Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

Solved About ping increasing (L4D2)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
pan0s
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Old 05-15-2021 , 03:34   About ping increasing (L4D2)
Reply With Quote #1

Update: 19 May 2021
- Problem solved. Thanks Chocolate Cat very much for providing a lot of help!!
here is the solution provided by him, refer it if you have the same problem

PHP Code:
// [Networking, Rates]
// - Rates forced to 100 on Clients, for 100 Tick.
// - When using a different Tickrate, modify settings accordingly:
// 1. Change 100000 to (Tickrate * 1000) for Rate and Splitpacket.
// 2. Change 100 to (Tickrate) for Cmd and Update Rates.
// ----------------------------------------------------------------------- 
sm_scvar sv_extra_client_connect_time 0.0001 //fixes level change crash due to unsigned short not big enough
sm_cvar sv_client_cmdrate_difference 51
sm_cvar sv_mincmdrate 51
sm_cvar sv_maxcmdrate 51
sm_cvar sv_minupdaterate 51
sm_cvar sv_maxupdaterate 51 
sm_cvar sv_minrate 1024000 
//who cares don't matter
sm_cvar sv_maxrate 1024000 //who cares don't matter
sm_cvar net_maxcleartime 0.000001 //my placebo go away
sm_cvar net_splitrate 2
sm_cvar net_splitpacket_maxrate 51000
sm_cvar net_compresspackets 1
sm_cvar net_compresspackets_minsize 1200
sm_cvar nb_update_frequency 0.1 
sm_cvar fps_max 0                             
// Forces the maximum amount of FPS the CPU has available for the Server. 
My problem is that, when mob generated, all player's ping will increase.
The number of increasing ping depends on how many common infected generated.
Since my server supports up to 12 players, the common infected will accord the number of players to increase too.
If there are 8 players, and mob gen, my ping will increase from 5 to 100... added 95 ping for all players...

Please help for solving the problem.
Thanks a lot

I have installed L4D/L4D2 Tickrate Enabler for my server.

Server info.
Server: Google Cloud VPC
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.2 LTS
CPU: 2 CPUs
RAM: 4 GB
Storage: 50GB
Network: 1000Mbps+ per second for Upload/Download
Game: Left 4 Dead 2
Sourcemod version: "sourcemod_version" = "1.10.0.6502"
Max players: 12
Game mode: Coop

Server.cfg
PHP Code:
sv_region 4
hostport 27015
sv_lan 0
sv_allow_lobby_connect_only 0

motd_enabled 1
mp_gamemode coop

sv_visiblemaxplayers 12
sv_maxplayers 12
sv_force_unreserved 1

sv_consistency 0

sm_cvar net_splitpacket_maxrate 192000
sm_cvar net_splitrate 2 
sm_cvar net_maxcleartime 0.00001
sm_cvar net_queued_packet_thread 1

sm_cvar sv_maxrate 300000
sm_cvar sv_maxupdaterate 100 
sm_cvar sv_maxcmdrate 100 
sm_cvar fps_max 150 

exec banned_user
.cfg 
Run server command:
Code:
screen ./srcds_run -game left4dead2 +exec server.cfg -tickrate 100

Last edited by pan0s; 05-18-2021 at 23:05.
pan0s is offline
notyouraverage
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2021
Old 05-15-2021 , 14:24   Re: About ping increasing (L4D2)
Reply With Quote #2

your cpu is not strong enough.

decrease the tickrate and/or slots - or upgrade to a better cpu.

also: a screenshots of that happening would be preferable while netgraph "5" in your console is enabled.

Last edited by notyouraverage; 05-15-2021 at 14:24.
notyouraverage is offline
Spirit_12
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toronto, CA
Old 05-15-2021 , 15:52   Re: About ping increasing (L4D2)
Reply With Quote #3

You are hitting the engine limitation. The engine will only use single core and like "notyouraverage" pointed out above. The cpu is not strong enough.

Also your rates are all over the place.

Remove (leave it at default)
Code:
net_maxcleartime
Change
Code:
net_splitpacket_maxrate 50000
sv_maxrate 100000
__________________
Spirit_12 is offline
pan0s
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Old 05-16-2021 , 07:01   Re: About ping increasing (L4D2)
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by notyouraverage View Post
your cpu is not strong enough.

decrease the tickrate and/or slots - or upgrade to a better cpu.

also: a screenshots of that happening would be preferable while netgraph "5" in your console is enabled.
Thanks. The server have been updated to 4 CPUs and 4GB RAM, and I will take a screenshots with net_graph 5 if there is also a same problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit_12 View Post
You are hitting the engine limitation. The engine will only use single core and like "notyouraverage" pointed out above. The cpu is not strong enough.

Also your rates are all over the place.

Remove (leave it at default)
Code:
net_maxcleartime
Change
Code:
net_splitpacket_maxrate 50000
sv_maxrate 100000
Thanks. I will try.
pan0s is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode