Raised This Month: $106 Target: $400
 26% 

RCON on Linux DoD:S


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Lebson506th
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 03-01-2010 , 09:37   RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #1

Hey guys,

I'm trying to help a friend of mine set up an Ubuntu Linux SRCDS server for DoD:S.

Everything runs fine, we can join the server and everything, but RCON cannot connect!

Every time we try, whether it be from within the game using console or using a program like HLSW, we get the "Unable to connect to remote server (xx.xx.xx.xx:27015)" error.

We've opened the ports (27015 TCP/UDP and 27020 UDP) both using iptables and through his router, but it was no help.


This is the command line he is trying to use:
Code:
./srcds_run -console -game dod +map dod_donner -maxplayers 16 -autoupdate

I found somewhere online that it might because he didn't define the IP/Port on the command line, so I told him to try that.

He tried every combination of +/-ip and +/- port, but nothing helped.

Whenever there was a +ip or -ip on the command line, he got this error:

"Cannot assign requested address. Couldn't allocate any server IP port"


Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
My Plugins
Spray Tracer by Nican, maintained by me
Simple TK Manager
DoD:S Admin Weapons

Links
Resistance and Liberation (A HL2 Multiplayer Modification)
Lebson506th is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 03-02-2010 , 09:52   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #2

Make sure you're adding the ip that srcds is to actually bind to (which isn't necessarily the external ip).
psychonic is offline
Lebson506th
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 03-02-2010 , 10:10   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #3

We used the IP that we use when connecting to the server.

I'm not on a LAN with him and I used this IP to add the server to HLSW and I could see it fine.

Also, it's not a dedicated server or anything so it only has 1 IP as far as i know.
__________________
My Plugins
Spray Tracer by Nican, maintained by me
Simple TK Manager
DoD:S Admin Weapons

Links
Resistance and Liberation (A HL2 Multiplayer Modification)
Lebson506th is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 03-02-2010 , 10:22   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lebson506th View Post
We used the IP that we use when connecting to the server.

I'm not on a LAN with him and I used this IP to add the server to HLSW and I could see it fine.

Also, it's not a dedicated server or anything so it only has 1 IP as far as i know.
If the server is behind NAT, it cannot bind to the external ip even though you can connect to it via the external ip when the port is forwarded. It can only bind to an ip available on that box.
psychonic is offline
Lebson506th
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 03-02-2010 , 11:41   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #5

It's just a personal computer hosted by a guy at his home in Denmark.

How would I go about making sure i'm using the right IP?
__________________
My Plugins
Spray Tracer by Nican, maintained by me
Simple TK Manager
DoD:S Admin Weapons

Links
Resistance and Liberation (A HL2 Multiplayer Modification)
Lebson506th is offline
omgitsme
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 03-02-2010 , 11:45   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #6

i had the same problem. i just posted this in another thread. my port's look like:
TCP1200 - 12001200 - 1200--

UDP1200 - 12001200 - 1200--

TCP27000 - 2701527000 - 27015--

UDP27000 - 2701527000 - 27015--

TCP27020 - 2703927020 - 27039--

UDP27020 - 2703927020 - 27039 and no problems. before i had the rcon fail
__________________
omgitsme is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to omgitsme
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 03-02-2010 , 11:56   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lebson506th View Post
It's just a personal computer hosted by a guy at his home in Denmark.

How would I go about making sure i'm using the right IP?
My guess is that it is behind a router that uses NAT as that would explain almost all of this. Have him use the internal network ip (the lan address) with the -ip switch. You will still be able to connect fine from the external ip.
psychonic is offline
Lebson506th
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 03-02-2010 , 17:07   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #8

That did it.

Thanks a lot!
__________________
My Plugins
Spray Tracer by Nican, maintained by me
Simple TK Manager
DoD:S Admin Weapons

Links
Resistance and Liberation (A HL2 Multiplayer Modification)
Lebson506th is offline
valentin1000
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Old 03-07-2013 , 22:30   Re: RCON on Linux DoD:S
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgitsme View Post
i had the same problem. i just posted this in another thread. my port's look like:
TCP1200 - 12001200 - 1200--

UDP1200 - 12001200 - 1200--

TCP27000 - 2701527000 - 27015--

UDP27000 - 2701527000 - 27015--

TCP27020 - 2703927020 - 27039--

UDP27020 - 2703927020 - 27039 and no problems. before i had the rcon fail
Actually this was the solution for me.
Thank you so much.
valentin1000 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:07.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode