Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
napalm00
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy, sadly
Old 07-26-2011 , 06:51   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Max View Post
Thanks for your help. So does that mean I would have to do this for every single new weapon Valve have added if I want it to be 2x speed? (Or is there a quick way to do it for all weapons?)
maybe you didn't notice my later edit, i apologize for it

if you want to make every weapon to fire 2x faster, just use the wildcard for the weapons too

PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3"
{
   
"*" //All clients
   
{
       
"*"   //All weapons
       
{
        
"1"        "6 ; 0.5"
       
}
    }

the "*" means the extension will loop through all the items of all the players and change the firing speed attribute to the value given.
__________________
napalm00 is offline
Tylerst
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Old 07-26-2011 , 06:56   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #12

Don't forget to add "preserve_attributes" "1" or it will overwrite the weapon's default attributes.
Tylerst is offline
napalm00
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy, sadly
Old 07-26-2011 , 07:00   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tylerst View Post
Don't forget to add "preserve_attributes" "1" or it will overwrite the weapon's default attributes.
Rite

PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3"
{
   
"*" //All clients
   
{
       
"*"   //All weapons
       
{
        
"preserve_attributes" "1"
        "1"        "6 ; 0.5"
       
}
    }

Sorry for that, i normally use TF2Items in the code so there's no preserve_attributes there
__________________
napalm00 is offline
Drixevel
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Somewhere headbangin'
Old 07-26-2011 , 07:40   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #14

Again, i'm not an expert.
Drixevel is offline
Lord Max
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 07-26-2011 , 07:55   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #15

Quote:
Originally Posted by napalm00 View Post
maybe you didn't notice my later edit, i apologize for it

if you want to make every weapon to fire 2x faster, just use the wildcard for the weapons too

PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3"
{
   
"*" //All clients
   
{
       
"*"   //All weapons
       
{
        
"1"        "6 ; 0.5"
       
}
    }

the "*" means the extension will loop through all the items of all the players and change the firing speed attribute to the value given.
Yeah, I just noticed your later edit and felt like an idiot! :p

But thank you, that's saved me A LOT of time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tylerst View Post
Don't forget to add "preserve_attributes" "1" or it will overwrite the weapon's default attributes.
What do you mean it will ovewrite the default attributes? Isn't that what I was? To change them to 2x faster?

Thanks
Lord Max is offline
napalm00
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy, sadly
Old 07-26-2011 , 08:02   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Max View Post
What do you mean it will ovewrite the default attributes? Isn't that what I was? To change them to 2x faster?

Thanks
nope he's right, i didn't set the preserve_attributes to 1. not setting it or setting it to 0 will override all the normal attributes of one weapon with the ones you set, for example, in my wrong code the sydney sleeper would have a faster firing speed, but that would override all other attributes, so you will have a sydney sleeper that does headshots, doesn't apply jarate but fires 2x faster.
use the code i posted up there, with preserve_attributes set to 1
__________________
napalm00 is offline
Lord Max
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 07-26-2011 , 08:35   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by napalm00 View Post
nope he's right, i didn't set the preserve_attributes to 1. not setting it or setting it to 0 will override all the normal attributes of one weapon with the ones you set, for example, in my wrong code the sydney sleeper would have a faster firing speed, but that would override all other attributes, so you will have a sydney sleeper that does headshots, doesn't apply jarate but fires 2x faster.
use the code i posted up there, with preserve_attributes set to 1
So what attributes is it actually not preserving? Does it not preserve the default speed if I include this?
Lord Max is offline
napalm00
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Italy, sadly
Old 07-26-2011 , 08:42   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Max View Post
So what attributes is it actually not preserving? Does it not preserve the default speed if I include this?
if you use this code :
PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3"
{
   
"*" //All clients
   
{
       
"*"   //All weapons
       
{
        
"1"        "6 ; 0.5"
       
}
    }

it will override ALL the attributes and replace them with the faster firing attribute : in the example, the sydney sleeper will fire faster but all its old attributes (i.e. no Headshots and Jarate applied to the target) will be removed.

In this code :
PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3" 

   
"*" //All clients 
   

       
"*"   //All weapons 
       

        
"preserve_attributes" "1" 
        "1"        "6 ; 0.5" 
       

    } 

the preserve_attributes flag is set to 1, so in our example we will have a sydney sleeper that both fires faster and its old attributes (no headshots and jarate applied) will remain untouched.

Hope it's clear now
__________________
napalm00 is offline
Lord Max
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Old 07-26-2011 , 08:57   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by napalm00 View Post
if you use this code :
PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3"
{
   
"*" //All clients
   
{
       
"*"   //All weapons
       
{
        
"1"        "6 ; 0.5"
       
}
    }

it will override ALL the attributes and replace them with the faster firing attribute : in the example, the sydney sleeper will fire faster but all its old attributes (i.e. no Headshots and Jarate applied to the target) will be removed.

In this code :
PHP Code:
"custom_weapons_v3" 

   
"*" //All clients 
   

       
"*"   //All weapons 
       

        
"preserve_attributes" "1" 
        "1"        "6 ; 0.5" 
       

    } 

the preserve_attributes flag is set to 1, so in our example we will have a sydney sleeper that both fires faster and its old attributes (no headshots and jarate applied) will remain untouched.

Hope it's clear now
Yeah, that's clear. Thanks for your help! Wish me luck.
Lord Max is offline
Drixevel
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Somewhere headbangin'
Old 07-26-2011 , 09:25   Re: TF2 - Adjust speed of weapons
Reply With Quote #20

Someone really needs to make this a plugin and not have to do it through TF2Items. lol I would install it quickly.
Drixevel is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 15:15.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode