Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

[L4D] PounceUncap 1.2


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Dragonshadow
BANNED
Join Date: Jun 2008
Old 08-16-2009 , 17:25   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #61

well I'm talking about outside of the plugin, using just convars.

The default min distance is 500, I don't know why people change it nor for what reason, and I use 99 in the convar because thats what they (valve) do (default is 24)

I just used a ratio calculator and did 1|28 and it spit out 99|2772


--

About the crashing issue, it may very well have just been a server instability issue, though I don't know why the plugin itself just didn't work. It DID make its cfg file though so that part works ;P

Last edited by Dragonshadow; 08-16-2009 at 18:04.
Dragonshadow is offline
eyeonus
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Old 08-19-2009 , 23:31   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #62

The code that changes the max damage only gets executed when your cvar is changed, which I think is the reason why on my server the max keeps getting reset to 25. The only fix I've found so far is to change your cvar TWICE- once to any number, and then once to the max I actually want.

Could you maybe change your code so it executes the max damage changing code when the plugin is loaded AND whenever the cvar gets changed?
eyeonus is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 08-20-2009 , 07:40   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #63

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeonus View Post
The code that changes the max damage only gets executed when your cvar is changed, which I think is the reason why on my server the max keeps getting reset to 25. The only fix I've found so far is to change your cvar TWICE- once to any number, and then once to the max I actually want.

Could you maybe change your code so it executes the max damage changing code when the plugin is loaded AND whenever the cvar gets changed?
Hello, interesting revelation but unless I've misunderstood the configuration system what you ask for is already done.
Quote:
//Save to config
AutoExecConfig(true,"pounceuncap");
This line executes the cfg stored at cfg\pounceuncap.cfg, which inside holds pounceuncap_maxdamage x, which when executed, *should* trigger the change code.

*edit* I just realized the last 2 lines are switched from my local copy and the copy I have posted. In theory if it made a difference it would have been evident, but try the attached code anyway to see if it helps.
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (pounceuncap.sp - 407 views - 1.5 KB)

Last edited by n0limit; 08-20-2009 at 07:42.
n0limit is offline
eyeonus
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Old 08-21-2009 , 01:42   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #64

No, that won't do it, because the config file doesn't change the value if it's setting it to the same value.

That is, if the cap cvar is set to 400, and the config file sets the cap cvar to 400, the cvar's value isn't changed, so the trigger doesn't occur.
eyeonus is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 08-21-2009 , 15:26   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #65

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeonus View Post
No, that won't do it, because the config file doesn't change the value if it's setting it to the same value.

That is, if the cap cvar is set to 400, and the config file sets the cap cvar to 400, the cvar's value isn't changed, so the trigger doesn't occur.
If all the cvars reset, so should the cap damage one. Unless you put the default to 400 as well, in which case, change it back to 25.
n0limit is offline
eyeonus
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Old 08-22-2009 , 01:08   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #66

I don't remember the names off the top of my head, but I can tell that your plugin doesn't check to see if the max range or pounce bonus cvars change, and I know that a change to them won't affect your cvar.
eyeonus is offline
ArchNemesis
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Old 08-23-2009 , 03:30   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #67

here's mine .

sm_cvar z_pounce_damage_range_min 500
sm_cvar z_pounce_damage_range_max 1750
sm_cvar z_hunter_max_pounce_bonus_damage 99

to me, it works fine . had a member complete 2 (100 dmg) pounces already.

in Dead Air Map 3 . after the 1st event, running through that alley way.
look at the electricity tower , at the very top of it. that's where the 100 dmg
pounce happened. (:
ArchNemesis is offline
n0limit
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Old 08-23-2009 , 11:56   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #68

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArchNemesis View Post
here's mine .

sm_cvar z_pounce_damage_range_min 500
sm_cvar z_pounce_damage_range_max 1750
sm_cvar z_hunter_max_pounce_bonus_damage 99

to me, it works fine . had a member complete 2 (100 dmg) pounces already.

in Dead Air Map 3 . after the 1st event, running through that alley way.
look at the electricity tower , at the very top of it. that's where the 100 dmg
pounce happened. (:
That's not a 100 damage pounce, it's a ~60. You're getting that type of damage because your values are incorrect.
Example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1lwomM8Pvk

The "easiest" 100+ damage pounce is on No Mercy 1, off the invisible wall.

Last edited by n0limit; 08-23-2009 at 12:29.
n0limit is offline
.silence.
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago
Old 09-08-2009 , 01:57   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #69

I've also been having these reset problems. I've re-installed the plug-in a few times and upgraded SM but to no avail. (Linux, btw.)

Since "I R Noob", is there a temporary work-around? Can I exec the pounceuncap.cfg in game somehow?
.silence. is offline
eyeonus
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Old 09-09-2009 , 04:13   Re: [L4D] PounceUncap 1.1
Reply With Quote #70

My workaround was to change it twice. Here's what my "pounceuncap.cfg" looks likes:

Code:
// This file was auto-generated by SourceMod (v1.2.1)
// ConVars for plugin "pounceuncap.smx"


// Sets the new maximum hunter pounce damage.
// -
// Default: "25"
pounceuncap_maxdamage "2000" 
pounceuncap_maxdamage "400"

// Current version of the plugin
// -
// Default: "1.1"
pounceuncap_version "1.1"
400, by the way, is the absolute max damage possible- 100 health + 300 incap damage.
eyeonus is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode