Raised This Month: $28 Target: $400
 7% 

Solved (TF2) Quake Sounds Not Working


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
draco123465
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Old 05-05-2020 , 11:20   (TF2) Quake Sounds Not Working
Reply With Quote #1

Hello,
I have tried various plugins to get the Quake Sounds to work for my TF2 server.
I have used this and this plugin to try and achieve this.
The text announcements work perfectly for both plugins, but the sound does not play at all.
The console log prints this whenever a sound is supposed to play:
Code:
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
*** Invalid sample rate (0) for sound 'quake\female\prepare.mp3'
I tried @Bacardi's solution but I do not think I did it correctly.
The server is hosted by NFO, and they provide a FastDL service that downloads the files correctly.
I can provide any additional information upon request.
Thank you.

Last edited by draco123465; 05-05-2020 at 15:12.
draco123465 is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: mom's basement
Old 05-05-2020 , 15:03   Re: (TF2) Quake Sounds Not Working
Reply With Quote #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by draco123465 View Post
Hello,
I have tried various plugins to get the Quake Sounds to work for my TF2 server.
I have used this and this plugin to try and achieve this.
The text announcements work perfectly for both plugins, but the sound does not play at all.
The console log prints this whenever a sound is supposed to play:
Code:
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
MP3 initialized with no sound cache, this may cause janking. [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
Failed to create decoder for MP3 [ quake\female\prepare.mp3 ]
*** Invalid sample rate (0) for sound 'quake\female\prepare.mp3'
I tried @Bacardi's solution but I do not think I did it correctly.
The server is hosted by NFO, and they provide a FastDL service that downloads the files correctly.
I can provide any additional information upon request.
Thank you.
I say, your MP3 files are corrupted.
Have you bzip2 them in your "fast download" ??
__________________
Do not Private Message @me
Bacardi is offline
draco123465
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Old 05-05-2020 , 15:10   Re: (TF2) Quake Sounds Not Working
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacardi View Post
I say, your MP3 files are corrupted.
Have you bzip2 them in your "fast download" ??
My apologies, I should have updated this when I resolved it myself.
I got assistance from someone on the Steam TF2 forums, and I figured out that I had set up the FastDL incorrectly in the first place.
I did not put the sound files in the correct folder to begin with.
I ended up putting them in the custom folder in the main tf/ directory. The correct path should be /tf/custom/<random folder name>/sound.
I initially wrote this post under the assumption that my FastDL was working as intended and that it was the plugin that was at fault.
Thank you.
draco123465 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode