Raised This Month: $535 Target: $400
 133% 

Solved [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Morning
Member
Join Date: May 2021
Old 11-27-2022 , 18:59   [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?
Reply With Quote #1

Hi!

I'm trying to loop through active players in turn in order to determine whos turn it is next, but I'm having a bit of a logic block. I could be trying to do something really stupid here, can anyone help me out?

Code:
int nextplayer = 1;
bool lastplayer = false;

void GetNextPlayer()
{
bool nextplayerset = false;
if(lastplayer)
	{
	nextplayer = 1;
	}
for(int i = 1; i <= MaxClients; i++)
	{
	if(i > 0 && i <= MaxClients && IsClientInGame(i) && GetClientTeam(i) == 2 && IsPlayerAlive(i) && !IsFakeClient(i) && !nextplayerset)
		{
		nextplayer = i;
		nextplayerset = true;
		}
	if(i > 0 && i <= MaxClients && IsClientInGame(i) && GetClientTeam(i) == 2 && IsPlayerAlive(i) && !IsFakeClient(i) && nextplayerset)
		{
		lastplayer = false;
		}
	else
		{
		lastplayer = true;
		}
	}
}

void GiveSomethingToPlayer()
{
	GetNextPlayer();
	GiveToPlayer(nextplayer);
}

Last edited by Morning; 11-28-2022 at 08:57.
Morning is offline
Morning
Member
Join Date: May 2021
Old 11-27-2022 , 20:03   Re: [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?
Reply With Quote #2

Hmm, am I forgetting to break out of the loop? I shut down my server already so I cant test until tomorrow.

Code:
	if(i > 0 && i <= MaxClients && IsClientInGame(i) && GetClientTeam(i) == 2 && IsPlayerAlive(i) && !IsFakeClient(i) && nextplayerset)
		{
		lastplayer = false;
		break;
		}
Morning is offline
alasfourom
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Saudi Arabia
Old 11-27-2022 , 22:50   Re: [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?
Reply With Quote #3

May I know what are you exactly trying to do?

Can you provide me with more details I maybe able to help, give the whole picture if possible
__________________

Last edited by alasfourom; 11-27-2022 at 22:57.
alasfourom is offline
Morning
Member
Join Date: May 2021
Old 11-28-2022 , 03:44   Re: [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?
Reply With Quote #4

Sorry for the poor explanation! I am trying to target players by client in order to give a special weapon for X seconds.

Alice, Bob, Charlie and Dave are playing in a server on team 2 against bots. I want a function which can help me find out whos turn it is to have the weapon. In no particular order, I want to give everybody the weapon. If they are dead, ignore them and give it to the next player. Once everybody has had it (except anyone who was dead when it was their turn), give it back to the player who had it first, then continue. If a new player connects, include them in the scheme.

I want to be able to run the function whenever I want. Maybe I want charlie to have the weapon for two turns, so the nextplayer variable should be global.

Thankyou!

EDIT: Okay I think I got it. Well, it works in some early testing but if anyone knows how to improve the code that would be useful! Thanks

Code:
int nextclient;

OnMapStart()
{
nextclient = 0;
}

public void GetNextClient()
{
if(nextclient ==0)
{
nextclient = 1; // If its been run first time on the map, just grab first slot
}

for(int i = nextclient; i <= MaxClients; i++) // start the loop from where we left off - at the last set nextclient
	{
		if(IsClientInGame(i) && GetClientTeam(i) == 2 && IsPlayerAlive(i) && !IsFakeClient(i) && nextclient != i) // Exclude the last set nextclient from our loop
			{
			nextclient = i; // We found a client so set them, and exit function
			return;
			}
		else
			{
			// We got no one, so carry on with loop or continue
			}
	}
	
	// Exited resumed loop - either the last nextclient was the last client in the client array, or the last clients checked were unsuitable, so lets start again with a fresh loop
	
for(int i = 1; i <= MaxClients; i++)
	{
	if(IsClientInGame(i) && GetClientTeam(i) == 2 && IsPlayerAlive(i) && !IsFakeClient(i)) // We let the last nextclient participate in this loop
		{
		nextclient = i; // We found a client so set them, and exit function
		return;
		}
	else
		{
		// We got no one, so carry on with the resetted loop or continue
		}
	}
	// Okay so we found no-one suitable in the server so who cares
}

Last edited by Morning; 11-28-2022 at 08:56.
Morning is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 11-28-2022 , 18:55   Re: [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?
Reply With Quote #5

Here is my testings.

This one you can ignore, but I wanted to show anyway.
This look next index from previous one, loop back to start from 1, stop on old index. Similiar as yours.
not important


In this version, it can use either client index or client UserID
- This collect matching targets into array and sort array by ascending method. (0,1,2,3,4,5 ...)

But when using this one same function, use only same type, either client index or userid.
Not both or you can not get right result.
To able to use both, you need dublicate function and rename it.


For looking client index, from team 2 "terrorists":
int player = GetNextHumanPlayer(2);

PHP Code:

#include <cstrike>

public void OnPluginStart()
{
    
RegConsoleCmd("sm_test"test);
}

public 
Action test(int clientint args)
{

    
int player;

    
player GetNextHumanPlayer(.UseUserID true);
    
    
player GetClientOfUserId(player);
    
    if(
player)
        
PrintToServer("GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index %i (%N)"playerplayer);

    return 
Plugin_Handled;
}



int GetNextHumanPlayer(int team = -1bool UseUserID false)
{
    static 
int offset 0;

    
int[] targets = new int[MaxClients];
    
int count;

    for(
int i 1<= MaxClientsi++)
    {
        if(!
IsClientInGame(i) || IsFakeClient(i))
            continue;
        
        if(
team != -&& GetClientTeam(i) != team)
            continue;

        
targets[count] = UseUserID GetClientUserId(i):i;
        
count++;
    }

    if(
count == 0)
        return -
1;

    
SortIntegers(targetscountSort_Ascending);


    for(
int x 0countx++)
    {
        if(
offset targets[x])
        {
            
offset targets[x];
            return 
offset;
        }
    }

    
offset targets[0];

    return 
offset == ? -1:offset;






Here is demonstration with bots, using UserID without team index:
player = GetNextHumanPlayer(.UseUserID = true);

Code:
# userid name                uniqueid            connected ping loss state  adr
#     24 "Dean"              BOT                                     active
#     25 "Eric"              BOT                                     active
#     26 "Dustin"            BOT                                     active
#     17 "Tim"               BOT                                     active
#     20 "Colin"             BOT                                     active
#     21 "Nate"              BOT                                     active
#     22 "Grant"             BOT                                     active
#     23 "Paul"              BOT                                     active
#     27 "Alfred"            BOT                                     active
#     28 "Xander"            BOT                                     active
#     29 "Greg"              BOT                                     active
#     30 "Perry"             BOT                                     active
#     31 "Xavier"            BOT                                     active
#     32 "'Bacardi"          [U:1:28327177]      23:49       34    0 active 192.168.1.2:27006


sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 1 (Dean)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 2 (Eric)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 3 (Dustin)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 4 (Tim)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 5 (Colin)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 6 (Nate)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 7 (Grant)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 8 (Paul)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 9 (Alfred)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 10 (Xander)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 11 (Greg)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 12 (Perry)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 13 (Xavier)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 14 ('Bacardi)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 1 (Dean)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 2 (Eric)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer index 3 (Dustin)
sm plugins reload new
[SM] Plugin new.smx reloaded successfully.
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 4 (Tim)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 5 (Colin)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 6 (Nate)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 7 (Grant)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 8 (Paul)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 1 (Dean)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 2 (Eric)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 3 (Dustin)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 9 (Alfred)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 10 (Xander)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 11 (Greg)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 12 (Perry)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 13 (Xavier)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 14 ('Bacardi)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 4 (Tim)
sm_test
GetNextHumanPlayer(UseUserID) index 5 (Colin)

look, edit, test it.
__________________
Do not Private Message @me
Bacardi is offline
Morning
Member
Join Date: May 2021
Old 11-28-2022 , 19:58   Re: [ANY]How can I loop through active players in turn?
Reply With Quote #6

Thanks for sharing this Bacardi!
Morning is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:47.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode