Raised This Month: $149 Target: $400
 37% 

how can i create a domain IP for servers??


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
rx1983
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: BRASIL
Old 04-22-2016 , 10:00   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by joropito View Post
You're wrong. Don't confuse people.

On HL you can use hostnames or ip address to connect to. Also can be used in favourites.
cs not record name, only ip fixed, in brasil ip dinamic noip, when the IP changes and the name remains the same is not possible to connect ... it's useless
__________________
rx1983 is offline
Send a message via MSN to rx1983
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 04-22-2016 , 10:01   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by joropito View Post
Also can be used in favourites.
Unless they changed it recently, the favorites list uses IP only. The only exception that I'm aware of is CS:GO which uses the server registration to keep track of the server.
__________________
fysiks is offline
joropito
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pfnAddToFullPack
Old 04-22-2016 , 12:25   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
Unless they changed it recently, the favorites list uses IP only. The only exception that I'm aware of is CS:GO which uses the server registration to keep track of the server.
When you "save" as favourite, yes.

I don't remember well but I guess if you edit manually the file, you can put there names.
__________________

Divide et vinces
approved plugins | steam account

I don't accept PM for support. Just ask on forums.
If you're looking for private work, PM me.
joropito is offline
Send a message via MSN to joropito
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 04-23-2016 , 01:36   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by joropito View Post
When you "save" as favourite, yes.

I don't remember well but I guess if you edit manually the file, you can put there names.
The last time that I explored the file that stores favorites, I noticed that they seemed to obfuscate the IP (not beyond recognition but obfuscated nonetheless).
__________________
fysiks is offline
Carbonzxc
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Old 04-24-2016 , 03:44   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #15

sv.yourdomain.com:27015 (port whatever.) ?

Last edited by Carbonzxc; 04-24-2016 at 03:56.
Carbonzxc is offline
JerryJerryAdios
Member
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: the universe
Old 04-24-2016 , 08:31   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #16

ohhhhhhhhhh i get it! i get it! thank you guys!!! thank you so much!
__________________
This is a Super Awesome Asking Guy! Don't mind alright? Just be cool!

Last edited by JerryJerryAdios; 04-24-2016 at 08:52.
JerryJerryAdios is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to JerryJerryAdios
Chillblaze
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Old 05-04-2016 , 08:40   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #17

I tried to do this recently and had someone set it up for me.
This thread looks confusing for newbies such as me

You can connect using domain or sub-domain.

You need to set this redirection in the dns A records (record type A) - with dns manager (advanced zone editor) if you have cpanel with your hosting.

Set the IP without port. Wait between 1/24 hours for dns to mitigate.
Then you can type in console connect with domain.com:27015 or sub.domain:27015 (whatever your port is)

I may got this wrong but to work with top domain you need to type @ in name host name.

Here is a screenshot using with top domain:


This one is using sub-domain:


p.s Somebody told me that it is also possible to connect with domain only without port (which will be even shorter) if the default port is 27015 .
But somewhere in the forums was mentioned that cs won`t connect without port.

Last edited by Chillblaze; 05-04-2016 at 08:52.
Chillblaze is offline
joropito
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pfnAddToFullPack
Old 05-04-2016 , 10:32   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #18

Add these records:

cs.domain.com IN A x.x.x.x
domain.com IN A x.x.x.x // I guess you use @ as name in your panel

Your panel should allow you to set A record on a domain.
__________________

Divide et vinces
approved plugins | steam account

I don't accept PM for support. Just ask on forums.
If you're looking for private work, PM me.
joropito is offline
Send a message via MSN to joropito
Gabe Iggy
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chile
Old 05-04-2016 , 11:21   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillblaze View Post
p.s Somebody told me that it is also possible to connect with domain only without port (which will be even shorter) if the default port is 27015 .
But somewhere in the forums was mentioned that cs won`t connect without port.
Default port is 27015, so the game will automatically use that port if none is specified. This also means the connection will fail if no server is hosted on the port 27015, even if there are servers on other ports.
__________________
Gabe Iggy is offline
bikkser
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Netherlands, Almere
Old 11-28-2020 , 12:08   Re: how can i create a domain IP for servers??
Reply With Quote #20

Then what would the record be if I got two servers with a different port?

Below you’ll find my address and the domain that I want to assign
- 88.208.52.26:27015 - s1.gr8.gg
- 88.208.52.26:27017 - s2.gr8.gg
bikkser is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 13:35.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode