Raised This Month: $119 Target: $400
 29% 

Need help determining your rates? Look Here


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Kia
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In a world of madness
Old 05-07-2015 , 03:47   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #111

https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=252493
Kia is offline
zoey
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Motherboard.
Old 05-07-2015 , 06:57   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #112

OMGG <333
Thanks alot
zoey is offline
parerak
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Old 10-20-2015 , 10:21   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #113

Is it mandatory to set server rates ?


What will happen if i don't set server rates ?
parerak is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 10-20-2015 , 19:30   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #114

Quote:
Originally Posted by parerak View Post
Is it mandatory to set server rates ?


What will happen if i don't set server rates ?
If you don't change them, you'll be using the default rates. The default rates for HLDS are quite low relative to the capabilities of the average internet connection today because HLDS is quite old.
__________________

Last edited by fysiks; 10-20-2015 at 19:31.
fysiks is offline
suhdude
Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Old 04-11-2016 , 21:50   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #115

Hi guys, I need some help determining what rates I should use as a player on a public server. (Counter Strike 1.6)
I have only found calculators for servers, and I have spent some time reading guides but most are outdated or people just copy paste what they have heard others say.

So, here is my setup and the server settings.
Again, I am not hosting a server!

My setup:
60Hz Monitor
100Mbps Download
10Mbps Upload
4 core 2.83Ghz
4 gigs of ram
GeForce GTX 580

Server settings: (32 slots)
Code:
fps_max "1024"
sv_minrate "25000"
sv_maxrate "175000"
sv_minupdaterate "20"
sv_maxupdaterate "100"
sys_ticrate "10000"

Now I would like to know the best configuration for these commands:
Code:
rate ""
cl_updaterate ""
cl_cmdrate "" 
ex_interp ""
fps_max ""
fps_override ""
My current config:
rate "100000"
fps_max "100.000000"
fps_override 1
cl_updaterate "101"
cl_cmdrate "101"
ex_interp "0.01"

My friends config:
rate "100000"
fps_max "77"
fps_override 0
cl_updaterate "62"
cl_cmdrate "115"
ex_interp "0.016"

Thanks guys!

Last edited by suhdude; 04-11-2016 at 21:56.
suhdude is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 04-12-2016 , 08:03   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #116

Your rates should be as high as your connection to the server will allow. If the server is hosted by a good hosting company and you have a good fast internet connection, you'll likely want to have as high of rates as possible.

If you get choke or loss (net_graph 3), lower your cmdrateand updaterate.
__________________

Last edited by fysiks; 04-12-2016 at 08:05.
fysiks is offline
GBLTeam
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Republic of Macedonia
Old 04-07-2017 , 13:28   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #117

Here is the internet speed of my server:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/6189074361.png
6cores cpu.
which rates i should use?

Last edited by GBLTeam; 04-07-2017 at 13:29.
GBLTeam is offline
Send a message via MSN to GBLTeam Send a message via Skype™ to GBLTeam
Steinrealtor
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Bowie, Maryland
Old 04-08-2017 , 03:29   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #118

Really very helpful post. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
Steinrealtor is offline
sidwiz4348910
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Old 05-14-2017 , 10:24   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #119

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepehr View Post
This is a great website to use to calculate your rates :

http://www.reece-eu.net/drekrates.php

To calculate your internet speed :

http://www.speedtest.net/

the rate test website is legit right? i says i can support upto 64+ max slots with i5 processor and 4 gb of free ram cuz total = 6gb and my net speed = 20 mbits/s?
sidwiz4348910 is offline
ShemtovSystems
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Old 10-19-2017 , 01:01   Re: Need help determining your rates? Look Here
Reply With Quote #120

Very nice and informative article shared here. Thanks for sharing a useful post.
__________________
ShemtovSystems is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 16:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode