Raised This Month: $89 Target: $400
 22% 

Exceeding precache limits


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
SomewhereLost
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tomorrowland
Old 07-26-2019 , 12:55   Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #1

Hello,

Ive been wondering if there is any consequence in case you exceed the precache limit, does that mean as long as they are exceeded some of them won't get precached?

Theres an example, these are the results of resource counter

Code:
Type    : Total Limit

  model   : 293   510  
  sound   : 323   511  
  generic : 17    4096 
  event   : 29    255  
  decal   : 673   511  
------------------------
1335 Total of precached resource count
__________________
SomewhereLost is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to SomewhereLost
CrazY.
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SP, Brazil
Old 07-26-2019 , 15:07   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #2

Yes, what will cause the server to crash.
__________________
Accepting private $$$ plugins requests.

@Steam: crazy770
@Discord: CrazY.#5317

Website | Channel

CrazY. is offline
Celena Luna
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Old 07-26-2019 , 16:04   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #3

It will give a quite common error dialog

Quote:
Host_Error: PF_precache_model_I: Model 'models/p_elite.mdl' failed to precache because the item count is over the 512 limit.
Reduce the number of brush models and/or regular models in the map to correct this.
__________________
My plugin:
Celena Luna is offline
SomewhereLost
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tomorrowland
Old 07-26-2019 , 17:08   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #4

According to those decal counts, server should have crashed many times by now since theyre over 511.
I suppose default files which come with cs are precached too because I certainly do not use nor 293 models or 323 sounds.

Why arent decals crashing it? What are they even?
__________________
SomewhereLost is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to SomewhereLost
CrazY.
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SP, Brazil
Old 07-26-2019 , 19:14   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #5

Yes, everything which come with cs are precached.
Not sure about decals and event, but everything else will crash the server if exceeds the limit.

Both, ReHLDS rescount and Precache Kit plugin doesn't seems to count the precached resources properly, so you'll only notice if something exceeded the limit when you receive errors like what Celena posted.
__________________
Accepting private $$$ plugins requests.

@Steam: crazy770
@Discord: CrazY.#5317

Website | Channel


Last edited by CrazY.; 07-26-2019 at 19:16.
CrazY. is offline
SomewhereLost
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tomorrowland
Old 07-27-2019 , 14:42   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #6

And theres no chance to increase those limits is there?
__________________
SomewhereLost is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to SomewhereLost
meTaLiCroSS
Gaze Upon My Hat
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Viņa del Mar, Chile
Old 07-27-2019 , 16:29   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomewhereLost View Post
And theres no chance to increase those limits is there?
Values are shared and hardcoded on client's binaries. That's the issue.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by joropito View Post
You're right Metalicross
meTaLiCroSS is offline
SomewhereLost
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tomorrowland
Old 07-27-2019 , 17:39   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #8

In other words, could still be done but noone bothers to do it.
__________________
SomewhereLost is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to SomewhereLost
HamletEagle
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Romania
Old 07-27-2019 , 17:56   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomewhereLost View Post
In other words, could still be done but noone bothers to do it.
In other words, no. Only Valve can change that.
__________________
HamletEagle is offline
SomewhereLost
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Tomorrowland
Old 07-28-2019 , 14:39   Re: Exceeding precache limits
Reply With Quote #10

Thanks lads.

Spoiler
__________________
SomewhereLost is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to SomewhereLost
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 17:17.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode