Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

FF2 [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
jasonfrog
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Old 03-13-2013 , 10:01   [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #1

Boss Tweaks (Latest Version: v1.0)

This plugin is for customising or creating variations of existing Bosses by tweaking values such as scale, colour, footsteps, etc.
Tweaks are applied at the start of the round.

This is not a rage ability plugin.

Installation:
  • ff2_bosstweaks.ff2 -> plugins/freaks/
  • ff2_bosstweaks.sp -> scripting/
This tweak plugin consists of:

Scale Boss Model
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "scalemodel"
    "arg1" "1.3"  
// a float value. put -1.0 for random value between 0.7 and 1.3
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Sensible values are usually between 0.7 and 1.3, otherwise there could be issues with Bosses getting stuck or hard to see/hit.

Scale Boss Head
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "scalehead"
    "arg1" "1.3"  
// a float value. put -1.0 for random value between 0.5 and 4.0
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Scales the Bosses head independent of the rest of the model. Please note that some Bosses head won't scale independently due to how it's model is constructed.

Boss Footsteps
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "footsteps"
    "arg1" "-1"  
// [integer] 1 = giant footsteps. 2 = robot footsteps. 3 = squelchy footsteps. -1 = use sounds defined in arg3 and arg4
    
"arg2" "0"  // [integer] volume level in db, between 1 and 180. leave blank or 0 to use default sound level.
    
"arg3" "freak_fortress_2/bossname/rightfoot.mp3"  // [string] path to sound for right foot. leave blank if using a builtin option
    
"arg4" "freak_fortress_2/bossname/leftfoot.mp3"  // [string] path to sound for left foot. leave blank if using a builtin option
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Sets the sound of the footsteps the Boss makes when he walks.

Boss Colour
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "colour"
    "arg1" "255"  
// [integer] red value between 0 and 255
    
"arg2" "255"  // [integer] blue value between 0 and 255
    
"arg3" "128"  // [integer] green value between 0 and 255
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Changes the colour of the Boss to an RGB value.

Boss Alpha
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "alpha"
    "arg1" "40"  
// [integer] alpha value between 0 and 255, where 0 would make the Boss invisible.
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Change the alpha (transparency) of the Boss.

Boss Gravity
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "gravity"
    "arg1" "0.8"  
// [float] gravity multiple. 0.1 very low, 1.0 normal, 8.0 very high
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Change the gravity of the Boss.

Boss Message
PHP Code:
"abilityX"
{
    
"name" "message"
    "arg1" "2"  
// [integer] message type. 1 = chat message. 2 = hint message. 3 = centre text message
    
"arg2" "0"  // [integer] delay, in seconds, after the start of the round before displaying message
    
"arg3" "Boss Theme: Puppy - Netsky" // [string] the message to be displayed
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"

  • Displays a message after the defined delay.

ChangeLog:
v1.0: Initial release.
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (ff2_bosstweaks.sp - 821 views - 8.4 KB)
File Type: smx ff2_bosstweaks.smx (9.4 KB, 985 views)
jasonfrog is offline
Darthmule
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Netherlands
Old 03-13-2013 , 12:30   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #2

Amazing.
Darthmule is offline
MrYtem39
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: ctf_2fort
Old 03-13-2013 , 12:58   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #3

Awesome!
MrYtem39 is offline
Fearts
ferts of daeth
Join Date: Oct 2008
Old 03-13-2013 , 20:17   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #4

Very useful
__________________
Fearts is offline
jasonfrog
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Old 03-14-2013 , 17:38   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #5

Thanks for the positive feedback. If you have any ideas for further tweaks that could be added to this plugin, then do let me know.
jasonfrog is offline
RavensBro
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wisonsin USA
Old 03-30-2013 , 01:30   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #6

ok not sure what I am doing wrong here but for the footsteps I set it like it shows ran it server crashed something about the sound not being precache so I add those 2 files to the

"sound_precache"
{
"1" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\bgm.mp3"
"2" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\rightfoot.mp3"
"3" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\leftfoot.mp3"
}

and it still crashes and say same thing about the sound not being precache so now what? ok I took a look again and at the end it says bad string.

Last edited by RavensBro; 03-30-2013 at 09:09.
RavensBro is offline
jasonfrog
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Old 03-30-2013 , 06:08   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavensBro View Post
ok not sure what I am doing wrong here but for the footsteps I set it like it shows ran it server crashed something about the sound not being precache so I add those 2 files to the "sound_precache"
{
"1" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\bgm.mp3"
"2" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\rightfoot.mp3"
"3" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\leftfoot.mp3"
}

and it still crashes and say same thing about the sound not being precache so now what? ok I took a look again and at the end it says bad string.
Well that's odd. Custom footsteps have been working for me. You don't need to precache them in the boss configure as this plugin will do that. You only need to add the footsteps sounds in an ability configuration and in the download configuration.

I've just randomly customised a Boss with some custom footsteps sounds just to verify. I used the following configuration and it worked fine. Replace BOSSNAME with the name of your Boss and the Xs with the relevant numbers.

PHP Code:
"abilityX" 

    
"name" "footsteps" 
    "arg1" "-1"  
// [integer] 1 = giant footsteps. 2 = robot footsteps. 3 = squelchy footsteps. -1 = use sounds defined in arg3 and arg4 
    
"arg2" "0"  // [integer] volume level in db, between 1 and 180. leave blank or 0 to use default sound level. 
    
"arg3" "freak_fortress_2\BOSSNAME\rightfoot.mp3"  // [string] path to sound for right foot. leave blank if using a builtin option 
    
"arg4" "freak_fortress_2\BOSSNAME\leftfoot.mp3"  // [string] path to sound for left foot. leave blank if using a builtin option 
    
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks" 


PHP Code:
"download"
{
    
"X"    "sound\freak_fortress_2\BOSSNAME\leftfoot.mp3" 
    "X"    "sound\freak_fortress_2\BOSSNAME\rightfoot.mp3"


Last edited by jasonfrog; 03-30-2013 at 06:09.
jasonfrog is offline
RavensBro
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wisonsin USA
Old 03-30-2013 , 08:52   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #8

well I knew that much, this is how I got it.


"ability2"
{
"name" "footsteps"
"arg1" "-1"
"arg2" "0"
"arg3" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\rightfoot.mp3"
"arg4" "freak_fortress_2\cyclope\leftfoot.mp3"
"plugin_name" "ff2_bosstweaks"
}


"download"
{
"1" "materials\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\cyclop_no rmal.vtf"
"2" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\bgm.mp3"
"3" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\hit.mp3"
"4" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\intro.mp3 "
"5" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\kill1.mp3 "
"6" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\lose1.mp3 "
"7" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\rage1.mp3 "
"8" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\win1.mp3"
"9" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\rightfoot.mp3 "
"10" "sound\freak_fortress_2\cyclope\leftfoot. mp3"
}

so what do you see here I did wrong? and I wanted to say I see in the .sp you have it set for wav files or that doesn't matter?

Last edited by RavensBro; 03-30-2013 at 09:18.
RavensBro is offline
nope.avi
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Old 04-04-2013 , 20:58   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #9

Nice! Really useful! Is there a rage that changes the bosses model? And changes back after? It would help to like... change the model of a boss to something deadly then back for the rage effect. Like maybe a goku boss. On rage: SUPER SAIYAN!
__________________
I quit the FF2 business, I can only provide some assistance and feedback. I was previously a 3D modeler, texture artist and boss maker.
nope.avi is offline
Fearts
ferts of daeth
Join Date: Oct 2008
Old 04-04-2013 , 21:08   Re: [Subplugin] Boss Tweaks v1.0 (2013/03/13)
Reply With Quote #10

^Was thinking about doing something like this also. Except my idea was to change models per boss life.
__________________
Fearts is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode