Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

How do I use VOX speech engine?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
suhdude
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sweden
Old 11-12-2017 , 08:55   How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #1

I want to use the vox speech engine in my plugin, to play sentances on round start etc.
I have tried to copy spk \'vox/hello and die\' and paste it in console, but it only says "hello"

How do I use this?

Bonus question, how do I precache multiple sounds?

Thanks
suhdude is offline
aron9forever
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rromania
Old 11-12-2017 , 09:22   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #2

okay, so first of all, there is no precaching required for vox, as you are merely executing spk commands on clients (which work even in main menu of game with no precache whatsoever)

it only supports a dictionary of words, not everything, here is a decent dictionary of words and sentences supported https://pastebin.com/F7BicjiD

to execute these in a chain, you need to use double quotes, so in console it would be spk "ass ass hello"
with amxx it would be client_cmd(id, "spk ^"ass ass hello^""); as ^ is used by default instead of \ for escaping (in PAWN)
__________________
Meanwhile, in 2050:
Quote:
Originally Posted by aron9forever
useless small optimizations
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rose View Post
On a map that is 512x512x128 units you end up with 3,355,443,200,000 different "positions". To store each one of those positions individually in the variable "user_or" you need 12 terabytes of memory.

Last edited by aron9forever; 11-12-2017 at 09:23.
aron9forever is offline
suhdude
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sweden
Old 11-12-2017 , 09:53   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by aron9forever View Post
okay, so first of all, there is no precaching required for vox, as you are merely executing spk commands on clients (which work even in main menu of game with no precache whatsoever)

it only supports a dictionary of words, not everything, here is a decent dictionary of words and sentences supported https://pastebin.com/F7BicjiD

to execute these in a chain, you need to use double quotes, so in console it would be spk "ass ass hello"
with amxx it would be client_cmd(id, "spk ^"ass ass hello^""); as ^ is used by default instead of \ for escaping (in PAWN)
Thank you, the first two things were understood.
I wanted to know about precaching because I can only put one of these in my script:
public plugin_precache() precache_sound("radio/bombpl.wav");

Thank you for clearifying the usage, I laught quite hard at "ass ass hole" btw.
suhdude is offline
wickedd
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Old 11-12-2017 , 10:18   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by suhdude View Post
I wanted to know about precaching because I can only put one of these in my script:
public plugin_precache() precache_sound("radio/bombpl.wav");
Read this
__________________
Just buy the fucking game!!!!
I hate No-Steamers and lazy ass people.
wickedd is offline
HamletEagle
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Romania
Old 11-12-2017 , 11:11   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by suhdude View Post
Thank you, the first two things were understood.
I wanted to know about precaching because I can only put one of these in my script:
public plugin_precache() precache_sound("radio/bombpl.wav");

Thank you for clearifying the usage, I laught quite hard at "ass ass hole" btw.
Add { } after plugin_precache: BOOM, you can add as many lines as you want.
__________________
HamletEagle is offline
aron9forever
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rromania
Old 11-12-2017 , 12:16   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedd View Post
I wouldn't link this just because it might make someone think you need arrays and iteration to precache multiple files

This should do for his question
Code:
public plugin_precache() { precache_sound("misc/opera.wav"); precache_generic("sound/misc/music.mp3"); //... }
__________________
Meanwhile, in 2050:
Quote:
Originally Posted by aron9forever
useless small optimizations
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rose View Post
On a map that is 512x512x128 units you end up with 3,355,443,200,000 different "positions". To store each one of those positions individually in the variable "user_or" you need 12 terabytes of memory.
aron9forever is offline
DarthMan
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Old 11-12-2017 , 12:35   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by aron9forever View Post
okay, so first of all, there is no precaching required for vox, as you are merely executing spk commands on clients (which work even in main menu of game with no precache whatsoever)

it only supports a dictionary of words, not everything, here is a decent dictionary of words and sentences supported https://pastebin.com/F7BicjiD

to execute these in a chain, you need to use double quotes, so in console it would be spk "ass ass hello"
with amxx it would be client_cmd(id, "spk ^"ass ass hello^""); as ^ is used by default instead of \ for escaping (in PAWN)
EMIT_SOUND can be used as well, I guess. On TFC it works ffine, but it must be set on the right channel.
DarthMan is offline
Hectik17
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 11-13-2017 , 01:10   Re: How do I use VOX speech engine?
Reply With Quote #8

What if you wanted to have a spk sentence play in the speach menu. I have a sentence that needs to be in quotes but it won't play the whole sentence. Only the first word plays. spk "i have no i nice(s40) left _comma _period five(e40) back(s75), yourself call(e25) us(e50) coolant(s60)"

Or when trying to bind it won't work: bind "p" spk "i have no i nice(s40) left _comma _period five(e40) back(s75), yourself call(e25) us(e50) coolant(s60)"
Hectik17 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode