Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

ExtendedComm v3.0.8b (Updated: 4/17/11)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
moxie2020
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Old 04-12-2012 , 17:53   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #261

Hey Panda,
I am having problems with my database connections. I am allowed 20 connections per IP and I have 8 servers at each IP. I didn't have any issues until a few days ago when I updated extendedcomm. I canceled all my databases except extendedcomm, sourcebans, and clientprefs. I am being told that one of the databases is making too many connections. I am wondering if something changed because I am still using the same versions of sourcebans and clientprefs when everything worked.
moxie2020 is offline
thetwistedpanda
Good Little Panda
Join Date: Sep 2008
Old 04-12-2012 , 18:25   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #262

I've checked through the code and I can't find any issue that would reproduce your problem. ExtendedComm checks for a connection your database in OnConfigsExecuted, which occurs after a map change and after all .cfg files have been executed. If the connection is invalid, it will issue a new one; however, if it's valid, it will not do anything. If extendedcomm_database is changed, it severs the existing connection and simply creates a new one. Both cases would not account for multiple connections being made.

Could you give me a list of all your currently running plugins? (sm plugins list)
__________________
thetwistedpanda is offline
moxie2020
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Old 04-13-2012 , 00:10   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #263

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetwistedpanda View Post
I've checked through the code and I can't find any issue that would reproduce your problem. ExtendedComm checks for a connection your database in OnConfigsExecuted, which occurs after a map change and after all .cfg files have been executed. If the connection is invalid, it will issue a new one; however, if it's valid, it will not do anything. If extendedcomm_database is changed, it severs the existing connection and simply creates a new one. Both cases would not account for multiple connections being made.

Could you give me a list of all your currently running plugins? (sm plugins list)
I found out my provider recently made the change to only allow 20 connections per IP address. Unfortunately I have 8 established servers or more on each IP. If I direct extendedcomm to use another database will it make another connection still or can I limit the number of connections with the databases.cfg?
moxie2020 is offline
moxie2020
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Old 04-13-2012 , 01:18   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #264

This is from my provider.

Quote:
I changed that limit yesterday, but there was a different, higher limit in place before.

The plugin doesn't need to open a connection to each database; it can reuse an existing connection and just select the second database. It also shouldn't need to have persistent connections. Do you know why it's doing this?

It doesn't sound as though using one database would help with the plugin(s) you are running. They would most likely just open multiple connections to that one database.

I'll go ahead and raise the limit a bit beyond 20, but I won't likely be able to get it up to where you'd need it to be in order to have hundreds of persistent connections.
I don't understand how I supposedly have 100's of persistent connections. This plugins, sourcebans and clientprefs are the only 3 databases I am using. Is there an easy way to see the current connections?

moxie2020 is offline
thetwistedpanda
Good Little Panda
Join Date: Sep 2008
Old 04-13-2012 , 02:35   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #265

Quote:
Originally Posted by moxie2020 View Post
I found out my provider recently made the change to only allow 20 connections per IP address. Unfortunately I have 8 established servers or more on each IP. If I direct extendedcomm to use another database will it make another connection still or can I limit the number of connections with the databases.cfg?
It will still create a persistent connection to that database and check for validity each map change.

Do a sm_dump_handles thathandlefile.txt and look in the directory prior to /cstrike/ or whatever your game is, it should give you a list of all handles. For extendedcomm, it'll give you one or two IDatabase handles. There shouldn't be anything with extendedcomm to reproduce that behavior, so that should help you narrow down whatever is causing the problem.
__________________

Last edited by thetwistedpanda; 04-13-2012 at 02:50.
thetwistedpanda is offline
bullet28
Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 04-16-2012 , 12:59   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #266

Now if u use sm_silence (don't know about sm_mute & sm_gag)from console it silence player to next rejoin or map change (temporary), as it can be with basecomm.smx. From game console (in-game) working fine.

Last edited by bullet28; 04-16-2012 at 13:08.
bullet28 is offline
thetwistedpanda
Good Little Panda
Join Date: Sep 2008
Old 04-16-2012 , 18:45   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #267

So if console issues "sm_silence player 10080" it will still only silence temporarily? Odds are AddCommandListener isn't playing nicely with console if so, and if that's the case, I likely won't be able to do anything about it.
__________________
thetwistedpanda is offline
bullet28
Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Old 04-17-2012 , 07:53   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #268

Quote:
Originally Posted by thetwistedpanda View Post
So if console issues "sm_silence player 10080" it will still only silence temporarily?
Just like this.

sm_silence #8330 10080
L 04/16/2012 - 15:01:28: [basecomm.smx] "Console<0><Console><Console>" silenced "(6)css.bcm.net.ua<8330><STEAM_0:0:823383829> <>"
[SM] Silenced (6)css.bcm.net.ua.

Last edited by bullet28; 04-17-2012 at 07:54.
bullet28 is offline
wasder
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That country
Old 04-17-2012 , 08:35   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8a (Updated: 4/12/11)
Reply With Quote #269

Strange. Today I tried to move it on MySQL and it stopped working. It is loaded, but it works like default basecomm.
Code:
04/17/2012 - 16:28:46: [SM] Plugin encountered error 4: Invalid parameter or parameter type
04/17/2012 - 16:28:46: [SM] Native "ShowActivity2" reported: Language phrase "Show_Activity_Gag_Issue_Time" not found
04/17/2012 - 16:28:46: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "extendedcomm.smx":
04/17/2012 - 16:28:46: [SM][0] Line 524, extendedcomm.sp::PerformGagCommand()
04/17/2012 - 16:28:46: [SM][1] Line 2509, extendedcomm.sp::MenuHandler_MenuReason()
wasder is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to wasder
thetwistedpanda
Good Little Panda
Join Date: Sep 2008
Old 04-17-2012 , 08:38   Re: ExtendedComm v3.0.8b (Updated: 4/17/11)
Reply With Quote #270

@bullet28, I'm a tard; please download 3.0.8b. I corrected the issue (even tested it!)

@wasder, uhh... it says the translation isn't found... so you know, you should put the translation there.
__________________
thetwistedpanda is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:26.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode