Raised This Month: $9 Target: $400
 2% 

Reinstalling from scratch


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Larsen
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Old 10-17-2011 , 20:26   Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #1

Our server's linux through gameservers, and I want to do it all over again. All the guides I found to do this either have the hlsupdatetool.exe for windows, or a bin file for linux and start from there. But I cannot run the linux bin file on this as it's a windows system. But I want to have all the base files on this sytem and upload that to the gameserver ftp first (alternate path) so that it's a smoother transition and our unit doesn't have to sit out without our server while we hit the 'reinstall' button through the gameservers.com UI. As you can guess, all the plugins through gameserver's UI are outdated so that's why I want to do this all from scratch on my windows machine first.


What am I missing? I didn't start the server, I was merely brought on to help so that's why I'm in the position I'm in. Would be most comfortable starting with the stock stuff and plugging in all the addons afterwards.

This is a DoD:S server btw. Should I just make a new directory on the FTP with slightly different path and run a batch file on there? How would I exec it on the ftp? Would like a little guidance is all and I apologize if this is a repeat.
__________________

Larsen is offline
meecrob
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Old 10-17-2011 , 21:14   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #2

The easiest thing you could do would be to have your host re-install the server. Usually this is an option in your control panel. I believe that it will just erase the directory and reinstall from an image. Once this is done you can update the server and then install your mods/plugings (directly via ftp and NOT use their mod installer.) Typically the reinstall will only take a couple of minutes (with TCAdmin anyway.)
__________________
meecrob is offline
Larsen
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Old 10-18-2011 , 03:53   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #3

That is something I'm keeping in mind meecrob. How do I know what kinda admin they're using?

Quote:
Typically the reinstall will only take a couple of minutes (with TCAdmin anyway.)
But I am willing to download it all to my machine and do it from there if possible. What do you think about using a live cd for (this is what I have): Linux Mint, Ultimate Edition, and Saboyan. All x64, burnt late last year. Please tell me one of those runs on the linux 2.4 kernel needed for the linux scrds.
__________________

Larsen is offline
devicenull
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CT
Old 10-22-2011 , 19:26   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larsen View Post
As you can guess, all the plugins through gameserver's UI are outdated so that's why I want to do this all from scratch on my windows machine first.
Put in a ticket saying the mods are outdated and ask for them to be updated?
__________________
Various bits of semi-useful code in a bunch of languages: http://code.devicenull.org/
devicenull is offline
Bloodlvst
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick,
Old 10-22-2011 , 19:40   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larsen View Post
That is something I'm keeping in mind meecrob. How do I know what kinda admin they're using?



But I am willing to download it all to my machine and do it from there if possible. What do you think about using a live cd for (this is what I have): Linux Mint, Ultimate Edition, and Saboyan. All x64, burnt late last year. Please tell me one of those runs on the linux 2.4 kernel needed for the linux scrds.
Back when I had Gameservers the control panel had a "full wipe" option.

Why not just use that option? It should give you a vanilla server install with no mods.
__________________
Quote:
skywalker: I have cs source client 5 how to upgrade to client 7
BAILOPAN: oh
Bloodlvst is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Bloodlvst Send a message via AIM to Bloodlvst Send a message via MSN to Bloodlvst
Larsen
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Old 10-22-2011 , 22:55   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by devicenull View Post
Put in a ticket saying the mods are outdated and ask for them to be updated?
Been tried my friend. Already been tried I do not have final say on where the server is located so getting them to change hosts is tricky.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodlvst View Post
Back when I had Gameservers the control panel had a "full wipe" option.

Why not just use that option? It should give you a vanilla server install with no mods.
Well, if it comes down to it, obviously this is an option. But I'm going to try uploading my stuff from scratch into a different folder so that whenever I want to try it I can just rename the root folder.

That should work right? Just rename root folder and restart it. That way I can look at the old one and pick and plop whatever I still need over to the new one, until I'm confident it's got all the mods/configs running again.

Will I need to change file permissions all over again? Or should they be the same as the old one if I copy/paste?
__________________

Larsen is offline
Bloodlvst
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick,
Old 10-22-2011 , 22:58   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #7

Renaming the root folder would essentially be the same as doing a full wipe I believe.
__________________
Quote:
skywalker: I have cs source client 5 how to upgrade to client 7
BAILOPAN: oh
Bloodlvst is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Bloodlvst Send a message via AIM to Bloodlvst Send a message via MSN to Bloodlvst
Larsen
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Old 11-01-2011 , 12:01   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #8

TY Blood.

By the way, is there a thread or poll with gameserver providers? I really hate mine lol. So far I've heard artofwar is a good one and for good price. Gameservers.com is without say not very good.

I can google all day, but i figure this community would share my needs the most.
__________________

Larsen is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 11-01-2011 , 13:28   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larsen View Post
TY Blood.

By the way, is there a thread or poll with gameserver providers? I really hate mine lol. So far I've heard artofwar is a good one and for good price. Gameservers.com is without say not very good.

I can google all day, but i figure this community would share my needs the most.
One thing I can tell you: MultiPlay doesn't even give you FTP access; to install any addons, their team has to approve them (and install them for you).

Needless to say, they won't let me install addons that I personally wrote, which is a major "NO!" in my book.
__________________
Am I back? Well, we'll see.
Powerlord is offline
Ade
I love purple
Join Date: May 2010
Old 11-01-2011 , 15:37   Re: Reinstalling from scratch
Reply With Quote #10

ask them to use the -verify-all option when updating, worked wonders for me in a previous update where the server kept crashing after 1 min of playing.
__________________
Ade is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:33.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode