Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

FF2 Weapons show on bosses


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Shiny Magikarp
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Old 02-24-2013 , 15:52   Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #1

Hello, I am wondering why the weapons on my bosses are showing randomly on their bodies. Here is an example of one of the weapons

"weapon1"
{
"name" "tf_weapon_wrench"
"index" "7"
"show" "0"
}
Even though "show" is set to "0", it still shows up.
Shiny Magikarp is offline
RavensBro
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wisonsin USA
Old 02-25-2013 , 00:49   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #2

o good it is not just me lol yah it started doing this after one of the last 2 updates.
RavensBro is offline
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 02-25-2013 , 01:48   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #3

One of the recent updates broke m_iWorldModelIndex on weapons, and consequently, this:
PHP Code:
if (!KvGetNum(BossKV[Special[index]], "show",0))
                
SetEntProp(BossWeaponProp_Send"m_iWorldModelIndex", -1); 
...Which in my opinion is a pretty awful way to hide a weapon.
For anyone who needs this and is willing to recompile, you can change that to:
PHP Code:
if (!KvGetNum(BossKV[Special[index]], "show",0))
                
SetEntPropFloat(BossWeaponProp_Send"m_flModelScale"0.0); 
Although, it won't work on weapons with more than one bone (most non-melee weapons). Apparently, there is no better way to hide it than m_iWorldModelIndex. Well, damn.

CTRL+F for "show", or goto line 1761, it should be there. My FF2's a tad outdated.
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)

Last edited by MasterOfTheXP; 02-25-2013 at 02:00. Reason: Vaaaaalve. Hopefully they fix it and don't break stringtables again in the process.
MasterOfTheXP is offline
RavensBro
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wisonsin USA
Old 02-25-2013 , 04:09   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #4

thank you
RavensBro is offline
VoiDeD
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Old 02-25-2013 , 12:20   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterOfTheXP View Post
Apparently, there is no better way to hide it than m_iWorldModelIndex. Well, damn.
SetEntityRenderColor
__________________
VoiDeD is offline
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 02-25-2013 , 14:40   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by VoiDeD View Post
SetEntityRenderColor
There's that, but it also makes the viewmodel invisible for most weapons.
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)
MasterOfTheXP is offline
BBG_Theory
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NC USA
Old 03-04-2013 , 18:58   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterOfTheXP View Post
One of the recent updates broke m_iWorldModelIndex on weapons, and consequently, this:
PHP Code:
if (!KvGetNum(BossKV[Special[index]], "show",0))
                
SetEntProp(BossWeaponProp_Send"m_iWorldModelIndex", -1); 
...Which in my opinion is a pretty awful way to hide a weapon.
For anyone who needs this and is willing to recompile, you can change that to:
PHP Code:
if (!KvGetNum(BossKV[Special[index]], "show",0))
                
SetEntPropFloat(BossWeaponProp_Send"m_flModelScale"0.0); 
Although, it won't work on weapons with more than one bone (most non-melee weapons). Apparently, there is no better way to hide it than m_iWorldModelIndex. Well, damn.

CTRL+F for "show", or goto line 1761, it should be there. My FF2's a tad outdated.
So you are basically shrinking it to size = zero
Is this a temp bug that Valve will fix ya think? Or is this a deliberate change at Valve's end such that this is our best and only solution?

Last edited by BBG_Theory; 03-04-2013 at 19:08.
BBG_Theory is offline
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 03-04-2013 , 22:54   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #8

Forgot about this thread.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBG_Theory View Post
So you are basically shrinking it to size = zero
Yerp. And considering that most bosses pretty much always use a melee weapon, it should be fine...but for things like the Huntsman, and jiggleboned melee weapons, it won't work.

If it's not working, there's another method you can try. FlaminSarge showed me this method, which is gonna be used for the m_iWorldModelIndex replacement in Give Weapon:
PHP Code:
if (!KvGetNum(BossKV[Special[index]], "show",0))
{
                
SetEntProp(BossWeaponProp_Send"m_nModelIndexOverrides", -1);
//              SetEntProp(BossWeapon, Prop_Send, "m_nModelIndexOverrides", -1, _, 1);
//              SetEntProp(BossWeapon, Prop_Send, "m_nModelIndexOverrides", -1, _, 2);

The model index overrides set what model is seen in the respective "visions": normal, Pyrovision, Halloween-o-vision (currently unused). I haven't tested -1, but it should work to make the model invisible. In case it doesn't (or the model's still visible in Pyroland), try uncommenting the other two lines.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBG_Theory View Post
Is this a temp bug that Valve will fix ya think? Or is this a deliberate change at Valve's end such that this is our best and only solution?
Dunno. Although if the whole mess with stringtables was any indication, they won't even acknowledge this for a good 7 months.
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)
MasterOfTheXP is offline
RavensBro
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wisonsin USA
Old 03-05-2013 , 18:35   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #9

ok master I put that in and it seems to be working real nice. but the only thing I do see now is hmm delay in the arm swing of the boss do you under stand what I am saying? as in I swing the weapon I keep it swinging but his arm don't move all the time you can hear the arm well weapon being used but his arm is still. and I didn't see that befor till I did this. what you said to try.
RavensBro is offline
SmackDaddy
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Old 03-05-2013 , 19:55   Re: Weapons show on bosses
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterOfTheXP View Post
Forgot about this thread.

Yerp. And considering that most bosses pretty much always use a melee weapon, it should be fine...but for things like the Huntsman, and jiggleboned melee weapons, it won't work.

If it's not working, there's another method you can try. FlaminSarge showed me this method, which is gonna be used for the m_iWorldModelIndex replacement in Give Weapon:
PHP Code:
if (!KvGetNum(BossKV[Special[index]], "show",0))
{
                
SetEntProp(BossWeaponProp_Send"m_nModelIndexOverrides", -1);
//              SetEntProp(BossWeapon, Prop_Send, "m_nModelIndexOverrides", -1, _, 1);
//              SetEntProp(BossWeapon, Prop_Send, "m_nModelIndexOverrides", -1, _, 2);

The model index overrides set what model is seen in the respective "visions": normal, Pyrovision, Halloween-o-vision (currently unused). I haven't tested -1, but it should work to make the model invisible. In case it doesn't (or the model's still visible in Pyroland), try uncommenting the other two lines.
Dunno. Although if the whole mess with stringtables was any indication, they won't even acknowledge this for a good 7 months.
Where do we make this change?
SmackDaddy is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode