Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

[crash] Alarm clock ?!


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
karq
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Old 06-29-2012 , 04:24   [crash] Alarm clock ?!
Reply With Quote #1

Sometimes I got crash like this:
PHP Code:
L 06/29/2012 09:53:18"XXX" disconnected (reason "Disconnect by user.")
Dropped MrocznyOgór from server (Disconnect by user.)
Cbuf_AddTextbuffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
Cbuf_AddText
buffer overflow
L 06
/29/2012 09:53:21"XXX" connectedaddress "XXX_IP"
Client "XXX" connected (XXX_IP).
L 06/29/2012 09:53:21"YYY" joined team "Red"
Cbuf_AddTextbuffer overflow
L 06
/29/2012 09:53:21"XXX" STEAM USERID validated
L 06
/29/2012 09:53:22"ZZZ" triggered "builtobject" (object "OBJ_SENTRYGUN") (position "750 3707 -463")
Alarm clock
Add 
"-debug" to the ./srcds_run command line to generate a debug.log to help with solving this problem
Fri Jun 29 09
:53:22 BST 2012Server restart in 10 seconds 
TF2 Linux Server, map cp_gravelpit.
How to avoid it?
karq is offline
Nick Haldem
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Moldova
Old 08-27-2012 , 18:53   Re: [crash] Alarm clock ?!
Reply With Quote #2

I have the same problem.Could you please tell me how you fixed it?
__________________
Your server is empty? Visit our webpage http://boost.dyc.lv/ and make it full!!!

Last edited by Nick Haldem; 08-27-2012 at 18:53.
Nick Haldem is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to Nick Haldem
Daboy
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Old 08-27-2012 , 18:53   Re: [crash] Alarm clock ?!
Reply With Quote #3

hello! How do you fix it ? I have a same problem.
Daboy is offline
4bdul
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Old 08-27-2012 , 20:05   Re: [crash] Alarm clock ?!
Reply With Quote #4

Maybe this will help:
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://forums.srcds.com/viewtopic/14306
I would like to thank Joonas from the srcds_linux mailing list for identifying what "Alarm clock" is. I went to go search for it on google (srcds SIGALRM) and I found this: http://noteand.blog.eonet.jp/weblog/2009...-da30.html

Quote:
"* The linux dedicated server supports a watchdog timer functionality,
which is enabled by default. The intent of this timer is to make
anything which hangs the server, either due to unknown bugs or
misconfiguration, cause an abort, so that the server may restart or
be debugged. In the case of a forked server, this will cause a new
subprocess to start to replace the crashed one. On a non-forked
server, this can be used in conjunction with an auto-restart script
in order to increase server availability. If you see your server
dying with SIGALRM (signal 14), it means that this has triggered
because of either a server frame taking longer than 5 seconds of
wall time, or a map load taking too long. If this code causes
trouble for you, it can be disabled via giving the "-nowatchdog"
option on the command line."

I put the -nowatchdog switch in srcds_run and switching to something like realism, mutation, etc. from the lobby with sv_search_key WORKS now! I think reliability might be an issue, so now I have to test out how much I can push out of my old linux box.

Thanks a lot for all your help, guys!
__________________
4bdul is offline
dustinandband
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2015
Old 09-07-2021 , 13:24   Re: [crash] Alarm clock ?!
Reply With Quote #5

Not sure if it's better to start a new thread or tack on an existing thread for the same topic that's almost a decade old, but we had this issue last night with 3 (out of our 11) servers -tokyo, singapore, and australia locations.

We have 11 servers total, hosted on the same OS (Ubuntu 18.04.5 LTS) and provider (Vultr). Once per day each server rsyncs server updates from a github repo we keep up-to-date. So the servers that where working had the same exact config as the servers that where throwing this error, except some files mostly related to gamedata stuff SM keeps updated ( line 41-57 here )

The servers throwing the error would start up correctly and around 30 seconds later would come up with the Alarm clock message, then reboot.
Code:
VAC secure mode is activated.
L 09/07/2021 - 02:58:11: [GasConfig_v2.smx] [GasConfig] Connected to the database successfully.
ConVarRef mat_hdr_manual_tonemap_rate doesn't point to an existing ConVar
 atrium map script
L 09/07/2021 - 02:58:12: [OnLogAction_To_DB.smx] Connected to the database successfully.
L 09/07/2021 - 02:58:12: [SurvivalRecorder.smx] Connected to the database successfully.
L 09/07/2021 - 02:58:14: [SurvivalRecorder.smx] Database tables initialized successfully
Alarm clock
Add "-debug" to the /root/L4D2/srcds_run command line to generate a debug.log to help with solving this problem
Tue Sep  7 03:00:04 UTC 2021: Server restart in 10 seconds
Accelerator didn't pick anything up so I tried the default "-debug" launch setting which ended up being useless:
Code:
CRASH: Tue Sep  7 04:27:42 UTC 2021
Start Line: ./srcds_linux -game left4dead2 -tickrate 30 -ip 45.32.29.94 -port 27015 +map c1m4_atrium +mp_gamemode survival +tv_enable 1 -debug
End of Source crash report
Hostname wasn't showing up either except for ~ 1 second after launch (it gets relaunched automatically from a running shell script) - https://youtu.be/hzM6Wo-ZgaE

tried -nowatchdog and I was able to join one server that ended up crashing soon after. Tried loading the same server and it crashed while loading from lobby but generated a .dmp crash log file:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mlc900tl72...45_28.dmp?dl=0

Also tried to diffcheck the console output from bootup to "Database tables initialized successfully" for a working server and one erroring out; no major differences.

Only our Australia server is still having the issue but I don't have FTP access as someone else is sponsoring that location.

Made this post in-case I luck out and someone might've had this issue before

meta list
Code:
Listing 7 plugins:
  [01] SourceMod (1.10.0.6502) by AlliedModders LLC
  [02] L4DToolZ (1.0.0.9r1) by Ivailosp
  [03] SourceTV Support (0.9.10) by Evgeniy "shqke" Kazakov
  [04] SDK Tools (1.10.0.6502) by AlliedModders LLC
  [05] SDK Hooks (1.10.0.6502) by AlliedModders LLC
  [06] SteamWorks Extension (1.2.3) by Kyle Sanderson
  [07] SourceTV Manager (1.2) by Peace-Maker
plugin list
Spoiler


Edit

Issue resolved itself shortly after. If it happens again I'll look more into it

Spoiler

Last edited by dustinandband; 09-08-2021 at 12:37.
dustinandband is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 15:46.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode