Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

spawn time editing in TF2


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
ratty
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2006
Old 03-14-2008 , 23:46   spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #1

This started in another thread and was getting off topic there, but I want to go over how to modify the spawn time in TF2 without setting mp_respawnwavetime

I'm not a fan of instant spawn, but lets say you want to do instant spawn, even on maps that alter the spawn times depending on who's winning to achieve proper balance, but you still would rather just do instant spawn to LOL the game up and throw good game design out the window, here is how:

The answer is, edit the entities of the map.

First, get Stripper:

http://www.bailopan.net/stripper/

Then some knowledge on what entities to edit:

http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w...e_Respawn_Time

And with stripper on, you can type stripper_dump and it saves the entities to a file, and you can just read that to figure out what needs to be changed. If you run stripper_dump after you've made a config and changed the map, it will reflect your changes, so you can make sure its changing in the way you think.

Then here is a sample of a generic one you can use, each map might have its own special entities so its not perfect, but this works on every map I've tried:

Code:
# instant spawn config

# first, remove any modifiers, such as when a team has more caps
# than the other team, it adjusts the spawn time, so we have to remove that
modify:
{
        match:
        {
        "OnStart" "/teamrespawnwavetime/"
        }
        delete:
        {
        "OnEnd" "/teamrespawnwavetime/"
        "OnStart" "/teamrespawnwavetime/"
        }
}

# now add in the zero spawn times to the logic_auto entity
modify:
{
        match:
        {
        "classname" "logic_auto"
        }
        insert:
        {
        "OnMapSpawn" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMapSpawn" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewMap" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewMap" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewRound" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        "OnMultiNewRound" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,0,0,-1"
        }
}
ratty is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 03-15-2008 , 01:26   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #2

You forgot for multi rounded maps to use:

Code:
{
        match:
        {
        "classname" "team_round_timer"
        }
        insert:
        {
        "On4MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On3MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On2MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On4MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On3MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "On2MinRemain" "tf_gamerules,addredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "OnRoundStart" "tf_gamerules,setredteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        "OnRoundStart" "tf_gamerules,setblueteamrespawnwavetime,2,0,-1"
        }
}
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
pRED*
Join Date: Dec 2006
Old 03-15-2008 , 03:13   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #3

You should like make a wiki entry for this so it doesnt get lost in two days time.

Somewhere like: http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Category:Game_Resources

would suit.

Use your forums user/pass.
pRED* is offline
tnbporsche911
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Old 03-22-2008 , 17:51   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #4

Hello I was just wondering if anybody knew why this isn't working for me:

I put this in cp_dustbowl.cfg after the respawn changes.
Code:
modify:
{
    match:
    {
    "setup_length" "60"
    }
    replace:
    {
    "setup_length" "30"
    {
}
Thanks for your help!

Also I tried doing a stripper_dump in console and it just crashed the server.

Last edited by tnbporsche911; 03-22-2008 at 17:55.
tnbporsche911 is offline
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 03-23-2008 , 19:21   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #5

You mismatched { and }, and put { and { instead.
__________________
egg
BAILOPAN is offline
tnbporsche911
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Old 03-24-2008 , 21:30   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #6

Omg I'm embarrassed

Thanks Bailopan!
tnbporsche911 is offline
W][LDF][RE
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Virginia,USA
Old 03-25-2008 , 21:07   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #7

You can now just add mp_disable_respawn_times 1 to your server.cfg
W][LDF][RE is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 03-26-2008 , 00:11   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #8

First of all I dont want instant respawn and 2nd of all I dont want to go on the custom tab.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
W][LDF][RE
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Virginia,USA
Old 03-26-2008 , 07:43   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontWannaName View Post
First of all I dont want instant respawn and 2nd of all I dont want to go on the custom tab.
ok that is fine...first I posted it for those that may. 2nd use the sv_tags disabler plugin and you won't be on the custom server tab.
W][LDF][RE is offline
DJ Tsunami
DJ Post Spammer
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Old 03-26-2008 , 15:00   Re: spawn time editing in TF2
Reply With Quote #10

That was exactly the thread that these posts started in. Using the sv_tags plugin might get you delisted, that's why people want to use this method.
__________________
Advertisements | REST in Pawn - HTTP client for JSON REST APIs
Please do not PM me with questions. Post in the plugin thread.
DJ Tsunami is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:30.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode