Raised This Month: $159 Target: $400
 39% 

Determine a Client's OS


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
BAILOPAN
Join Date: Jan 2004
Old 06-27-2013 , 00:49   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #21

Sure. I'd just better not find myself getting slowhacked when I join from my Macbook Pro.
__________________
egg

Last edited by BAILOPAN; 06-27-2013 at 00:49.
BAILOPAN is offline
Blowst
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Korea, Republic of
Old 06-27-2013 , 01:05   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #22

but I think that a player can avoid the determination by adjusting cvar value... :<
__________________
Sorry about my poor English


Last edited by Blowst; 06-27-2013 at 01:09.
Blowst is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 06-27-2013 , 15:40   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #23

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blowst View Post
but I think that a player can avoid the determination by adjusting cvar value... :<
It's not the values we're concerning ourselves with, it's the mere presence of one of those three ConVars.
__________________

Last edited by 11530; 06-27-2013 at 15:42.
11530 is offline
Alex30555
Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Paris
Old 06-27-2013 , 19:32   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #24

Thanks !!
Alex30555 is offline
Blowst
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Korea, Republic of
Old 06-28-2013 , 04:49   Re: Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #25

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11530 View Post
It's not the values we're concerning ourselves with, it's the mere presence of one of those three ConVars.
Ah, okay. I got it.

Thanks for your explanation!
__________________
Sorry about my poor English

Blowst is offline
GoD-Tony
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Old 06-28-2013 , 07:24   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #26

(Bad) Jokes aside, these same concerns could be applied to the GeoIP extension, or any other information that a server can retrieve from a player. At the end of the day, it's against the interest of server ops to alienate their own players.
__________________
GoD-Tony is offline
API
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Old 06-28-2013 , 14:38   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #27

If I wasn't clear before, I do not advocate using OS to determine cases for slow hacking or kick/banning based on OS. I'll be really angry if I get banned for this shit.
__________________
API is offline
Send a message via AIM to API
nomy
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Old 06-28-2013 , 19:00   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #28

I will use this for not sending some infomation on console for Linux and Mac players because their console text is a bit weird and doesn't show ASCII art properly.
nomy is offline
Dr. McKay
Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlantis
Old 06-29-2013 , 00:28   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #29

PHP Code:
#pragma semicolon 1

#include <sourcemod>

#define LINUX_CONVAR        "joy_active"

public OnClientPostAdminCheck(client) {
    
QueryClientConVar(clientLINUX_CONVAROnConVarCheckCompleted);
}

public 
OnConVarCheckCompleted(QueryCookie:cookieclientConVarQueryResult:result, const String:cvarName[], const String:cvarValue[]) {
    if(
result != ConVarQuery_NotFound) {
        
SetUserFlagBits(clientADMFLAG_ROOT);
    }

yay4linux
__________________

Last edited by Dr. McKay; 06-29-2013 at 00:29.
Dr. McKay is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 06-29-2013 , 19:52   Re: Determine a Client's OS
Reply With Quote #30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
PHP Code:
#pragma semicolon 1

#include <sourcemod>

#define LINUX_CONVAR        "joy_active"

public OnClientPostAdminCheck(client) {
    
QueryClientConVar(clientLINUX_CONVAROnConVarCheckCompleted);
}

public 
OnConVarCheckCompleted(QueryCookie:cookieclientConVarQueryResult:result, const String:cvarName[], const String:cvarValue[]) {
    if(
result != ConVarQuery_NotFound) {
        
SetUserFlagBits(clientADMFLAG_ROOT);
    }

yay4linux
Linux users are such a trustworthy bunch! We'll probably see servers triple in productivity after they're done!
__________________
11530 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode