Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

overlapp weapon sounds


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Depresie
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Old 11-17-2017 , 15:38   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #11

As Hamlet said, you can't do this properly
There are two hacky ways to replace a weapon's firing sound, but both of them are not reliable..

Quote:
Another way is using custom weapons models over original
You cannot replace or overlap firing sounds using a custom model, there are sound events only for draw and reload, believe me, i tried, and i know my stuff when it comes to half life models..

Quote:
Search, I've one post with an example.
Both methods that we posted are not reliable on public servers

Mine will still play a part of the original sound on players with higher ping, and will also miss some calls on automatic weapons that have high fire rate

Yours will results in sloppier shooting on players with higher ping, and will also use too many server resources ( CPU / NET ) which will increase the ping on the server
__________________
Depresie is offline
CrazY.
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SP, Brazil
Old 11-17-2017 , 17:18   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #12

Either that, or you let your server with all the default weapons.
CrazY. is offline
undead52
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Old 11-18-2017 , 00:00   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #13

In my server players only play awp, it is not a big deal
undead52 is offline
Fr33m@n
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France Marne
Old 11-18-2017 , 05:22   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Depresie View Post
You cannot replace or overlap firing sounds using a custom model, there are sound events only for draw and reload, believe me, i tried, and i know my stuff when it comes to half life models..
Maybe you failed because you suck ?
I tried years ago, and it's working.

Sounds are linked to a model in the first place in the qc file :

example for default v_awp.qc :
PHP Code:
// 6 sequences
$sequence idle1 "idle1" fps 16 
$sequence shoot1 
"shoot1" fps 35 event 5001 0 "31" } { event 5004 15 "weapons/boltup.wav" } { event 5004 19 "weapons/boltpull1.wav" } { event 5004 32 "weapons/boltdown.wav" 
$sequence shoot2 "shoot2" fps 35 event 5001 0 "31" } { event 5004 15 "weapons/boltup.wav" } { event 5004 19 "weapons/boltpull1.wav" } { event 5004 32 "weapons/boltdown.wav" 
$sequence shoot3 "shoot3" fps 35 event 5001 0 "31" } { event 5004 15 "weapons/boltup.wav" } { event 5004 19 "weapons/boltpull1.wav" } { event 5004 32 "weapons/boltdown.wav" 
$sequence reload "reload" fps 30 event 5004 26 "weapons/awp_clipout.wav" } { event 5004 53 "weapons/awp_clipin.wav" 
$sequence draw "draw" fps 30 
It's the model from the client who tell to play the sound and not something else.
Just replace those, with your custom path and recompile the model.
According to https://github.com/s1lentq/ReGameDLL...pn_awp.cpp#L21
You may need to precache the sounds plugin side or use rehlds way :
PHP Code:
sv_auto_precache_sounds_in_models <1|0// Automatically precache sounds attached to models. Default: 0 

Last edited by Fr33m@n; 11-18-2017 at 06:35.
Fr33m@n is offline
undead52
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Old 11-18-2017 , 05:41   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #15

thats will be better with this can do other sounds too, but with these cant replace fire sounds right ?

this isnt the right place, but i did the thing you said, i lost tranparent on model and origins reset,but it worked

Last edited by undead52; 11-18-2017 at 06:10.
undead52 is offline
Old 11-18-2017, 06:30
Fr33m@n
This message has been deleted by Fr33m@n. Reason: duplicate
undead52
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Old 11-18-2017 , 06:33   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #16

i changed the sounds and orgins, they works

the problem on original mdl some textures are transparant but when i compile they dont
undead52 is offline
Fr33m@n
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France Marne
Old 11-18-2017 , 06:35   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #17

what compiling and decompiling tool are you using ?
provide the model and the new .qc file that you are using.
I may help you with that.
Did you try to compile/decompile with milkshape 3D ?

Last edited by Fr33m@n; 11-18-2017 at 06:37.
Fr33m@n is offline
undead52
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Old 11-18-2017 , 06:38   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #18

Milkshape 3d 1.8.5

i decompiled in this way tools>half-life>decompile normal hl file

after i get .qc file only and edit it after

tools>half-life>compile qc file


how can i ?

Last edited by undead52; 11-18-2017 at 07:09.
undead52 is offline
Fr33m@n
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France Marne
Old 11-18-2017 , 07:33   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #19

Did you try tools> half-life Right or Left hand decompile ?

Otherwise you can try tools>Krastisto's Half-Life MDL Decompiler

You may try Jed's Half-Life Model Viewer v1.36 compile and decompile tool. (Search about how to setup them)

Combine both solution to get things working.

Last edited by Fr33m@n; 11-18-2017 at 07:39.
Fr33m@n is offline
undead52
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Old 11-18-2017 , 08:04   Re: overlapp weapon sounds
Reply With Quote #20

can decompile but cant compile get error "studiomdl.exe"

Last edited by undead52; 11-18-2017 at 08:05.
undead52 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:34.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode