Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

l4d2 servers


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
terminator2k2
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Old 04-24-2011 , 17:55   l4d2 servers
Reply With Quote #1

hi there, just wandering how i go about the following:

i can get 2 l4d2 servers up and running no problem......

just wandering as both use the same game files.....

how do i get different mods to work on the 2 servers...

for example, have 1 mod on 1 server but not the other and vice versa..

cheers chris
terminator2k2 is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 04-25-2011 , 03:23   Re: l4d2 servers
Reply With Quote #2

*TO CLARIFY, this instruction only tells setting Sourcemod to forked server.

http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Multiple_...28SourceMod%29

You install second Sourcemod to ...addons/ folder.

Either you copy/paste same folder
Code:
 ...addons/sourcemod/
so it create new one
Code:
...addons/sourcemod/
...addons/sourcemod - Copy/
and rename it what ever you want example:
Code:
...addons/sourcemod/
...addons/sourcemod2/
or grab new Sourcemod from zipped pack, rename, add in ...addons/.




After you have installed SM, add in that second server launch parameter
Code:
+sm_basepath addons/sourcemod2
Now when you launch your second server, it start first with your default ...addons/sourcemod/, but not load plugins yet.
Then cvar sm_basepath tell server use that another Souremod path ...addons/sourcemod2/


Now you have two server with own SM configs and plugins.
But both servers still use same:
- servercfgfile "server.cfg"
- ...cfg/sourcemod/sourcemod.cfg and plugins what have own config file


Add in second server launch parameter
Code:
+servercfgfile server2.cfg
And create that config file ...cfg/server2.cfg
Now both servers have own config file what read every map change.

If both servers have same plugin but you want different settings.
Edit plugin own config file ...cfg/sourcemod/plugin.cfg
//Comment that cvar what you want change
Code:
//sm_plugin_cvar_enable "1"
Add same cvar in both server config file (server.cfg and server2.cfg) with cvar settings what you want.


(Not need do this) Change servers mapcycle file:
Add in second server launch parameter
Code:
+mapcyclefile mapcycle2.txt
And create file included maps ...mod/mapcycle2.txt

or add mapcyclefile "mapcycle2.txt" in ...cfg/server2.cfg

Last edited by Bacardi; 04-25-2011 at 03:28.
Bacardi is offline
terminator2k2
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Old 04-25-2011 , 12:53   Re: l4d2 servers
Reply With Quote #3

thank you, much appreciated........ill give this a go , seems easier than i thought......

chris
terminator2k2 is offline
moxie2020
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Old 07-27-2012 , 11:59   Re: l4d2 servers
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacardi View Post
*TO CLARIFY, this instruction only tells setting Sourcemod to forked server.

http://wiki.alliedmods.net/Multiple_...28SourceMod%29

You install second Sourcemod to ...addons/ folder.

Either you copy/paste same folder
Code:
 ...addons/sourcemod/
so it create new one
Code:
...addons/sourcemod/
...addons/sourcemod - Copy/
and rename it what ever you want example:
Code:
...addons/sourcemod/
...addons/sourcemod2/
or grab new Sourcemod from zipped pack, rename, add in ...addons/.




After you have installed SM, add in that second server launch parameter
Code:
+sm_basepath addons/sourcemod2
Now when you launch your second server, it start first with your default ...addons/sourcemod/, but not load plugins yet.
Then cvar sm_basepath tell server use that another Souremod path ...addons/sourcemod2/


Now you have two server with own SM configs and plugins.
But both servers still use same:
- servercfgfile "server.cfg"
- ...cfg/sourcemod/sourcemod.cfg and plugins what have own config file


Add in second server launch parameter
Code:
+servercfgfile server2.cfg
And create that config file ...cfg/server2.cfg
Now both servers have own config file what read every map change.

If both servers have same plugin but you want different settings.
Edit plugin own config file ...cfg/sourcemod/plugin.cfg
//Comment that cvar what you want change
Code:
//sm_plugin_cvar_enable "1"
Add same cvar in both server config file (server.cfg and server2.cfg) with cvar settings what you want.


(Not need do this) Change servers mapcycle file:
Add in second server launch parameter
Code:
+mapcyclefile mapcycle2.txt
And create file included maps ...mod/mapcycle2.txt

or add mapcyclefile "mapcycle2.txt" in ...cfg/server2.cfg
Heh, You would think this would be the hard part but I had no problem with this. I am having problems setting the gamemode and getting servers to setup lobbies.

I want to setup Versus only servers that are launched from lobbies and I cannot get it to work.

Is there a good guide for this?
moxie2020 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:11.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode