Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[L4D2] Proper Changelevel [Left 4 Fix] [17/11/2019]


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Lux
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Cat
Plugin ID:
6764
Plugin Version:
1.2.1
Plugin Category:
Technical/Development
Plugin Game:
Left 4 Dead
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    Creates a clean way to change maps, sm_map causes leaks and other spooky stuff causing server perf to be worse over time.
    Old 10-16-2019 , 01:56   [L4D2] Proper Changelevel [Left 4 Fix] [17/11/2019]
    Reply With Quote #1

    Hi, This plugin fixes level changing from degrading server performance with a native to use in your map changing plugins

    This plugin does near nothing on it's own it's for dev's to include in their mission managers.

    However there is a command
    "sm_changelevel" This requires Admin_Root or from server console function same as sm_map.


    Tech stuff
    Spoiler


    Native
    PHP Code:

    /**
    *    @param    sMapName                Map String without .bsp
    *    @param    bShouldResetScores        Reset all scores in all gamemodes
    *    @noreturn
    */
    native void L4D2_ChangeLevel(const char[] sMapNamebool bShouldResetScores=true); 
    [L4D2] Improved Automatic Campaign Switcher (ACS)

    Thanks:
    SirPlease for testing.
    Silvers throwing ideas.
    A1m` testing and reporting issue.


    Maybe this method will get merged into sourcemod for l4d2 only?

    Installation:

    1.Download the .zip file.
    2.Merge with \addons\ folder.
    3.Restart the server.
    Attached Files
    File Type: zip l4d2_levelchanging.zip (10.4 KB, 1755 views)
    __________________
    Connect
    My Plugins: KlickME
    [My GitHub]

    Commission me for L4D

    Last edited by Lux; 10-02-2020 at 19:50. Reason: update
    Lux is offline
    Eyedol
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Jul 2018
    Old 10-16-2019 , 18:18   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel
    Reply With Quote #2

    Hello, using this method solves the problem of CPU increase over time? Or is it focused on something else?

    Sorry if the question seems to be very obvious but I was testing it and I can't understand
    Eyedol is offline
    Psyk0tik
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2012
    Location: Homeless
    Old 10-17-2019 , 10:12   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel
    Reply With Quote #3

    Oh hey, you finally released it here. Nice!
    __________________
    Psyk0tik is offline
    Lux
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jan 2015
    Location: Cat
    Old 10-18-2019 , 04:07   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel
    Reply With Quote #4

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Crasher_3637 View Post
    Oh hey, you finally released it here. Nice!


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Eyedol View Post
    Hello, using this method solves the problem of CPU increase over time? Or is it focused on something else?

    Sorry if the question seems to be very obvious but I was testing it and I can't understand
    If the issue with CPU increase overtime is related to vscript then yes that i know of.
    __________________
    Connect
    My Plugins: KlickME
    [My GitHub]

    Commission me for L4D
    Lux is offline
    AK978
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Jun 2018
    Old 10-18-2019 , 08:01   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel
    Reply With Quote #5

    Unzip failed.
    AK978 is offline
    Psyk0tik
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2012
    Location: Homeless
    Old 10-18-2019 , 08:07   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by AK978 View Post
    Unzip failed.
    Not his problem. Use a program like 7Zip or Winrar to extract the files...
    __________________
    Psyk0tik is offline
    AK978
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Jun 2018
    Old 10-18-2019 , 09:10   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel
    Reply With Quote #7

    ok.
    tks~
    AK978 is offline
    Lux
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jan 2015
    Location: Cat
    Old 11-01-2019 , 12:06   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel [Left 4 Fix] [1/11/2019]
    Reply With Quote #8

    Update 1.2.0
    Included resetting scores for gamemodes that require it, that persist across levelchanges. thanks A1m`

    https://github.com/LuxLuma/Left-4-fi...8163eddf4dd8fd
    __________________
    Connect
    My Plugins: KlickME
    [My GitHub]

    Commission me for L4D
    Lux is offline
    tRololo312312
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Apr 2015
    Old 11-04-2019 , 16:21   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel [Left 4 Fix] [1/11/2019]
    Reply With Quote #9

    One issue i have with plugin that it doesnt reset the survivors when it changes map like normal changelevel does. Like, if i was playing Passing Francis, then load into new map, im still Francis instead of the being one of the l4d2 survivors...
    tRololo312312 is offline
    Lux
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jan 2015
    Location: Cat
    Old 11-04-2019 , 16:42   Re: [L4D2] Proper Changelevel [Left 4 Fix] [1/11/2019]
    Reply With Quote #10

    That's normal, game saves and restores your character when using game's voting functions.

    Since no one really uses voting stuff on modded servers was never noticed.
    If you vote for start new campaign will have same effect as using my plugin since both voting function have similar code paths, other than campaign accepts the "name" from the mission file and my plugin accepts bsp names.
    __________________
    Connect
    My Plugins: KlickME
    [My GitHub]

    Commission me for L4D
    Lux is offline
    Reply



    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:02.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode