Raised This Month: $7 Target: $400
 1% 

Tickrate Enabler Not working


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Jillchang
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Old 01-29-2017 , 14:06   Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #1

Only for TF2,
I'm trying to use tickrate enabler and get the following error:
Code:
GetTickInterval returned bogus tick interval (0.000000)[0.001000 to 0.100000 is valid range]
I tried different tickrate enablers and they didn't load.
I tried -tickrate 0.100 and the normal -tickrate 33.
Still same error. The version I used was this one: https://github.com/daemon32/tickrate...leases/tag/0.5

Works for nmrih and other games.

Any idea if I'm missing an updated version or doing something wrong? Is there a fix?
I'm using a mod that uses dhooks also.
*edit: seems like it's not working on normal TF2 servers also.

Last edited by Jillchang; 01-29-2017 at 15:10.
Jillchang is offline
axiom123
Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Old 06-11-2017 , 12:58   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #2

help, There is also such a problem
set -tickrate 0.1 Does not help

Last edited by axiom123; 06-11-2017 at 12:59.
axiom123 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to axiom123 Send a message via Skype™ to axiom123
Jillchang
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Old 06-11-2017 , 13:31   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #3

yea the one that used to work for tf2 is gone, can't find it since it was deleted on the website.
Jillchang is offline
axiom123
Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Old 06-13-2017 , 03:39   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #4

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hy5w2xpp8k...r_0.4.rar?dl=0
old version
axiom123 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to axiom123 Send a message via Skype™ to axiom123
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 06-13-2017 , 07:51   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #5

TF2's engine is tickless.
psychonic is offline
axiom123
Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ukraine, Kiev
Old 06-13-2017 , 08:16   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #6

first server
CPU In_(KB/s) Out_(KB/s) Uptime Map_changes FPS Players Connects
0.00 5.04 5.51 434 0 99.81 2 26
There is a modified metamod and everything works
The problem is that I can not find out how they include it

Last edited by axiom123; 06-13-2017 at 08:17.
axiom123 is offline
Send a message via ICQ to axiom123 Send a message via Skype™ to axiom123
shavit
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Israel
Old 06-28-2017 , 15:08   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychonic View Post
TF2's engine is tickless.
Are you sure? According to this page, TF2 servers run at 66 tickrate by default and cannot be changed: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...yer_Networking

And AFAIK for it to be changeable, you need a plugin that hooks GetTickInterval(), such as this:
Code:
float GetTickInterval()
{
	float tickinterval = DEFAULT_TICK_INTERVAL;

	if ( CommandLine()->CheckParm( "-tickrate" ) )
	{
		float tickrate = CommandLine()->ParmValue( "-tickrate", 0 );
		if ( tickrate > 10 )
			tickinterval = 1.0f / tickrate;
	}

	RETURN_META_VALUE(MRES_SUPERCEDE, tickinterval );
}
(Code taken from daemon32's Tickrate Enabler.)

What would happen if you use SourceMod functions such as GetGameTime() and GetGameTickCount()?
__________________
retired

Last edited by shavit; 06-28-2017 at 15:09.
shavit is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 06-28-2017 , 20:10   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by shavit View Post
Are you sure?
No. Bad memory/terminology. It still ticks. It's "frameless", in that framerate is irrelevant-ish on that engine branch. Ticking is still a thing.
psychonic is offline
psychonic

BAFFLED
Join Date: May 2008
Old 06-28-2017 , 20:15   Re: Tickrate Enabler Not working
Reply With Quote #9

Double-post, but whatever.

The plugin likely just needs to be recompiled to take into account the ICommandLine change in 9/2016. The last Release on the Github page is from 1/2016.
psychonic is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:00.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode