Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

[TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.3)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mecha the Slag
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denmark
Old 12-12-2010 , 06:10   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.2)
Reply With Quote #41

Quote:
Originally Posted by [AAA] Thrawn View Post
this also lights up in some situations in which it shouldnt, e.g. when standing directly in front of a wall -> no flames, but light.
awesome plugin nonetheless.
Yeah. There's really no safe way to do it, unless I hook TF2_CalcIsAttackCritical, which I suppose is entirely possible with a timer and such. I'll look into it in the future.

also 1.2 is out, fixed a bug with light in water.
__________________
Mecha the Slag is offline
wasder
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That country
Old 12-12-2010 , 06:26   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #42

Also it lights when you are scared and press fire.
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_fHBJCIxSwOQ/TQ...ve_b2a0037.jpg
wasder is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to wasder
FoxMulder
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Old 12-12-2010 , 07:14   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #43

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonardo View Post
also, I've never seen EntRefToEntIndex() in other plugins.
That function looks like it came out January 2010 (this year) and if I knew about it I would be using it.
__________________
FoxMulder is offline
Thrawn2
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Old 12-12-2010 , 07:47   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #44

actually you could just hook the flamethrower entity
and watch this netprop: CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (offset 5156)

the higher the more flames the flamethrower generates aka the strength of the flames.
  • 0 --> no flames. (even when a player is attacking a wall)
  • 1-10 -> starting/stopping
  • 11-13 --> hold mouse1 for a second.
no need to check for INATTACK etc.

just to promote my dev plugin a bit more:
Code:
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 0 to 8
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 8 to 12
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 12 to 11
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 11 to 5
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 5 to 0
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 0 to 4
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 4 to 13
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 13 to 12
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 12 to 11
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 11 to 12
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 12 to 7
------------------------------
CTFFlameThrower->m_iActiveFlames (5156) changed from 7 to 0
oh, and is it possible to SetTransmit hook dynamic light entities? so players who dont want it can turn it off?
edit: just checked. yes, it is.

also: you could create the light entity with every spawn of a tf_weapon_flamethrower and destroy the light when the flamethrower entity gets destroyed. Then fire the TurnOff / TurnOn inputs when needed, which is much less overhead than creating and destroying the light.

feature requests in short
  • use m_iActiveFlames for brightness value and light on/off state
  • use a SetTransmit hook on each light_dynamic and give clients a "all lights", "no lights" and a "only my light" option (an optional usage of clientprefs would be superb)
  • use the TurnOff, TurnOn inputs for entity reuse + code saving
__________________
einmal mit profis arbeiten. einmal.

Last edited by Thrawn2; 12-12-2010 at 17:28.
Thrawn2 is offline
Mecha the Slag
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denmark
Old 12-12-2010 , 17:43   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #45

That's beautiful Thrawn, although the entire preference thing is a bit overkill imo. Yes it would be a nice feature, but it overcomplicates it.

I'll definitely hook that prop though, didn't know it existed!
__________________
Mecha the Slag is offline
FoxMulder
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Old 12-12-2010 , 17:44   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #46

Nice research Thrawn. I hope to see your suggestions implemented.
__________________
FoxMulder is offline
Skyrider
AMX Mod X Beta Tester
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Netherlands
Old 01-31-2011 , 10:59   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #47

I don't think this works on the DEV builds of sourcemod/metmaod.

MetaMod:Source v1.9.0-devV, SourceMod v1.4.0-dev

Reloaded the plugins multiple times and even restart the map once.. It doesn't seem to work.

And yes, I have the extension and the plugin loaded just fine:
Quote:
72 "[TF2] Ignite Light" (1.2) by Mecha the Slag
__________________
Skyrider is offline
Send a message via AIM to Skyrider Send a message via MSN to Skyrider Send a message via Yahoo to Skyrider
Drixevel
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Somewhere headbangin'
Old 01-31-2011 , 13:42   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #48

Same here, haven't bothered to get it working though since all the other plugins work on this thread. People on fire, fire arrows, and flares emit light but not the flamethrower.
Drixevel is offline
xomp
BANNED
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 02-05-2011 , 21:03   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #49

The Burning Bodies Light one posted by naris isn't working for me. On Linux. Every other plugin does work though.

Also, when a medic is healing it seems to glow as well. And also with dispernsers healing folks they are glowing too.

Last edited by xomp; 02-06-2011 at 19:11.
xomp is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to xomp
Polaris117
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: France
Old 02-07-2011 , 06:52   Re: [TF2] Pyro Flamethrower Light Emittion (1.1)
Reply With Quote #50

Your plugin has a real great success on my server, so it would be really pleasant if you could fix the some issues there are, like the flamethrower that lights on when facing a wall.

Thank you very much!
Polaris117 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:12.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode