Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

Would be programmers PLEASE READ.

Post New Thread Reply   

Plugin Info:     Modification:   ALL        Category:         
gunmuse
BANNED
Old 04-02-2005 , 20:42   Would be programmers PLEASE READ.
Reply With Quote #1

I am not a programmer. But if your dreaming of being one or thinking of reworking someone elses project. Follow this check list.

Did I get MySql connect information from Mysql.org or Did I Google a 5 year old post that worked for Bob.

MYSQL IS NOT FASTER IF YOU DON'T USE IT RIGHT.

Use Delayed Inserts. It reduces load and is the proper way when inserting more than 3 lines at a time. I.E. 20 players Info.

USE proper statements to find Users Select * From Where Steam_ID = $USER.

When building a DB Send SQL files if you don't know how to build db's so they will load from MySql 3.1-4.1

Use Update and Only on the fields that need updateing.

DO NOT BUILD A TABLE CHECK INTO A PLUGIN.....
How many times do you build a table.... Oh yeah once. Don't build a plugin that checks to see if tables exist then builds them if they don't.

Avoid the harddrive at all costs.
The harddrive is the slowest piece of hardware in EVERY SERVER. Do not use files to store data. Mysql has what is called a HEAP table its a memory only table and its perfect if you have to connect a bunch and temporarily write down data to be stored at map end. Then you can sort and store permanently to a MyIsam table.

Reading from a harddrive to find someones skills WILL NOT lag your server as long as you FIND THE user an not search for them. You can't use a Select * statement then sort it later. It will always work great on your test server you have a total of 10 guys stats.

Most of the CPU and memory consumption comes from using Mysql MEMORY BUFFERS coding the way we have seen this done up until now.

We are building a CS GAME Platfrom that is 100% web interfaced. It will use MYSQL to interface to your plugins BUT ONLY if you code them properly.