AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   spawn time editing in TF2 (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=68356)

ratty 03-14-2008 23:46

spawn time editing in TF2
 
This started in another thread and was getting off topic there, but I want to go over how to modify the spawn time in TF2 without setting mp_respawnwavetime

I'm not a fan of instant spawn, but lets say you want to do instant spawn, even on maps that alter the spawn times depending on who's winning to achieve proper balance, but you still would rather just do instant spawn to LOL the game up and throw good game design out the window, here is how:

The answer is, edit the entities of the map.

First, get Stripper:

http://www.bailopan.net/stripper/

Then some knowledge on what entities to edit:

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w...e_Respawn_Time

And with stripper on, you can type stripper_dump and it saves the entities to a file, and you can just read that to figure out what needs to be changed. If you run stripper_dump after you've made a config and changed the map, it will reflect your changes, so you can make sure its changing in the way you think.

Then here is a sample of a generic one you can use, each map might have its own special entities so its not perfect, but this works on every map I've tried:

Code:

# instant spawn config

# first, remove any modifiers, such as when a team has more caps
# than the other team, it adjusts the spawn time, so we have to remove that
modify:
{
        match:
        {
        "OnStart" "/teamrespawnwavetime/"
        }
        delete:
        {
        "OnEnd" "/teamrespawnwavetime/"
        "OnStart" "/teamrespawnwavetime/"
        }
}

# now add in the zero spawn times to the logic_auto entity
modify:
{
        match:
        {
        "classname" "logic_auto"
        }
        insert:
        {
        "OnMapSpawn" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMapSpawn" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewMap" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewMap" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewRound" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewRound" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        }
}


DontWannaName 03-15-2008 01:26

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
You forgot for multi rounded maps to use:

Code:

{
        match:
        {
        "classname" "team_round_timer"
        }
        insert:
        {
        "On4MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On3MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On2MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On4MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On3MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On2MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "OnRoundStart" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "OnRoundStart" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        }
}


pRED* 03-15-2008 03:13

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
You should like make a wiki entry for this so it doesnt get lost in two days time.

Somewhere like: http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Category:Game_Resources

would suit.

Use your forums user/pass.

tnbporsche911 03-22-2008 17:51

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
Hello I was just wondering if anybody knew why this isn't working for me:

I put this in cp_dustbowl.cfg after the respawn changes.
Code:

modify:
{
    match:
    {
    "setup_length" "60"
    }
    replace:
    {
    "setup_length" "30"
    {
}

Thanks for your help!

Also I tried doing a stripper_dump in console and it just crashed the server.

BAILOPAN 03-23-2008 19:21

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
You mismatched { and }, and put { and { instead.

tnbporsche911 03-24-2008 21:30

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
Omg I'm embarrassed :)

Thanks Bailopan!

W][LDF][RE 03-25-2008 21:07

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
You can now just add mp_disable_respawn_times 1 to your server.cfg :up:

DontWannaName 03-26-2008 00:11

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
First of all I dont want instant respawn and 2nd of all I dont want to go on the custom tab.

W][LDF][RE 03-26-2008 07:43

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DontWannaName (Post 602075)
First of all I dont want instant respawn and 2nd of all I dont want to go on the custom tab.

ok that is fine...first I posted it for those that may. 2nd use the sv_tags disabler plugin and you won't be on the custom server tab.:)

DJ Tsunami 03-26-2008 15:00

Re: spawn time editing in TF2
 
That was exactly the thread that these posts started in. Using the sv_tags plugin might get you delisted, that's why people want to use this method.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.