Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
mlov420
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Old 08-04-2017 , 07:57   [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #1

I'm not sure how to go about finding offsets after each update. I did some searching through the forums but it seems that Valve has recently made changes making them more difficult to obtain.

Would any of you be able to provide either a detailed explanation of how someone would go about getting them, or provide a list of the most current ones.

I'm really just looking for one for the following:

Code:
"csgo"
	{
		"Offsets"
		{
			"IsValidObserverTarget"
			{
				"windows"	"426"
				"linux"   "427"
			}
		}
	}
I don't mind doing a little bit of work to find it and help update the plugin that belongs to (admin all spec), but if someone has the info available it would be much appreciated.
mlov420 is offline
Deathknife
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Old 08-04-2017 , 09:16   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #2

PHP Code:
    "csgo"
    
{
        
"Offsets"
        
{
            
"IsValidObserverTarget"
            
{
                
"windows"    "427"
                "linux"        "428"
            
}
        }
    } 
After an update, add 1 or 2 to the offset and try. It usually works.
__________________
Deathknife is offline
blacklagoon
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Old 08-04-2017 , 13:51   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlov420 View Post
I'm not sure how to go about finding offsets after each update. I did some searching through the forums but it seems that Valve has recently made changes making them more difficult to obtain.

Would any of you be able to provide either a detailed explanation of how someone would go about getting them, or provide a list of the most current ones.

I'm really just looking for one for the following:

Code:
"csgo"
	{
		"Offsets"
		{
			"IsValidObserverTarget"
			{
				"windows"	"426"
				"linux"   "427"
			}
		}
	}
I don't mind doing a little bit of work to find it and help update the plugin that belongs to (admin all spec), but if someone has the info available it would be much appreciated.
To retrieve them you need IDA, bindiff installed as a plugin, and the idc script to drop vtable.
First open the new server.so in ida and wait for it to disassemble. then hit ctrl+6 and do a difference with an old server.so binary containing all symbols, when it's finished you should have a "Matched functions" tab. go on it and do an alt + t to search your function.
you should see his new name as sub_* something from here it's the same way as before and you should be able to dump the vtable offsets.

Last edited by blacklagoon; 08-04-2017 at 13:52.
blacklagoon is offline
mlov420
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Old 08-04-2017 , 13:55   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathknife View Post
PHP Code:
    "csgo"
    
{
        
"Offsets"
        
{
            
"IsValidObserverTarget"
            
{
                
"windows"    "427"
                "linux"        "428"
            
}
        }
    } 
After an update, add 1 or 2 to the offset and try. It usually works.
I actually tried those 2 believe it or not, they didn't work. I will give a try to the next couple increments though.


Quote:
To retrieve them you need IDA, bindiff installed as a plugin, and the idc script to drop vtable.
First open the new server.so in ida and wait for it to disassemble. then hit ctrl+6 and do a difference with an old server.so binary containing all symbols, when it's finished you should have a "Matched functions" tab. go on it and do an alt + t to search your function.
you should see his new name as sub_* something from here it's the same way as before and you should be able to dump the vtable offsets.
Thank you for that information.
mlov420 is offline
micapat
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Nyuu, nyuu (France).
Old 08-04-2017 , 15:42   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by blacklagoon View Post
To retrieve them you need IDA, bindiff installed as a plugin, and the idc script to drop vtable.
First open the new server.so in ida and wait for it to disassemble. then hit ctrl+6 and do a difference with an old server.so binary containing all symbols, when it's finished you should have a "Matched functions" tab. go on it and do an alt + t to search your function.
you should see his new name as sub_* something from here it's the same way as before and you should be able to dump the vtable offsets.
Does it work with the free IDA version?
Do you still have an old CS:GO server.so with all the symbols?
__________________
micapat is offline
blacklagoon
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Old 08-04-2017 , 19:32   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by micapat View Post
Does it work with the free IDA version?
Do you still have an old CS:GO server.so with all the symbols?
i don't think it does though.
Yes i do here you go

ida is telling me that your function offset for linux is 428 so windows will be 427 edit (my binary is from before this july update on that pc)
Attached Files
File Type: zip server.zip (7.19 MB, 127 views)

Last edited by blacklagoon; 08-04-2017 at 20:21.
blacklagoon is offline
mlov420
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2013
Old 08-04-2017 , 19:44   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #7

I tried a couple increments and one of them worked. Here is the current working offset for that

Code:
"csgo"
	{
		"Offsets"
		{
			"IsValidObserverTarget"
			{
				"windows"	"428"
				"linux"   "429"
			}
		}
	}
Thank you to everyone who chimed in with any help, it's much appreciated.
mlov420 is offline
micapat
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Nyuu, nyuu (France).
Old 08-04-2017 , 20:38   Re: [CS:GO] Help Finding Offsets
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by blacklagoon View Post
i don't think it does though.
Yes i do here you go

ida is telling me that your function offset for linux is 428 so windows will be 427 edit (my binary is from before this july update on that pc)
Thanks!

Indeed, IDA free doesn't work. Time to find an upgraded version
__________________
micapat is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:50.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode