Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[TF2] Escalation - an Upgrades Mod for TF2 (v1.0.0, 8/11/2014)

Post New Thread Reply   

Author
SleepKiller
Plugin ID:
Plugin Version:
Plugin Category:
Gameplay
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
Servers with this Plugin:

Plugin Description:
A mod for TF2 centred around earning credits and buying upgrades.
Old 10-05-2014 , 00:59   [TF2] Escalation - an Upgrades Mod for TF2 (v1.0.0, 8/11/2014)
Reply With Quote #1

This right here is the result of me thinking how I wanted a gamemode for TF2 that you could buy upgrades for weapons in TF2. So I started learning how to write plugins for SourceMod and then a few months (and several thousand lines of code) later this is the result.

So what exactly is it? The idea is really quite simple, when you complete an objective, do something that helps your team or kill an enemy you earn credits. You then use those credits to buy upgrades. It currently has support for CP, PL, PLR, KOTH and CTF.

And to solve the problem of when you're defending the last point and really don't have the time to buy upgrades each client (and each client's class) has an upgrade queue that you can populate when they first join the server. The upgrades on their queue are then brought for them (if they can afford them) whenever they resupply or respawn in the order they put them on their queue.

Now I'm not going to lie, it probably needs a lot of improvements. If you do give it a go please give me some feedback. Something I would love some on is if I should keep the downsides on upgrades or get rid of them. Anything constructive you have to say is welcome though.

Queue Saving Info
By default the plugin Escalation_QueueSaving saves a client's upgrade queue to a database when they disconnect. It will first try to use your default SQL connection, if that doesn't work it then will try to use SQLite. In the event of SQLite failing it will just maintain an in memory cache of their queues.