Raised This Month: $213 Target: $400
 53% 

How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
abhishek_deshkar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Earth
Old 12-29-2019 , 14:24   How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #1

My question was actually pointless.

Last edited by abhishek_deshkar; 01-09-2020 at 01:10. Reason: My question was actually pointless.
abhishek_deshkar is offline
sphinx
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: E.U. / localhost
Old 12-29-2019 , 15:12   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #2

Anycast is useless for csgo servers.
sphinx is offline
abhishek_deshkar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Earth
Old 12-29-2019 , 16:31   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sphinx View Post
Anycast is useless for csgo servers.
I need to add proxy IP. Don't want to disclose the main IP so.
abhishek_deshkar is offline
asdfxD
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Old 12-29-2019 , 16:50   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #4

Not possible in csgo to hide public ip.
asdfxD is offline
wolvez04
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Andora
Old 12-29-2019 , 18:34   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by asdfxD View Post
Not possible in csgo to hide public ip.
Not true. GFL use it.
__________________
Hiring developers of all sorts for small or big jobs.
Paying nicely. Just PM for any available jobs.

wolvez04 is offline
asdfxD
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Old 12-29-2019 , 19:41   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #6

Yeah maybe, but not for us. Never saw working stuff here since the release of csgo.

Last edited by asdfxD; 12-29-2019 at 19:41.
asdfxD is offline
RealEdan
Member
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: United States
Old 12-29-2019 , 21:05   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #7

Really curious how Anycast will have an impact on game servers, as I believe right now it's not quite yet ready.
__________________
RealEdan is offline
abhishek_deshkar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Earth
Old 12-29-2019 , 22:24   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealEdan View Post
Really curious how Anycast will have an impact on game servers, as I believe right now it's not quite yet ready.
What about hiding the main IP ?
abhishek_deshkar is offline
sphinx
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: E.U. / localhost
Old 12-30-2019 , 04:00   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhishek_deshkar View Post
What about hiding the main IP ?
Once a player connects to games server the main ip address will be known. Anycast is used for very different purposes.
sphinx is offline
abhishek_deshkar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Earth
Old 12-30-2019 , 04:16   Re: How to use anycast ip with CSGO ?
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by sphinx View Post
Once a player connects to games server the main ip address will be known. Anycast is used for very different purposes.
Nope. You are wrong. I have been using Anycast IP for my CS 1.6 HLDS server. It works very well with it.

What it does is, it hides the main IP, it means traffic passes through the anycast IP only since Anycast is attached to the main VPS. I use multiple anycast ips to protect my server because if one IP gets DDoSed then others are working. This concept is same as proxy but Google cloud improves network performance.
abhishek_deshkar is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode