Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Mathiaas
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sweden ♥
Old 02-01-2015 , 17:13   CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #1

So, what would I use to spawn flat blocks? I assume that it isn't props, so what would I use in order to create a flat block?
Mathiaas is offline
Neuro Toxin
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: { closing the void; }
Old 02-02-2015 , 00:58   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #2

You cant spawn brushes.

I think you should say what your trying to achieve and what u have already tried.
__________________
Neuro Toxin is offline
kadet.89
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Serbia
Old 02-02-2015 , 12:59   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #3

Actually he can: https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=129597 , but brushes == props, and they will be invisible

Last edited by kadet.89; 02-02-2015 at 13:00.
kadet.89 is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to kadet.89
Neuro Toxin
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: { closing the void; }
Old 02-02-2015 , 15:24   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #4

That's a trigger brush.

Can OP please clarify if they are talking about triggers or a textured func_brush or func_detail entity?
__________________
Neuro Toxin is offline
Mathiaas
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sweden ♥
Old 02-03-2015 , 01:07   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #5

Well I would like to create flat blocks of some kind, which would be walk/jumpable on.
Mathiaas is offline
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 02-03-2015 , 01:16   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #6

prop_dynamic is probably your best bet for creating traversable objects. Just spawn a flat model with collisions (such as models/props_lab/blastdoor001c.mdl), and rotate it if need be.

If you must create flat blocks that cover specific coordinates exactly, you could use that code snippet to spawn some kind of brush with collisions (func_brush, maybe?) and then visualize it using TempEnt lasers. I'm pretty sure there's some way to cover (in addition to surrounding) areas with those...
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)
MasterOfTheXP is offline
Neuro Toxin
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: { closing the void; }
Old 02-03-2015 , 01:25   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #7

func_brush will last the entire map and shouldn't be required to respawn each round.

func_detail will need to be spawned on every round_start event.

As posted above. You cant apply a texture to either and you will be required to visualise as mentioned.
__________________
Neuro Toxin is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 02-03-2015 , 10:20   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuro Toxin View Post
func_brush will last the entire map and shouldn't be required to respawn each round.

func_detail will need to be spawned on every round_start event.

As posted above. You cant apply a texture to either and you will be required to visualise as mentioned.
func_detail is an internal brush (i.e. it's compiled into the BSP). Can you even spawn internal brushes?
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.
Powerlord is offline
Neuro Toxin
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: { closing the void; }
Old 02-03-2015 , 15:23   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #9

Not sure. That is a comment from mapping experience.
__________________
Neuro Toxin is offline
Mitchell
~lick~
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 02-03-2015 , 16:21   Re: CreateEntityByName - Creating flat blocks?
Reply With Quote #10

func_detail's are used for pointers that the vis compiler can use to easily determine if a player can see through/around the object. Im not even sure if func_detail is compiled into the bsp either..

What OP is looking for is posted here:
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showpo...73&postcount=6

There would be no point in trying to make a brush, as it makes things complicated, he could just make a platform model (the block) and spawn it as a prop_dynamic or physics (movement disabled)

Last edited by Mitchell; 02-04-2015 at 09:04.
Mitchell is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode