Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

What would happen if i debugged all plugins?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
wEight
BANNED
Join Date: Jan 2015
Old 03-24-2015 , 18:33   What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #1

First, i know there is an option (cvar) to do it instead of just writing debug in every line. I'm just curious, would it cause problems?
wEight is offline
wickedd
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Old 03-24-2015 , 18:42   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #2

Why would you want to do that?

P.S. It's recommended that you do not add debug after every plugin.
__________________
Just buy the fucking game!!!!
I hate No-Steamers and lazy ass people.

Last edited by wickedd; 03-24-2015 at 18:44.
wickedd is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 03-24-2015 , 19:33   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #3

There's a cvar to debug all plugins????? I don't think there is. Putting a plugin into debug mode has to happen prior to the plugin being loaded AFAIK.

Anyways, you should only use debug on plugins from which you are getting errors.
__________________

Last edited by fysiks; 03-24-2015 at 19:35.
fysiks is offline
Kia
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In a world of madness
Old 03-25-2015 , 12:47   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by wEight View Post
First, i know there is an option (cvar) to do it
Tell me more.
__________________
Kia is offline
wEight
BANNED
Join Date: Jan 2015
Old 03-25-2015 , 14:23   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #5

Code:
// Plugin Debug mode
// 0 - No debugging (garbage line numbers)
// 1 - Plugins with "debug" option in plugins.ini are put into debug mode
// 2 - All plugins are put in debug mode
// Note - debug mode will affect JIT performance
//
// Default value: 1
amx_debug 1
Not sure if cvar, it is located in amxx.cfg so that got me confused.

@wickedd I was just curious, not recommended is enough..so thanks
@fysiks, amx_debug....Idk i downloaded my dedicated server from the net..
And one time my server crashed console gave me an error of a plugin my server used for like more than 2 weeks and it didn't compile with any errors (If that has to do with anything). Then after 2 more weeks the console reported the same plugin (This time it was in debug mode) Does this have to do with another plugin or something else?

Last edited by wEight; 03-25-2015 at 14:27.
wEight is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 03-25-2015 , 18:47   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #6

Well, I feel kinda dumb lol. It must be in the core of AMX Mod X because I didn't see it in any plugin.

Putting a plugin in debug mode won't fix anything.

If a plugin compiles without errors, that doesn't mean it won't have run-time errors.
When you see an error from a plugin and it's not already in debug mode, you need to put it into debug mode and wait until the error happens again. When the error does happen again, you will get a more detailed output for that error in the error logs. When you get this, you need to post the whole error outputs in a new post in the plugin's own thread.
__________________
fysiks is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 03-25-2015 , 19:39   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildCard65 View Post
You do realize that AMXX can create cvars without the help of a plugin cause it has access to the hl code, it's also how it exposes that to plugins.
LOL. I'm not dumb. Hence why I said "it's probably in the core of AMX Mod X".
__________________
fysiks is offline
WildCard65
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Canada
Old 03-25-2015 , 19:45   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
LOL. I'm not dumb. Hence why I said "it's probably in the core of AMX Mod X".
Just making sure. I'm only human
__________________

Last edited by WildCard65; 03-25-2015 at 19:45.
WildCard65 is offline
wEight
BANNED
Join Date: Jan 2015
Old 03-26-2015 , 14:46   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
Well, I feel kinda dumb lol. It must be in the core of AMX Mod X because I didn't see it in any plugin.

Putting a plugin in debug mode won't fix anything.

If a plugin compiles without errors, that doesn't mean it won't have run-time errors.
When you see an error from a plugin and it's not already in debug mode, you need to put it into debug mode and wait until the error happens again. When the error does happen again, you will get a more detailed output for that error in the error logs. When you get this, you need to post the whole error outputs in a new post in the plugin's own thread.
Alright, so error logs... got it

And you mean it is hard-coded into amxmodx?
wEight is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 03-26-2015 , 20:34   Re: What would happen if i debugged all plugins?
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by wEight View Post
And you mean it is hard-coded into amxmodx?
It's irrelevant where the cvar is located. Simply do as I suggested.
__________________
fysiks is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode