Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
addons_zz
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dreams, zz
Old 08-19-2016 , 23:39   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #11

  1. Quote:
    Originally Posted by YuGiOhJCJ View Post
    So, you don't use "+ip" but your server is available online?
    If I remove "+ip" from my command line as you suggest, I get:
    You server will only be available on LAN if you set the cvar 'sv_lan' to 1.
    Assures you got it set to 0.

    1. Open your server.
    2. Open your game and try to connect to your server by console using this:
      Code:
      connect 192.168.0.100:27015
    It is because sometimes the GUI does not work.

    1. Also, this must to work even if you server is not available on the internet.
    2. If this does not work, before try to let it available on the internet, you need to fix it to be available on LAN connecting to it by your LAN ip using the game console.

  2. Try use another port as 27014.

  3. On your computer, how many network boards do you have? If there are more than 1 active, you need to set +ip to the network board you are using to connect to the internet.
__________________
Plugin: Sublime Text - ITE , Galileo
Multi-Mod: Manager / Plugin / Server

Support me on Patreon, Ko-fi, Liberapay or Open Collective

Last edited by addons_zz; 08-19-2016 at 23:43. Reason: update
addons_zz is offline
JusTGo
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Old 08-20-2016 , 06:57   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #12

add this to the start command +map de_dust
__________________
JusTGo is offline
YuGiOhJCJ
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Old 08-20-2016 , 08:19   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
  1. You server will only be available on LAN if you set the cvar 'sv_lan' to 1. Assures you got it set to 0.
The cvar 'sv_lan' is not set in cstrike/server.cfg but as I am not sure what is the default value for this cvar, I explicitly added this line to my cstrike/server.cfg file:
Code:
sv_lan 0
But after restarting the server, I see no difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
    1. Open your server.
    2. Open your game and try to connect to your server by console using this:
      Code:
      connect 192.168.0.100:27015
    It is because sometimes the GUI does not work.

    1. Also, this must to work even if you server is not available on the internet.
    2. If this does not work, before try to let it available on the internet, you need to fix it to be available on LAN connecting to it by your LAN ip using the game console.
I opened my server:
Code:
./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 78.199.90.154 +port 27015 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
I opened my client and typed in the client console:
Code:
] connect 192.168.0.100:27015
NET Ports:  server 27015, client 27005
Server IP address 192.168.0.2:27015
Connecting to 192.168.0.100:27015...
Retrying 192.168.0.100:27015...
Retrying 192.168.0.100:27015...
Retrying 192.168.0.100:27015...
Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
  1. Try use another port as 27014.
OK that's what's happen with an other port:

On the server side:
Code:
$ ./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 78.199.90.154 +port 27014 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
$ cat stdout.log 
Auto-restarting the server on crash

Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.1.2.7/Stdio (cstrike)
Exe build: 13:12:29 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server
Server IP address 78.199.90.154:27014
couldn't exec listip.cfg
couldn't exec banned.cfg
$ cat stderr.log 
Using breakpad crash handler
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 10
Forcing breakpad minidump interfaces to load
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit
On the client side:
Code:
] connect 192.168.0.100:27014
NET Ports:  server 27015, client 27005
Server IP address 192.168.0.2:27015
Connecting to 192.168.0.100:27014...
Retrying 192.168.0.100:27014...
Retrying 192.168.0.100:27014...
Retrying 192.168.0.100:27014...
Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
  1. On your computer, how many network boards do you have? If there are more than 1 active, you need to set +ip to the network board you are using to connect to the internet.
On my server machine, I have two network cards corresponding to the two network interfaces I have described previously.
Well, as there are more than 1 active network card on my server machine, my "+ip 78.199.90.154" option is correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JusTGo
add this to the start command +map de_dust
Done:
Code:
./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 78.199.90.154 +port 27014 +map de_dust 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
And here are the logs:
Code:
$ cat stdout.log 
Auto-restarting the server on crash

Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.1.2.7/Stdio (cstrike)
Exe build: 13:12:29 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server
Server IP address 78.199.90.154:27014

couldn't exec listip.cfg
couldn't exec banned.cfg
Connection to Steam servers successful.
   VAC secure mode disabled.
$ cat stderr.log 
Using breakpad crash handler
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 10
Forcing breakpad minidump interfaces to load
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit
[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; SteamAPI_IsSteamRunning() failed.
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit
Did you notice the interesting difference in the log?
Now I have a wonderful new message:
"Connection to Steam servers successful.
VAC secure mode disabled."
But a terribly new error message:
"[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; SteamAPI_IsSteamRunning() failed."

Anyway, I am still unable to connect to with my client to my server.
YuGiOhJCJ is offline
addons_zz
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dreams, zz
Old 08-20-2016 , 13:09   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by YuGiOhJCJ View Post
Now I have a wonderful new message:
"Connection to Steam servers successful.
VAC secure mode disabled."
But a terribly new error message:
"[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; SteamAPI_IsSteamRunning() failed."

Anyway, I am still unable to connect to with my client to my server.
This is a good sight. Actually I forgot, you always must to use '+map map_name'.
I think this error is similar as the one solved on this other thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkshine View Post
Set SELinux to permissive, or disable it, or use amxx 1.8.3-dev
Then looks like you were unable to connect to the server, because it were closed once the error was thrown.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YuGiOhJCJ View Post
On my server machine, I have two network cards corresponding to the two network interfaces I have described previously.
Well, as there are more than 1 active network card on my server machine, my "+ip 78.199.90.154" option is correct.
If the ip 78.199.90.154 is the ip to your server's computer network board installed on your server, then your are doing it right.
However, you should use this to connect to your server:
Code:
connect 78.199.90.154:27014
Not 'connect 192.168.0.100:27014'.
But if it stills not working, the game is bugged and is not correctly recognizing your network board on '78.199.90.154'.
Then use '0.0.0.0' to tell to the game address to your server all networks boards on your server's computer.

Also note, the ip is showing here:
Code:
$ cat stdout.log 
Auto-restarting the server on crash

Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.1.2.7/Stdio (cstrike)
Exe build: 13:12:29 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server
Server IP address 0.0.0.0:27015
couldn't exec listip.cfg
couldn't exec banned.cfg
$ cat stderr.log 
Using breakpad crash handler
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 10
Forcing breakpad minidump interfaces to load
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit
Is not the ip your server has on the internet, is the ip to the network board to which your server is bounded to. And '0.0.0.0' means all of them.
For example, my server always shows this:
Code:
506.2 fps  0/32 on    cs_italy_mini
Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.0.0.3 (czero)
Exe build: 13:13:28 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server

Addons zz ' s Multi-Mod Server Loaded with SUCCESS !!!!


Server IP address 192.168.56.1:27013

   Metamod version 1.21.1-am  Copyright (c) 2001-2013 Will Day <[email protected]>
   Metamod comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; for details type `meta gpl'.
   This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
   under certain conditions; type `meta gpl' for details.


   AMX Mod X version 1.8.2-dev Copyright (c) 2004-2006 AMX Mod X Development Team
   AMX Mod X comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; for details type `amxx gpl'.
   This is free software and you are welcome to redistribute it under
   certain conditions; type 'amxx gpl' for details.

stray key in process_key: item_getiteminfo 61
POD-Bot mm: plugin attaching
Taking settings from podbot.cfg
Settings (cvars) for POD-Bot mm loaded from podbot.cfg
Loading & decompressing Experience Data
But that is not my internet ip, it is the ip to my network board to which my server is bounded to.
And my server is always available online and accessible by my internet ip.

If you use the '+ip' as '0.0.0.0' you must to be able to connect to your server using both of your network board ips:
Code:
connect 192.168.0.100:27014
connect 78.199.90.154:27014
Otherwise an '+ip' as '192.168.0.100' only allows you to use 'connect 192.168.0.100:27014', and not 'connect 78.199.90.154:27014'. And vice-versa.
__________________
Plugin: Sublime Text - ITE , Galileo
Multi-Mod: Manager / Plugin / Server

Support me on Patreon, Ko-fi, Liberapay or Open Collective

Last edited by addons_zz; 08-20-2016 at 13:36. Reason: update
addons_zz is offline
wickedd
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Old 08-20-2016 , 13:16   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #15

Is the server running? If not, start it and let it run. I want to check something.
__________________
Just buy the fucking game!!!!
I hate No-Steamers and lazy ass people.
wickedd is offline
JusTGo
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Old 08-20-2016 , 13:29   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #16

connect 127.0.0.1:27014 should work if you are running the server on your pc.
__________________
JusTGo is offline
YuGiOhJCJ
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Old 08-20-2016 , 18:25   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #17

Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
This is a good sight. Actually I forgot, you always must to use '+map map_name'.
Well, OK so I will always use '+map map_name' now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
I think this error is similar as the one solved on this other thread
Unfortunately, I don't think that there is a relationship with this thread because in my case I am not using selinux or amxmodx on my system.
It is a pure Linux Counter Strike 1.6 dedicated server installed with SteamCMD (nothing more).

Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
If the ip 78.199.90.154 is the ip to your server's computer network board installed on your server, then your are doing it right.
Well, I am not sure to understand what you mean by "the ip to your server's computer network board installed on your server" but maybe you mean the IP used in my local area network (private IP). So, it is not the case. This IP I am using is the public IP (the one provided by my ISP).

Quote:
Originally Posted by addons_zz View Post
Then use '0.0.0.0' to tell to the game address to your server all networks boards on your server's computer.
Indeed, I think it is the best thing to do.
I will always use '+ip 0.0.0.0' now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedd
Is the server running? If not, start it and let it run. I want to check something.
Now, it is running with exactly this command line:
Code:
hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 0.0.0.0 +port 27015 +map de_dust 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
And this log:
Code:
$ cat stdout.log 
Auto-restarting the server on crash

Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.1.2.7/Stdio (cstrike)
Exe build: 13:12:29 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server
Server IP address 0.0.0.0:27015

couldn't exec listip.cfg
couldn't exec banned.cfg
Connection to Steam servers successful.
   VAC secure mode disabled.
$ cat stderr.log 
Using breakpad crash handler
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 10
Forcing breakpad minidump interfaces to load
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit
[S_API FAIL] SteamAPI_Init() failed; SteamAPI_IsSteamRunning() failed.
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit
If you are able or unable to connect to it, please tell me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JusTGo
connect 127.0.0.1:27014 should work if you are running the server on your pc.
Unfortunately, my server is a computer on Slackware 14.1 with a command line only user interface.
So, as far as I know, it is not possible for me to do that.

Last edited by YuGiOhJCJ; 08-20-2016 at 18:26.
YuGiOhJCJ is offline
addons_zz
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dreams, zz
Old 08-20-2016 , 21:01   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by YuGiOhJCJ View Post
If you are able or unable to connect to it, please tell me.
Hi, I just connected to your server:

__________________
Plugin: Sublime Text - ITE , Galileo
Multi-Mod: Manager / Plugin / Server

Support me on Patreon, Ko-fi, Liberapay or Open Collective

Last edited by addons_zz; 08-20-2016 at 21:02. Reason: misspelling
addons_zz is offline
YuGiOhJCJ
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Old 08-21-2016 , 05:27   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #19

It's crazy but now I am also able to join my server.
OK I think I understand: If you follow carefully each post in this thread, you will see that I try first to use the "+ip 0.0.0.0" option then later the "+map de_dust" option.
But I have never used the two options together yet.
So, I guess that I need both.
I will check that to be sure but we can consider this problem solved now
Thanks to all participants in this thread, you helped me a lot.
YuGiOhJCJ is offline
Solokiller
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Old 08-21-2016 , 09:16   Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
Reply With Quote #20

If you don't specify a map then the game will crash when a client connects. Apparently i haven't reported this yet, so here's the issue for it: https://github.com/ValveSoftware/halflife/issues/1742
Solokiller is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:14.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode