Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Voice Icon/Voice Name


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Wilson [29th ID]
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Old 08-16-2006 , 04:16   Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #1

Has anyone actually figured out how to disable the voice icon sprite hanging over player's heads?

And does anyone know how to disable the player's name on the right side of your screen when they are talking?

This is for something very extraordinary. It will be a working micarea plugin.
__________________

Day of Defeat AMXX Community

FakeMeta Research . Voice Proximity . Advanced Deploy . Technician
Wilson [29th ID] is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Wilson [29th ID] Send a message via AIM to Wilson [29th ID] Send a message via MSN to Wilson [29th ID] Send a message via Yahoo to Wilson [29th ID]
XxAvalanchexX
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: abort73.com
Old 08-16-2006 , 12:53   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #2

As far as I know this is all done client-side so you can't really block it, aside from not letting them talk at all.
__________________
No longer around. Thanks your support, everyone! As always:
THIS ONES FOR YOU
3000 PTS
XxAvalanchexX is offline
Xanimos
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florida
Old 08-16-2006 , 13:01   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #3

But there has to be some communication through the server. Like a message or event or a pdata set so that the clients know which clients are doing what to show those things.
Xanimos is offline
Send a message via AIM to Xanimos Send a message via MSN to Xanimos
XxAvalanchexX
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: abort73.com
Old 08-16-2006 , 14:26   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #4

It's called in the client dll by the engine, not the server dll.

Code:
/* ========================== HUD_VoiceStatus Called when a player starts or stops talking. ========================== */ void DLLEXPORT HUD_VoiceStatus(int entindex, qboolean bTalking) {     GetClientVoiceMgr()->UpdateSpeakerStatus(entindex, bTalking); }
__________________
No longer around. Thanks your support, everyone! As always:
THIS ONES FOR YOU
3000 PTS
XxAvalanchexX is offline
hmrsmpsn
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sWeDeN YEEAAAH!!!
Old 08-16-2006 , 18:23   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #5

what is micarea?
is it that onley ppl near eachother can talk?
__________________



new Float:second = 1.0
new Float:minute = 60*second
new Float:hour = 60*minute
new Float:day = 24*hour
new Float:year = 365*day
set_task(10.0*years,"clean_my_room")
hmrsmpsn is offline
SweatyBanana
BANNED
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LOL
Old 08-16-2006 , 18:30   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #6

Hey I have an idea..How bout replacing the clients sprite of the mic with a transparent one?
SweatyBanana is offline
Send a message via AIM to SweatyBanana Send a message via Yahoo to SweatyBanana
hmrsmpsn
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sWeDeN YEEAAAH!!!
Old 08-16-2006 , 18:46   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #7

great idea! how?
__________________



new Float:second = 1.0
new Float:minute = 60*second
new Float:hour = 60*minute
new Float:day = 24*hour
new Float:year = 365*day
set_task(10.0*years,"clean_my_room")
hmrsmpsn is offline
diamond-optic
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2005
Old 08-16-2006 , 21:21   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #8

unless you find a way to replace it thru amxx.. replacing the icon will only block you from seeing whos using their mic...

and as far as i know theres no way to catch a sprite and replace it...

not even sure if you can catch when someone is using their mic anyway
__________________
diamond-optic is offline
SweatyBanana
BANNED
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LOL
Old 08-17-2006 , 00:24   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #9

yea and you could replace both sprites with blank sprites so they wont show..

which is kinda what he wants..
SweatyBanana is offline
Send a message via AIM to SweatyBanana Send a message via Yahoo to SweatyBanana
Wilson [29th ID]
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Old 08-17-2006 , 06:33   Re: Voice Icon/Voice Name
Reply With Quote #10

Well here's the problem with that. I'm not sure, but let's say the sprite for that is called voiceicon.spr

Assuming a client does not already have voiceicon.spr, it is already in their GCF. This means I cannot make the plugin "download" voiceicon.spr because it won't overwrite existing files (it exists in the GCF)

So the client would have to download the blank sprite. And this still wouldn't prevent names from showing up on the hud, which is my main goal.

Any idea how to prevent that, even if I had to have the client download something?
__________________

Day of Defeat AMXX Community

FakeMeta Research . Voice Proximity . Advanced Deploy . Technician
Wilson [29th ID] is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Wilson [29th ID] Send a message via AIM to Wilson [29th ID] Send a message via MSN to Wilson [29th ID] Send a message via Yahoo to Wilson [29th ID]
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode