Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[TF2] Stop that Tank!


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Benoist3012
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CWave::ForceFinish()
Old 08-17-2015 , 08:48   Re: Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by King Cnut View Post
Judging from their steam group thread, they are working on a fix.
Someone asked on steam, you need to turn off a cvar.
__________________

Last edited by Benoist3012; 08-17-2015 at 08:49.
Benoist3012 is offline
King Cnut
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Old 08-17-2015 , 10:04   Re: Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #12

Not sure if this is expected behavior or not: I'm trying this plugin now on borneo and when I killed the tank it spawned some sort of bomb that just floats and does nothing?



I've not messed with any CVARS or anything up to this point. Just installed all that's required and started the server.
__________________
*tips fedora, unsheaths katana, teleports behind u, nods respectfully*
King Cnut is offline
pheadxdll
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Old 08-17-2015 , 10:37   Re: Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #13

For bots to work you have two choices:
  • Set the cvar tank_nav_mesh to 0.
  • or search in gamedata/tank.txt for "Patch_DisableNavMesh", rename it to "Patch_DisableNavMesh_DISABLED"
But you are at risk of crashing due to multiple bugs in Valve's code. The culprit we think is CTFTankBoss and not directly related to this mod.

King Cnut, that is expected behavior if there is no one on the BLU team to become the giant. The bomb will sit there until time runs out. If someone spawns on BLU, they will become a giant and spawn on the bomb. If around 25 seconds passes and there's no giant available, anyone on BLU can pick up the bomb. Robots have to pick up the bomb, capture the checkpoints, and deploy before time runs out.
__________________

Last edited by pheadxdll; 08-17-2015 at 16:19.
pheadxdll is offline
King Cnut
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Old 08-17-2015 , 10:40   Re: Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #14

Quote:
Originally Posted by pheadxdll View Post
For bots to work you have two choices:
  • Set the cvar tank_nav_mesh to 0.
  • Search in gamedata/tank.txt for "Patch_DisableNavMesh", rename it to "Patch_DisableNavMesh_DISABLED"
But you are at risk of crashing due to multiple bugs in Valve's code. The culprit we think is CTFTankBoss and not specific to this mod.

King Cnut, that is expected behavior if there is no one on the BLU team to become the giant. The bomb will sit there until time runs out. If someone spawns on BLU, they will become a giant and spawn on the bomb. If around 25 seconds passes and there's no giant available, anyone on BLU can pick up the bomb.
Thanks pheadxdll I wasn't sure and found it odd but your explanation makes perfect sense.
__________________
*tips fedora, unsheaths katana, teleports behind u, nods respectfully*
King Cnut is offline
Potato Uno
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Old 08-17-2015 , 11:31   Re: Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #15

Thread request: Add the [TF2] tag behind the title:

Code:
[TF2] Stop That Tank!
Also can we get someone to move this to the approved section seeing how it has been in existence for a looooong time? lol

Last edited by Potato Uno; 08-17-2015 at 12:27.
Potato Uno is offline
Benoist3012
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CWave::ForceFinish()
Old 08-17-2015 , 12:18   Re: Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #16

After many test with STT, I saw in payload, if we use sm_makegiant as red, and we aren't in a good place for a giant we are teleported at the origin of the map, that isn't better :\.

So I thinked why not spawn the giant on a red control point?
__________________
Benoist3012 is offline
pheadxdll
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Old 08-17-2015 , 12:26   Re: [TF2] Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #17

Potato: Sure why not.

In payload, there isn't supposed to be any RED giants, hence the unexpected behavior. I will add some code in the next version to fallback on the goal path node of the BLU team. On most maps, that should spawn the giant in a decent location.
__________________

Last edited by pheadxdll; 08-17-2015 at 12:27.
pheadxdll is offline
Benoist3012
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CWave::ForceFinish()
Old 08-17-2015 , 13:47   Re: [TF2] Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by pheadxdll View Post
In payload, there isn't supposed to be any RED giants, hence the unexpected behavior. I will add some code in the next version to fallback on the goal path node of the BLU team. On most maps, that should spawn the giant in a decent location.
Some servers did "Giants rounds", each team was full of giant, for play a payload round, and the server played on pl_upward (that is the worst map for that command), and so half of the red team was teleported at origin and die.

So that why maybe I suggest to teleport them to a control point owned by red, or even teleport then on the caller of the command if he is in a right place for spawn giant.
__________________

Last edited by Benoist3012; 11-22-2017 at 04:03.
Benoist3012 is offline
Benoist3012
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CWave::ForceFinish()
Old 08-17-2015 , 15:24   Re: [TF2] Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #19

Ah yes I suggest you to add that when a buster spawn:
PHP Code:
                    SetVariantString("randomnum:100");
                    
AcceptEntityInput(i"AddContext");
        
                    
SetVariantString("IsMvMDefender:1");
                    
AcceptEntityInput(i"AddContext");
                    
SetVariantString("TLK_MVM_SENTRY_BUSTER");
                    
AcceptEntityInput(i"SpeakResponseConcept");
                    
AcceptEntityInput(i"ClearContext"); 
I used it in MvT I think it can be funny to use in Stop That Tank too?
__________________

Last edited by Benoist3012; 08-17-2015 at 15:25.
Benoist3012 is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 08-17-2015 , 15:56   Re: [TF2] Stop that Tank!
Reply With Quote #20

More information on how SpeakResponseContext works can be found here. You can find the concepts and such in my tf2-data repository.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode