Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

Question about sm_gravity


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Zetos Lapier
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 06-07-2012 , 18:41   Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #1

So I've been trying to change a single players gravity with

sm_gravity <player> <float amount>

Problem is, every time I do that it says checking gravity... 1.0
Set player gravity.

And then there's no change in the gravity whatsoever.

Is this broken? Is there a config I don't know about?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thankyou!
Zetos Lapier is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 06-07-2012 , 20:26   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #2

I find that the gravity check is usually wrong, but the actual internal value does change.

A point to note is that the <float amount> (as per your example) is actually a ratio based off the sv_gravity. So 0.5 would give half the server gravity. Sometimes I've seen admins try !gravity @me 800 and wonder why their gravity was so ridiculously high.
__________________
11530 is offline
Tylerst
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Old 06-07-2012 , 22:25   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11530 View Post
I find that the gravity check is usually wrong, but the actual internal value does change.

A point to note is that the <float amount> (as per your example) is actually a ratio based off the sv_gravity. So 0.5 would give half the server gravity. Sometimes I've seen admins try !gravity @me 800 and wonder why their gravity was so ridiculously high.
I've never seen the gravity check be wrong personally.

Keep in mind that the check is BEFORE the gravity change.

IE, if you have normal gravity and use sm_gravity @me 0.5 the Gravity Check will be 1.0

If you then do sm_gravity 1.0, the check will be 0.5.

I believe that's where most people get confused because they think it represents the changed gravity, when it actually reads your previous gravity.
Tylerst is offline
Zetos Lapier
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 06-07-2012 , 22:45   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #4

I tried to do the sm_gravity @me .1,

it didn't change my gravity at all.

I'm not talking about the check either, the multiplier applied to my entity was left untouched. Even when I changed again the past history for the check was completely 1.0
Zetos Lapier is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 06-08-2012 , 08:40   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #5

@Tylerst, I tried using !gravity @me .1 and got:
Code:
Gravity check 0.000000
[SM] set 11530's gravity.
Gravity definitely wasn't 0 before I changed it. Anyway Zetos, using .1 still works for me.
__________________
11530 is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 06-08-2012 , 10:54   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11530 View Post
I find that the gravity check is usually wrong, but the actual internal value does change.

A point to note is that the <float amount> (as per your example) is actually a ratio based off the sv_gravity. So 0.5 would give half the server gravity. Sometimes I've seen admins try !gravity @me 800 and wonder why their gravity was so ridiculously high.
That's odd, since sv_gravity uses something completely different, with 800 being "standard" gravity.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 06-08-2012 , 12:58   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
That's odd, since sv_gravity uses something completely different, with 800 being "standard" gravity.
There shouldn't be any confusion unless I wrote something wrong.

Given sv_gravity N, and individual sm_gravity <player> M the user's perceived gravity is NM, where M is 1.0 by default.
__________________

Last edited by 11530; 06-08-2012 at 13:00.
11530 is offline
Zetos Lapier
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 06-08-2012 , 14:28   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #8

>_> Yes I do realize how it is supposed to work, however it is not changing the individual (or any) gravity whastoever.

I can write

sm_gravity zetos 0.5
sm_gravity "zetos" 0.5
sm_gravity zetos "0.5"
sm_gravity "zetos" "0.5"

And it still will not change the gravity, the check is still returning one and the player does not have half the gravity of the server, he has the same gravity as the server.

I've tried many different floats and the same problem occurs.

Is there something special I need installed to get it to work?
Zetos Lapier is offline
11530
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Underworld
Old 06-08-2012 , 18:42   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetos Lapier View Post
>_> Yes I do realize how it is supposed to work, however it is not changing the individual (or any) gravity whastoever.
I wasn't really talking you you, I was confirming things with Powerlord. You can have your little emoticon back.

Anyway, sm_gravity, from funcommands, basically calls SetEntityGravity() - what SourceMod version are you running, and do you have anything in your SourceMod logs?
__________________
11530 is offline
xomp
BANNED
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 06-08-2012 , 18:58   Re: Question about sm_gravity
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11530 View Post
I wasn't really talking you you
How does one talk you you? More importantly, what is you you?

Please advise.
xomp is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to xomp
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:19.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode