Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
hotfuse
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Latvia
Old 07-19-2020 , 05:03   Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #1

Hello.
I keep my Team Fortress 2 server on Windows, created via SteamCMD.
I want to play normally on my server with friends, but recently I have encountered such a problem as:
Unable to connect to remote server (192.168.1.166:27015)
The RCN stopped working.

Then read on a similar forum, write so:
-console -usercon +net_public_adr xx.xx.xx.xx +ip xx.xx.xx.xx -port 27015

Rcon started working, everything seemed to be fine, everyone was able to log in, but now I can't log in to my server.
hotfuse is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 07-20-2020 , 07:17   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #2

Are you hosting the game server on the same machine as your game client is running?
If so make sure your IP has not changed and your game server is actually running on port 27015 which needs to be forwarded/open for connections.

Last edited by TomL.; 07-20-2020 at 07:18.
TomL. is offline
hotfuse
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Latvia
Old 07-20-2020 , 11:05   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #3

I moved port 27015 to port 27021 and made it work, opened it with the router and confirmed it in the firewall. Everything works, I was able to go, a friend was able to go. CP cp_process_final, everything was fine. But when I tried to use the rcon, it gave me away:
Unable to connect to a remote server (109.73.97.145:27021)

srcds:
Code:
@echo off
cls
echo Protecting srcds from crashes...
title srcds
:srcds
echo (%time%) srcds started.
start /wait /high srcds.exe -console -game tf -tickrate 66 -secure +maxplayers 24 -port 27021 +map cp_process_final +sv_lan 0 -autoupdate 
echo (%time%) WARNING: srcds closed or crashed, restarting....
goto srcds
server.cfg
Code:
/ / Server parameters
name "Gameeye#6162312"
sv_password "12"
sv_lan 0

rcon_password "pred"
sv_rcon_banpenalty 15
sv_rcon_minfailures 15
sv_rcon_maxfailures 15
log in
sv_logfile 1
sv_logecho 1
sv_logbans 1


sv_pure -1
sv_pure_kick_clients 0
sv_alltalk 0
mp_allowspectators 1
mp_autoteambalance 1
mp_teams_unbalance_limit 2
mp_forcecamera 0
sv_allow_wait_command 0
sv_cheats 0
sv_pausable 0
mp_stalemate_enable 0
mp_stalemate_timelimit 240
mp_winlimit 0
mp_timelimit 0
tf_weapon_criticals 0
tf_use_fixed_weaponspreads 0

sv_maxrate 50000
sv_minrate 7500
sv_maxupdaterate 66
sv_minupdaterate 20
sv_maxcmdrate 66
sv_mincmdrate 0

Last edited by hotfuse; 07-20-2020 at 11:11.
hotfuse is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 07-20-2020 , 13:02   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #4

Add -usercon
TomL. is offline
hotfuse
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Latvia
Old 07-20-2020 , 13:55   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #5

nothing has changed with the-usercon command.
I tried it myself, it looks like this:

Code:
@echo off
cls
echo Protecting srcds from crashes...
title srcds
:srcds
echo (%time%) srcds started.
start /wait /high srcds.exe -console -game tf -tickrate 66 -secure +maxplayers 24 -port 27021 +map cp_process_final +sv_lan 0 -autoupdate -usercon +net_public_adr 109.73.97.145 +ip 192.168.1.166
echo (%time%) WARNING: srcds closed or crashed, restarting....
goto srcds
The problem was solved, reinstalled the server, all the files are the same, but again encountered a problem with the rcon malfunction.

In the console I saw this:
Unknown command "net_public_adr"
Withdrew it, and remained so:

Code:
@echo off
cls
echo Protecting srcds from crashes...
title srcds
:srcds
echo (%time%) srcds started.
start /wait /high srcds.exe -console -game tf -tickrate 66 -secure +maxplayers 24 -port 27021 +map cp_process_final +sv_lan 0 -autoupdate -usercon +ip 192.168.1.166
echo (%time%) WARNING: srcds closed or crashed, restarting....
goto srcds
The situation is such that I can't log in to the server with these settings, but I know for sure that the rcon will work.
If I remove +ip 192.168.1.166, I will be able to go to the server but the rcon will not work, and if I leave it I will not be able to go but the rcon will work. :/

Last edited by hotfuse; 07-20-2020 at 14:04.
hotfuse is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 07-20-2020 , 15:28   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #6

Did you open TCP and UDP for the server port?
TomL. is offline
hotfuse
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Latvia
Old 07-21-2020 , 09:27   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #7

I opened port 27021 for incoming and outgoing connections, here are the results:

2ip.ru and PFPortChecker
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2.png
Views:	72
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	182728   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_3.png
Views:	90
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	182729   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_4.png
Views:	60
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	182730  

Last edited by hotfuse; 07-21-2020 at 09:29.
hotfuse is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 07-21-2020 , 09:50   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #8

It's probably related to your network setup but you can use sm_rcon as workaround while being on the server (m flag required).
TomL. is offline
hotfuse
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Latvia
Old 07-21-2020 , 12:58   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #9

I found that when I turn on the server, it takes port 27021 without problems. When I turn on Team Fortress 2, and after it loads the server, port 27021 is busy and Team Fortress 2 is being used. Roughly speaking, if I turn on the server and log in to Team Fortress 2, I can't connect to any server, how can I solve this problem? If that, when I disable the server, I can connect to any server.
hotfuse is offline
TomL.
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Old 07-21-2020 , 13:03   Re: Unable to connect to remote server - RCON failure
Reply With Quote #10

Game servers will often use the same ports as the client or other game servers.
You can change the port of your client by addding +clientport 270XX to your client launch options.
It's recommended to use any port between 27005 and 27032 except 27020.

Last edited by TomL.; 07-21-2020 at 13:07.
TomL. is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:54.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode