Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

[ANY] Improve Latency

Post New Thread Reply   

Old 09-19-2022 , 11:10   [ANY] Improve Latency
Reply With Quote #1

Well, it should be a controversial topic.

Anyway, I would like to share with current and future server operators a little trick(?) I discovered when I was younger and still had game servers for Counter-Strike: Source.

Improve player latency:

I had noticed that when default rates of clients were lower then those of the server, latency decreases.

This can be achieved as follows:

PHP Code:
#include <sourcemod>

public void OnClientPutInServer(int iClient)
{

ClientCommand(iClient"cl_cmdrate 30");

ClientCommand(iClient"cl_updaterate 20");

# OR

FakeClientCommand(iClient"cl_cmdrate 30");

FakeClientCommand(iClient"cl_updaterate 20");

Since I'm not an expert on this subject (and I lack a lot of knowledge about it), I can't explain anything meaningful.

Last edited by sneaK; 05-31-2023 at 10:58. Reason: Restore to previous version.
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Old 09-19-2022 , 13:17   Re: [ANY] Improve Latency
Reply With Quote #2

Code:
'Bacardi connected.
FCVAR_SERVER_CAN_EXECUTE prevented server running command: cl_cmdrate
FCVAR_SERVER_CAN_EXECUTE prevented server running command: cl_updaterate
Plugin does nothing, unless you are running very antique cs:s version.
Old 09-19-2022 , 13:35   Re: [ANY] Improve Latency
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacardi View Post
Code:
'Bacardi connected.
FCVAR_SERVER_CAN_EXECUTE prevented server running command: cl_cmdrate
FCVAR_SERVER_CAN_EXECUTE prevented server running command: cl_updaterate
Plugin does nothing, unless you are running very antique cs:s version.
Hmm. Now I am questioning if it really worked back then or if I had changed something else as people started to complain. Without the plugin (if you do it yourself with console) it does work however.