2>/dev/null
cp -sr ~/masterserver/* ~/server2 2>/dev/null
To delete broken links:
Code:
find -L ~ -type l -delete
__________________
German Support for HL2-Servers:

sourceserver.info
DeaD_EyE82 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to DeaD_EyE82
MrWiggles
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Old 07-16-2012 , 01:25   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #6

Deadeye, that will work wonders for us. We'll be moving to a single installation this week, freeing up precious space.

Thank-you!
MrWiggles is offline
Mitchell
~lick~
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 07-16-2012 , 01:48   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #7

i have a question, do you use like specific maplists.txt for each server? how do you make it so one doesnt play on maps that shouldnt be on there, or is all of your servers run on the same maps?
Im thinking like if you have a (for example) balloon race, sniper, and an trading server, how would that work out?
Same with the plugins, how would you config the plugins to have different flags? etc.

Last edited by Mitchell; 07-16-2012 at 01:48.
Mitchell is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-16-2012 , 08:35   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell View Post
i have a question, do you use like specific maplists.txt for each server? how do you make it so one doesnt play on maps that shouldnt be on there, or is all of your servers run on the same maps?
Im thinking like if you have a (for example) balloon race, sniper, and an trading server, how would that work out?
Same with the plugins, how would you config the plugins to have different flags? etc.
Well, the command he gave you creates symlinks to all the files, so just delete the symlink and create a real maplists.txt on each server instead.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-16-2012 at 08:36.
Powerlord is offline
MrWiggles
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Old 07-16-2012 , 16:41   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
Well, the command he gave you creates symlinks to all the files, so just delete the symlink and create a real maplists.txt on each server instead.
This is what I'd recommend, now that I know how to do it.

If, however, you want separate maplists and mapcycles for multiple instances on a single installation, then specify the following in the *.cfg or launch options:

mapcyclefile mapcycle2.txt
maplistfile maplist2.txt
MrWiggles is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 07-16-2012 , 17:01   Re: Seperate Admins for two server instances
Reply With Quote #10

@Mitchell I use Map-specific configs with prefix support. However the mapcycle cvars don't currently update if you change with a cfg between levels. My quick plugin here solves it nicely.
__________________

Last edited by 11530; 07-16-2012 at 17:05.
11530 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:10.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode