Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

Snapshot


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
courage666
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Latvia
Old 01-30-2007 , 16:10   Snapshot
Reply With Quote #1

hi, i made this little script:
client_cmd(read_data(1), "snapshot")
works fine... i tryed to make a timer but nothing...
how can i make a timer and on its exit the script will send to clients cmd?
__________________
This field is used to be as a signature, but i will make it as a notebook!
courage666 is offline
Send a message via MSN to courage666 Send a message via Skype™ to courage666
[ --<-@ ] Black Rose
ANNIHILATED
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden.
Old 01-30-2007 , 18:06   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #2

What language is that?
[ --<-@ ] Black Rose is offline
XxAvalanchexX
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: abort73.com
Old 01-30-2007 , 18:34   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #3

Use set_task. For example, this will delay a function by 15 seconds.

Code:
public some_function(id) {      set_task(15.0,"next_function",id); } public next_function(id) {      client_cmd(id,"snapshot"); }
__________________
No longer around. Thanks your support, everyone! As always:
THIS ONES FOR YOU
3000 PTS
XxAvalanchexX is offline
courage666
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Latvia
Old 01-30-2007 , 19:46   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #4

thx takes a snapshot every 10 minutes! now i can easly see who has wh!
__________________
This field is used to be as a signature, but i will make it as a notebook!
courage666 is offline
Send a message via MSN to courage666 Send a message via Skype™ to courage666
lunarwolfx
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Old 01-31-2007 , 00:01   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
thx takes a snapshot every 10 minutes! now i can easly see who has wh!
in that case, you should consider looking at hawk's tutorial on how to avoid using set_task, so that you don't abuse it in the future and cause a really laggy plugin.

http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=43049
lunarwolfx is offline
dutchmeat
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Old 01-31-2007 , 13:50   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #6

You can't use amxx to see if someone has wh, or any other hack.
This snapshot function is nothing more then creating a screenshot on their machines, so on the CLIENTS machines.
You need them on the server, which means you will have to create a link with either sockets or use another way to transfer those screenshots to the server.
But that can easily be prevented by putting up a firewall, or disabling ports.
That's why i think you can't make some kind of anticheat plugin with Amxx because it has too much limits.
Cheats should be caught at the beginning, and that's the hook of a program, or dll to the game, or the video memory.

dutchie out...
__________________
before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. that way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.
dutchmeat is offline
MaximusBrood
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Old 01-31-2007 , 17:43   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunarwolfx View Post
in that case, you should consider looking at hawk's tutorial on how to avoid using set_task, so that you don't abuse it in the future and cause a really laggy plugin.
Uch, you have no idea what you are talking about.
There is (apart from spawning an entity) no other way to get the same effects.
Spawning an entity is more prone to errors, and will make it needlessly complicated.
__________________
Released six formerly private plugins. Not active here since ages.
MaximusBrood is offline
lunarwolfx
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Old 01-31-2007 , 18:09   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Uch, you have no idea what you are talking about.
There is (apart from spawning an entity) no other way to get the same effects.
Spawning an entity is more prone to errors, and will make it needlessly complicated.
why does that mean I have no idea what I'm talking about?

I didn't say it wouldn't be more complicated than a set_task, and you already mentioned yourself that you can spawn an entity as another method.

he did say he's going to use set_task to take a snapshot every 10 minutes, thus it's one of the points covered in hawk's tutorial.

If you mean that it's totally pointless for this type of plugin, then I agree with you. If it were me, I would stick with set_task for something that occurs every 10 minutes, but the point of my statement is so that he knows there are other options that are less expensive than set_task for future references.
lunarwolfx is offline
Zenith77
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 01-31-2007 , 19:41   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #9

Actually set_task() would be less expensive in this case. You're over complicating things.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by phorelyph View Post
your retatred
Zenith77 is offline
lunarwolfx
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Old 01-31-2007 , 20:54   Re: Snapshot
Reply With Quote #10

oh, in that case, you have every right to say I don't know what I'm talking about.
lunarwolfx is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:57.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode