8% 

Downtime Alert, New Forums Coming

Post New Thread Closed Thread   

Freecode
Never Fall Asleep
Old 06-14-2006 , 15:29   Downtime Alert, New Forums Coming

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAILOPAN
As I've hinted, and often outright said, we have outgrown our phpBB2 installation. In order to make it easier for us to deal with upgrades, customizations, optimizations, and manage accounts/projects, we're moving to vBulletin's forum software.

This is a large process that Freecode and I have been working with on and off for many months now. As part of this migration, we are combining the forums from AMX Mod X, SourceMod, and SuperHero Mod into one big installation.

We have done our best to make this seem seamless - down to even porting the phpBB2 subSilver theme and our plugin system to vBulletin. However, the start will likely be a bit rocky. The major problem is that some users have different accounts on all three forums. There is an easy fix for this, though! And I will say it in very large letters, so everyone see it:

Your e-mail addresses between AMX Mod X, SuperHero, and the SourceMod forums must match for your accounts to "combine" properly. If you have accounts on more than one of these sites, make sure your e-mail addresses match, do not just assume that they do!

With that said, we'll be unrolling this in two phases over this week. The first phase starts at Wednesday night (June 14th) around MIDNIGHT EST. There will be total downtime - the forums, CVS, and all sites hosted on DarkPeer.tcwonline.org will be totally unreachable. This includes AMX Mod X, WC3Mods, SourceMod, and SuperHero. This downtime will hopefully only last at most six hours, but expect an entire day for worse case scenario.

After that, we plan to install the new forum software from June 19-20th (Mon-Tues of next week). AMX Mod X, SourceMod, and SuperHero forums will remain up in "read-only mode" before the new forums go live, so hopefully there will be no downtime.