Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

[Any?] Double Quote Fix


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 10-04-2016 , 17:28   Re: [Any?] Double Quote Fix
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddhoward View Post
I don't think that this will cause any problems with regards to that, no. However, you've made me realize that I could probably run a StrContains near the top of the function to check for any true doublequotes. If any are found, then immediately return Plugin_Continue. [I]This paragraph was written in response to a part of the previous post that has been edited out.

In regards to the listener firing twice, that shouldn't be an issue.
Yeah I had noticed that you were covering most of the cases with true double quotes or 'say' anyways so a client sneaking in real double quotes using console-say plus a command chat trigger wasn't an issue, so I edited that bit out.

(Unless it is something you need to consider ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)

EDIT: Just noticed that the following in console:
Code:
say !sm_rename @me 'FS (nosound)'
results in my name changing to:
Code:
FS (nosound)
Where typically it would change to
Code:
'FS
with single quotes.
This is a super edge case, obviously, and can also serve as idiot-proofing, I suppose.
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.

Last edited by FlaminSarge; 10-04-2016 at 20:14.
FlaminSarge is offline
ddhoward
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Old 10-05-2016 , 01:02   Re: [Any?] Double Quote Fix
Reply With Quote #12

Hmm, I see what you mean. The case is this:
  • A client is using the say command through the console
  • The say command itself triggers a registered command
  • The arguments for said command contain singlequote marks that might wrongly be processed by this plugin

This is a pretty unlikely scenario, but in the event that someone actually does run into this problem, I'd recommend temporarily deactivating the feature of this plugin. (This can be done through the /settings menu.)

Next version will include a check to see if the command arguments already contain any true doublequote marks (if it does, then don't modify anything) as well as hopefully preparing for the upcoming forced changes to Updater integration.
__________________
ddhoward is offline
ddhoward
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Old 01-15-2018 , 19:43   Re: [Any?] Double Quote Fix
Reply With Quote #13

Updated to 18.0115.0. This update:
  • updates the version of my ddhoward_updater include used
  • changes the plugin's two main cvars with respect to what values do what
  • minor optimizations
__________________
ddhoward is offline
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 02-21-2018 , 00:15   Re: [Any?] Double Quote Fix
Reply With Quote #14

I noticed that the smart change functionality stops at the first pair it finds. Is this intended?
It doesn't do so well with things like sm_vote e.g.
!vote "Test vote" "Test answer 1" "Test answer 2"
FS : !vote 'Test vote' 'Test answer 1' 'Test answer 2'
*Started vote: Test vote?
1. 'Test
2. answer
3. 1'
4. 'Test
5. answer
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.
FlaminSarge is offline
ddhoward
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Old 02-21-2018 , 01:23   Re: [Any?] Double Quote Fix
Reply With Quote #15

Updated to version 18.0220.0. Fixes the above issue pointed out by FlaminSarge. Silly mistake on my part.
__________________
ddhoward is offline
mdrxd100
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2018
Old 01-22-2019 , 22:14   Re: [Any?] Double Quote Fix
Reply With Quote #16

Great plugin, fixes a problem that has been there forever.
mdrxd100 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode