Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ScrapEngineer
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The fourth worst country
Old 04-25-2017 , 11:57   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryocery View Post
Yes, i have a dedicated server that works properly like all the rest.
How do i custom weapon models to work properly.

for example:


Where do i place the models?

How do i make sure that they get downloaded?

How do you make sure that a custom weapon has a specific custom model?

Are there any settings that should be changed for my server to support custom models? (i'm not sure if my server is a problem though.)
I've also been struggling to figure this out, I get how it's SUPPOSED to, but I can never get it to work.
__________________
Amateur coder and sentient lemon.
ScrapEngineer is offline
KaidemonLP
Member
Join Date: Jul 2016
Old 04-26-2017 , 01:47   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #102

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer View Post
I've also been struggling to figure this out, I get how it's SUPPOSED to, but I can never get it to work.
ok. Lets suppose that the model is called stingy. You need stingy.mdl stingy.dmx90.vtx stingy.dmx80.vtx stingy.phy stingy.vvd stingy.sw.vtx

Once you have all of them (dont ask how to get them, the model you want shoud have them all)
dont go into the source mod folder, just go into the tf2>tf folder. You shoud see a models folder, if you dont make one. Open it and put all the files in.

Now the model is in the place models/stingy.mdl

You also have to go to your actualy tf2 folder and add the same model to the same folder if you dont you will just get a error model.

Now we add it here.

"test1"
{
"classes"
{
"heavy" "1"
}
"baseclass" "shotgun"
"baseindex" "11"
"nobots" "1"
"quality" "6"
"logname" "test"
"description" "test"
"viewmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the viewmodel file.
}
"worldmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the worldmodel file.
}
"cw3_attributes"
{
}
}

If you are still confuzed il make a video tutorial but i dont have much time these 2 days so il make it in the weekend.
KaidemonLP is offline
Ryocery
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: No.
Old 04-26-2017 , 05:10   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #103

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaidemonLP View Post
ok. Lets suppose that the model is called stingy. You need stingy.mdl stingy.dmx90.vtx stingy.dmx80.vtx stingy.phy stingy.vvd stingy.sw.vtx

Once you have all of them (dont ask how to get them, the model you want shoud have them all)
dont go into the source mod folder, just go into the tf2>tf folder. You shoud see a models folder, if you dont make one. Open it and put all the files in.

Now the model is in the place models/stingy.mdl

You also have to go to your actualy tf2 folder and add the same model to the same folder if you dont you will just get a error model.

Now we add it here.

"test1"
{
"classes"
{
"heavy" "1"
}
"baseclass" "shotgun"
"baseindex" "11"
"nobots" "1"
"quality" "6"
"logname" "test"
"description" "test"
"viewmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the viewmodel file.
}
"worldmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the worldmodel file.
}
"cw3_attributes"
{
}
}

If you are still confuzed il make a video tutorial but i dont have much time these 2 days so il make it in the weekend.


Thank you, ill try it out when i can.


EDIT 1: There should be a way to get them downloaded by joining the server right? Have an idea how that works as well?

EDIT 2: No longer showing the original item, but the weapon itself is invisible, and not even an error.

EDIT 3: The weapon model shows up misformed when i have [Weapon Name].dx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dx90.vtx and Pink Checkerboarded

EDIT 4: The Weapon doesn't show up and is just invisible with [Weapon Name].dmx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dmx90.vtx

For the rest it's not showing the original model anymore.


Evaluation
Okay, So i got the weapon model to load... but it loads purple checkerboarded and misformed every single time. Using dmx90 or dmx80 does not load the model at all so i use dx90 and dx80.


Link to Picture:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...nshot15788.PNG

And yes... i have put the same model in my game folder.

Last edited by Ryocery; 04-26-2017 at 08:58.
Ryocery is offline
ScrapEngineer
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The fourth worst country
Old 04-26-2017 , 10:18   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #104

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryocery View Post
Thank you, ill try it out when i can.


EDIT 1: There should be a way to get them downloaded by joining the server right? Have an idea how that works as well?

EDIT 2: No longer showing the original item, but the weapon itself is invisible, and not even an error.

EDIT 3: The weapon model shows up misformed when i have [Weapon Name].dx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dx90.vtx and Pink Checkerboarded

EDIT 4: The Weapon doesn't show up and is just invisible with [Weapon Name].dmx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dmx90.vtx

For the rest it's not showing the original model anymore.


Evaluation
Okay, So i got the weapon model to load... but it loads purple checkerboarded and misformed every single time. Using dmx90 or dmx80 does not load the model at all so i use dx90 and dx80.


Link to Picture:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...nshot15788.PNG

And yes... i have put the same model in my game folder.
Make sure you also have the material file.
__________________
Amateur coder and sentient lemon.
ScrapEngineer is offline
Ryocery
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: No.
Old 04-26-2017 , 10:37   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #105

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer View Post
Make sure you also have the material file.
Do i need to put the model and everything in the material folder? Or something more specific?

Last edited by Ryocery; 04-26-2017 at 10:38.
Ryocery is offline
ScrapEngineer
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The fourth worst country
Old 04-26-2017 , 11:10   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #106

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryocery View Post
Do i need to put the model and everything in the material folder? Or something more specific?
Keep the model in the model file, but you need a .vtf and .vmt in your materials\(location.)
Say you had the Shellshock shotgun for a mod, you put the model in:
models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype_shotgun\c _prototype_shotgun.mdl
You'd also have a ".vtf" and a ".vmt".
It would belong in:
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vtf
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vmt
An exception is if the decompiled model's .qc said otherwise.
__________________
Amateur coder and sentient lemon.
ScrapEngineer is offline
Ryocery
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: No.
Old 04-26-2017 , 11:19   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #107

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer View Post
Keep the model in the model file, but you need a .vtf and .vmt in your materials\(location.)
Say you had the Shellshock shotgun for a mod, you put the model in:
models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype_shotgun\c _prototype_shotgun.mdl
You'd also have a ".vtf" and a ".vmt".
It would belong in:
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vtf
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vmt
An exception is if the decompiled model's .qc said otherwise.

Thank You so Much!


But still, now that it works... i can't seem to find a place where you can download models for the serverside, not for the client to place in tf2/tf/custom.
Is there a place where i can find models that aren't just .vpk files?


Literally every model i've downloaded so far has been a useless .vpk file which i can't use as a model for custom weapons.

It's starting to piss me off...

Last edited by Ryocery; 04-26-2017 at 11:22.
Ryocery is offline
ScrapEngineer
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The fourth worst country
Old 04-26-2017 , 15:12   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #108

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryocery View Post
Thank You so Much!


But still, now that it works... i can't seem to find a place where you can download models for the serverside, not for the client to place in tf2/tf/custom.
Is there a place where i can find models that aren't just .vpk files?


Literally every model i've downloaded so far has been a useless .vpk file which i can't use as a model for custom weapons.

It's starting to piss me off...
.vpk can be decompiled, I recommend Crowbar, a .vpk decompiler comes with TF2, but it's a command-line application so you SHOULD use crowbar, I'll add a .zip file containing it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip crowbar.zip (573.1 KB, 107 views)
__________________
Amateur coder and sentient lemon.
ScrapEngineer is offline
KaidemonLP
Member
Join Date: Jul 2016
Old 04-27-2017 , 01:33   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #109

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer View Post
.vpk can be decompiled, I recommend Crowbar, a .vpk decompiler comes with TF2, but it's a command-line application so you SHOULD use crowbar, I'll add a .zip file containing it.
Personaly i woud use GCF scape. Its for vpk specific.

http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/?p=26
KaidemonLP is offline
ScrapEngineer
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: The fourth worst country
Old 04-27-2017 , 03:54   Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
Reply With Quote #110

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaidemonLP View Post
Personaly i woud use GCF scape. Its for vpk specific.

http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/?p=26
I said Crowbar was a .vpk decompiler.
I'm stupid, I forgot it was for .mdls instead.

But yeah, GCFScape is a good idea.

EDIT: Crowbar DOES actually have a .vpk decompiler, but eh, GCFScape is probably what you need.
__________________
Amateur coder and sentient lemon.

Last edited by ScrapEngineer; 04-27-2017 at 05:34.
ScrapEngineer is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode