Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

Open Overlay Ingame


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 05-23-2010 , 02:55   Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #1

Valve added in TF2 the ability to open the overlay via a link. They added the blog and update links to the main menu. I was wondering if its possible to use that function in a plugin. I have a feeling they did it so we cant use it. The comands dont work from their res file.

http://dwn.pastebin.com/hAJ3pL5a
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
Master53
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Old 05-23-2010 , 08:04   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #2

this should work..

PHP Code:
//Initation:
public OnPluginStart()
{
     
//Disable Cheats:
     
SetCommandFlags("r_screenoverlay", (GetCommandFlags("r_screenoverlay") - FCVAR_CHEAT));
}

    
//Timer:
    
CreateTimer(60.0RemoveOverlayClient);
    
//Screen Overlay Command
    
ClientCommand(Client"r_screenoverlay Texture_Path_Hear.vmt");

//Clear Overlay:
public Action:RemoveOverlay(Handle:Timerany:Client)
{
    
//Clear:
    
ClientCommand(Client"r_screenoverlay 0");

Master53 is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 05-23-2010 , 15:40   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #3

Im looking to open a web page within the overlay ingame via a plugin. Since Valve added that feature, I was hoping we could also use it.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 05-24-2010 , 07:25   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontWannaName View Post
Im looking to open a web page within the overlay ingame via a plugin. Since Valve added that feature, I was hoping we could also use it.
Those are clientside commands and are likely blocked.
psychonic is offline
Master53
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Old 05-24-2010 , 12:25   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #5

thats why i removed the *cheat flag*
__________________
Master(d)



Master53 is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 05-24-2010 , 12:55   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master53 View Post
thats why i removed the *cheat flag*
That's not the command he was talking about.

Also, you cannot remove the cheat flag on clientside-only commands. The best you could do is SendConVarValue of sv_cheats 1 to the client, issue the command, and then revert sv_cheats to them. This still only works for commands that the server is allowed to execute on the client.
psychonic is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 05-24-2010 , 13:16   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #7

uhg I dont understand why valve wont add steam community to the game so players can join a group from a server.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 05-24-2010 , 13:26   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontWannaName View Post
uhg I dont understand why valve wont add steam community to the game so players can join a group from a server.
Because it would be grossly abused.
psychonic is offline
DontWannaName
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VALVe Land, WA
Old 05-24-2010 , 17:58   Re: Open Overlay Ingame
Reply With Quote #9

If they did it properly it wouldnt.
__________________

DontWannaName is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode