Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

amx_debug / JIT performance


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Syturi0
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Your mom house -Portugal
Old 05-22-2017 , 00:15   amx_debug / JIT performance
Reply With Quote #1

Quote:
// Plugin Debug mode
// 0 - No debugging (garbage line numbers)
// 1 - Plugins with "debug" option in plugins.ini are put into debug mode
// 2 - All plugins are put in debug mode
// Note - debug mode will affect JIT performance
amx_debug 1
What does "JIT" stands for?
Is it bad if i let amx_debug always on value 2?
Syturi0 is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 05-22-2017 , 00:58   Re: amx_debug / JIT performance
Reply With Quote #2

"Just in Time"

Any time that you add debugging you add overhead. So, if you don't have a specific reason to have debugging enabled, then don't enable it.
__________________

Last edited by fysiks; 05-22-2017 at 01:00.
fysiks is offline
Syturi0
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Your mom house -Portugal
Old 05-22-2017 , 01:00   Re: amx_debug / JIT performance
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
Just think of that line as.
How much will it affect? Thats what iam trying to figure out. Do i have to worry about leaving it on all the time?

Last edited by Syturi0; 05-22-2017 at 01:00.
Syturi0 is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 05-22-2017 , 01:05   Re: amx_debug / JIT performance
Reply With Quote #4

Leave it on and see what happens. Performance has too many variables to know how much just one of them will affect it and how much. If you have a million plugins then it will affect it more than if you had 2 plugins.
__________________

Last edited by fysiks; 05-22-2017 at 01:12.
fysiks is offline
Syturi0
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Your mom house -Portugal
Old 05-22-2017 , 01:08   Re: amx_debug / JIT performance
Reply With Quote #5

I only have 1 plugin, but its a huge one with 11k+ lines.
I have been using it on value "2" for ever and never noticed anything negative.
I also tried setting it to value "0", no difference... ping / server FPS, everything stays the same.
Syturi0 is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 05-22-2017 , 01:14   Re: amx_debug / JIT performance
Reply With Quote #6

For reference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Just-in-time_compilation
__________________
fysiks is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:14.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode