Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[TF2] Damage Modifier?

Post New Thread Reply   

DanTycoon
Old 08-17-2008 , 18:39   [TF2] Damage Modifier?
Reply With Quote #1

I'm trying to learn how to make a plugin, and something I thought would be easy to do would be to change the amount of damage taken by, say, a scattergun bullet, then apply what I know from there to all the weapons.

I've searched for a while and I guess I'm not looking for the right thing because I'm pretty sure there's plugins out there that change the amount of damage per weapon. So how does one go about doing that?

I'm a noob to coding this kind of thing, so if you're going to give me code, could you please comment it so I know what does what? Thanks
DiscoBBQ
Veteran Member
Old 08-18-2008 , 01:44   Re: [TF2] Damage Modifier?
Reply With Quote #2

Your going to:
A. Hook an event with 'player_hurt'
B. On the callback for that, you will want to check for the weapon and then add some more damage by removing it from the health.
C. You can either prethink real quick to not kill them with the extra damage so it won't appear as a suicide, or you can go to a thread I few weeks ago in this subthread on creating custom death messages.

Here we go:
Code:

//Initation, this is a 'callback' it will be called one time in a plugin's life:
public OnPluginStart()
{

//Hook the event, this makes it so the function 'EventDamage' will be called at the same time (or about the same time) as 'player_hurt' event.
 HookEvent("player_hurt", EventDamage);
}

//Now we write the hook, it has to be formatted like this for events:
public EventDamage(Handle:Event, const String:Name[], bool:Broadcast)
{

//Notice EventDamage is the same thing we wrote in HookEvent, it creates this function as a hook. 'public' infront of it is used for call backs. Otherwise it is not neccessary.

//Declare the variables we want to use:
 decl Client, Attacker; //Client & Attacker ID we need to find