Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

Hldsupdatetool problem....please help


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
samwonghc
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Old 02-11-2011 , 19:32   Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #1

Yesterday,I just install the hl2dm dedicated server with hldsupdatetool,I write a bat file which said
Quote:
HldsUpdateTool -command update -game "hl2mp" -dir "c:\hl2dm"
Then I run it,it shows
Quote:
Checking bootstrapper version ...
Updating Installation
And it just stopped with nothing happened
Then I started to tried more and more
Finally,It showed
Quote:
Checking bootstrapper version ...
Updating Installation
No installation record found at c:\hl2dm/orangebox
No installation record found at c:\hl2dm
but it is still stopped,but the folders was created.
PLEASE HELP ME........
and also someone told me that I needed to delete the Installrecord.blob file,but It is not work
This time it stuck at updating installation again

Last edited by samwonghc; 02-12-2011 at 09:49. Reason: type the wrong thing and add some P.S.
samwonghc is offline
Lob (UK
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Old 02-11-2011 , 20:08   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #2

Assuming your directory is C:\hl2dm try using this Bat

Code:
@echo off
echo Steam Update - Source Server
echo . 
echo By Your Name Here
echo .
echo .
echo Make sure the server is offline while steam updates
echo .
pause
c:
cd C:\hl2dm
hldsupdatetool -command update -game "hl2mp" -dir C:\hl2dm -verify_all
echo .
echo Now updated, just restart the Source Server.
echo .
pause
- Lob (UK)
Lob (UK is offline
samwonghc
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Old 02-11-2011 , 22:03   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lob (UK View Post
Assuming your directory is C:\hl2dm try using this Bat

Code:
@echo off
echo Steam Update - Source Server
echo . 
echo By Your Name Here
echo .
echo .
echo Make sure the server is offline while steam updates
echo .
pause
c:
cd C:\hl2dm
hldsupdatetool -command update -game "hl2mp" -dir C:\hl2dm -verify_all
echo .
echo Now updated, just restart the Source Server.
echo .
pause
- Lob (UK)
I'm still have a problem,and it being worse as sometime it just stuck at Updating Installation
samwonghc is offline
Meow Mix
Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 02-11-2011 , 22:15   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #4

I believe I ran into this problem a long time ago, and the problem was you didn't create the hl2dm folder. the c:\whatever has to exist prior to having hldsudpatetool writing anything to it.

I could be wrong so don't take my word for it.
Meow Mix is offline
samwonghc
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Old 02-12-2011 , 00:07   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meow Mix View Post
I believe I ran into this problem a long time ago, and the problem was you didn't create the hl2dm folder. the c:\whatever has to exist prior to having hldsudpatetool writing anything to it.

I could be wrong so don't take my word for it.
but I have created a hl2dm folder
samwonghc is offline
Lob (UK
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Old 02-12-2011 , 07:30   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by samwonghc View Post
I'm still have a problem,and it being worse as sometime it just stuck at Updating Installation
Start again.

1). Create your folder

2). Download and install the hldsupdatetool http://www.steampowered.com/download/hldsupdatetool.exe to your server folder.

3). Create the Bat file as described previously matching your Server Directory that contains the hldsupdatetool. Make sure your BAT file is indeed a BAT file and not a text file.

4). Run BAT

Note - it is normal to sometimes get messages such as No Installation Record Found etc. Be patient and dont be too hasty closing the window. Run the BAT a few times if necessary.

- Lob (UK)

Last edited by Lob (UK; 02-12-2011 at 08:03.
Lob (UK is offline
samwonghc
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Old 02-12-2011 , 08:56   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lob (UK View Post
Start again.

1). Create your folder

2). Download and install the hldsupdatetool http://www.steampowered.com/download/hldsupdatetool.exe to your server folder.

3). Create the Bat file as described previously matching your Server Directory that contains the hldsupdatetool. Make sure your BAT file is indeed a BAT file and not a text file.

4). Run BAT

Note - it is normal to sometimes get messages such as No Installation Record
Found etc. Be patient and dont be too hasty closing the window. Run the BAT a
few times if necessary.
- Lob (UK)
Yeah,I have followed the steps but it still stuck at Updating installation
samwonghc is offline
Rizla
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Old 02-12-2011 , 09:14   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #8

how long is it stuck for? what os you on?

on my first box it can take a while as it runs a few servers and even updating 2 at once increased the amount of time.

be warned - it can take a really long tiem sometimes.
Rizla is offline
samwonghc
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Old 02-12-2011 , 09:47   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizla View Post
how long is it stuck for? what os you on?

on my first box it can take a while as it runs a few servers and even updating 2 at once increased the amount of time.

be warned - it can take a really long tiem sometimes.
It takes about 4 hour sticking at updating installation,and I exit it as I cannot see anything happened there.I am using windows vista,I have tried to us admin to run it ,but it is still nothing happened
samwonghc is offline
Lob (UK
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Old 02-12-2011 , 09:58   Re: Hldsupdatetool problem....please help
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by samwonghc View Post
It takes about 4 hour sticking at updating installation,and I exit it as I cannot see anything happened there.I am using windows vista,I have tried to us admin to run it ,but it is still nothing happened
Hmm does sound like it might be getting cut out due to not being run as administrator etc. Privileges on vista can be a nuisance sometimes.

Double and Triple check you are defo running the cmd as Administrator.

Also, might be worth making a new Folder with a different name such as C:\srcds and then see if you can run the hldsupdatetool to install a different game type such as -game "Counter-Strike Source" or -game "tf"

Just to see if any of them are working for you etc to narrow it down.

- Lob (UK)
Lob (UK is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:42.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode