Raised This Month: $95 Target: $400
 23% 

Solved compiler.exe broken with new builds?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
El Curioso
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Old 10-19-2017 , 12:18   compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #1

Why is compiler.exe not working any more with the new shipped builds?

Before "day X", klicking on compiler.exe was compiling all shipped *.sp files to the folder "compiled".
Now there is no compiling, just the message "internal error".

Shouldn't for example adminhelp.sp compile without problems?

How can compiling offline work then (since the online compiler only provides basic compilation without includes e.g. smlib)?

Last edited by El Curioso; 10-21-2017 at 10:42. Reason: solved
El Curioso is offline
Fyren
FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren
Join Date: Feb 2106
Old 10-19-2017 , 14:06   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #2

You provided almost no useful information such as, at least, your OS and the revision of SM you downloaded.
Fyren is offline
El Curioso
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Old 10-19-2017 , 15:48   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #3

Sry, you are obviously right.

Just tried the 1.8 branch with the builds 6007, 6026 and 6027.
The OS is Windows 10 Home x64

Since you hinted to an OS-Problem, I tried an old Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit Laptop. Works like a charm.

So seems to be an issue with the OS, although I don't know if it is because the newer Windows version or the 32/64-bit architecture.

Any ideas how to get the compiler working with Windows 10 x64 ?
El Curioso is offline
Timocop
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Germany
Old 10-19-2017 , 16:08   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #4

Build 6027 and below - even the dev compilers - works fine on my 3 devices (Win10 x86/x64). Must be something on your end.
What happens if you drop your source on spcomp.exe, does it compile?
Timocop is offline
El Curioso
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Old 10-19-2017 , 20:24   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #5

adminhelp.sp is processing as follows when I drop it on spcomp.exe.


Code:
SourcePawn Compiler 1.8.0.6027
Copyright (c) 1997-2006 ITB CompuPhase
Copyright (c) 2004-2015 AlliedModders LLC

Code size:             5520 bytes
Data size:             2752 bytes
Stack/heap size:      16384 bytes
Total requirements:   24656 bytes
But the "compiled"-Folder stays empty.
El Curioso is offline
hmmmmm
Great Tester of Whatever
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: ...
Old 10-19-2017 , 20:35   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #6

spcomp puts it in same directory. compile.exe puts in compiled folder
hmmmmm is offline
El Curioso
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Old 10-20-2017 , 07:14   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #7

Good to know. Unfortunately there seems to be no generation of an *.smx-file (not in the compiled, nor in any other folder).

More Info:
Tried 1.7.3dev+5255: Compiles fine, everything is as it should be.

Tried 1.7.3dev+5301: INTERNAL-ERROR-MESSAGE, no compilation.

Since compiling new code with the old build cannot work I wonder what the heck is going on.

Last edited by El Curioso; 10-20-2017 at 08:34. Reason: adding more info
El Curioso is offline
Fyren
FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren FyrenFyrenFyrenFyrenFyren
Join Date: Feb 2106
Old 10-21-2017 , 02:10   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #8

Even if there is a bug in 1.7's compiler, it is extremely unlikely to be fixed. 1.7 has not received any changes in several months and nothing for months before that except gamedata.

Edit:
If you get output like you pasted in your post before last, then it definitely is making the SMX output, you're just not looking in the right place.

If you can drag a single file onto spcomp.exe from the latest 1.8 or 1.9 revision and get the internal error message, please provide the source code you're trying to compile.

Last edited by Fyren; 10-21-2017 at 02:14.
Fyren is offline
El Curioso
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Old 10-21-2017 , 10:39   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyren View Post
Even if there is a bug in 1.7's compiler, it is extremely unlikely to be fixed. 1.7 has not received any changes in several months and nothing for months before that except gamedata.
You provided almost no useful information with that ;)

Quote:
If you get output like you pasted in your post before last, then it definitely is making the SMX output, you're just not looking in the right place.
THAT was the missing piece of puzzle!

So I started searching the whole Computer for this f***ing file and finally found it:
In the substructure of a hidden folder called "HarddiskVolume2".
Thank you so much Fyren!

For everyone who is interested in the "why" and how to fix it:
Spoiler
El Curioso is offline
KliPPy
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Serbia
Old 10-21-2017 , 10:50   Re: compiler.exe broken with new builds?
Reply With Quote #10

You should've mentioned that you are running the compiler in a sandboxed environment.
KliPPy is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode