Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[Tutorial] Communicating data across plugins (or how to use natives in general)

Post New Thread Reply   

sdz
Old 05-27-2016 , 08:06   [Tutorial] Communicating data across plugins (or how to use natives in general)
Reply With Quote #1

Hi, I'm a bad sourcepawn programmer, and I made this because I'm tired of seeing this in plugins and not knowing what the hell I'm looking at!

Three W's:

1. When should I use this? - When your plugin looks like pasketti.

2. Why should I use this? - To organize stuff and consolidate your spaghetti into manageable partitions.

3. Where should I use this? - Anywhere you damn well please or intend to be communicating data across plugins, or exposing your functions to other people.

Ahem, so continuing on.

Well it says here on the wiki that "Natives" are and I quote:
"It is a powerful inter-plugin communication resource that can greatly enhance the functionality you provide."

So I assume we would want to start off with introducing you to some functions we'll be using:
  • CreateNative
    Code:
    native CreateNative(const String:name[], NativeCall:func);
  • ThrowNativeError
    Code:
    native ThrowNativeError(error, const String:fmt[], any:...);
  • SetNativeString
    Code:
    native SetNativeString(param, const String:source[], maxlength, bool:utf8=true, &bytes=0);
  • GetNativeCell
    Code:
    native any:GetNativeCell(param);

To begin we'll want to make our plugin (go figure?). In order to make our natives work, we'll need to use a forward that may be new to many of you: AskPluginLoad2
Code:
forward APLRes:AskPluginLoad2(Handle:myself, bool:late, String:error[], err_max);
It works just like any other forward except it actually returns something so it's not really a far stretch from the good old OnPluginLoad(). Here's how we might want begin to set stuff up.
PHP Code:
#include <sourcemod>