Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

kbot - cs:s action in irc


  
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
cj_
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Old 01-25-2005 , 19:37   kbot - cs:s action in irc
#1

This is a perl script that launches an IRC bot and displays the action and chatter from a CS:S server to an IRC channel, with players colored by team (using mirc colors or ANSI).

It is not a plugin, but rather a "wrapper". When run it will launch an IRC bot for you and also the srcds server. A pipe is set up so that you can still type at the console as if you ran ./srcds_run yourself.

Sorry but this is Linux/FreeBSD only and I do not know how to make it work on Windows. Perhaps in the future, someone will write a plugin that moves this functionality into the engine core itself.

This has been running on my server for a month and is entirely stable. You can preview the action at irc.idlenet.org channel #kaboom (server is 64.191.197.245:27015), granted someone is playing of course. It is usually full from 2pm-2am Pacific time.

Latest version is attached, and can be also found at:

http://www.gruntle.org/projects/hl2/kbot/kbot.pl

INSTALLATION:

NOTE: You need to install IO:ty perl library.

1. Unzip kbot.pl somewhere, such as your steam directory.
2. chmod 0755 kbot.pl
3. Run by typing: ./kbot.pl
4. It will generate a config file for you. Edit and rerun kbot.


Feedback is welcome, unless it is "where's the Windows version?"
Attached Files
File Type: zip kbot.zip (10.4 KB, 188 views)
__________________
Chris
cj_ is offline
Send a message via AIM to cj_
kingpin
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: kpsforum.com
Old 01-25-2005 , 20:03  
#2

Nice work will test soon.
__________________
kingpin is offline
Send a message via ICQ to kingpin Send a message via AIM to kingpin Send a message via MSN to kingpin Send a message via Yahoo to kingpin Send a message via Skype™ to kingpin
tahvo
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Old 01-25-2005 , 20:23  
#3

Do I have to have perl at my game server or can I use my web server to run the script?
tahvo is offline
cj_
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Old 01-25-2005 , 20:35  
#4

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahvo
Do I have to have perl at my game server or can I use my web server to run the script?
It has to run on the gameserver, which is how it knows what's going on.

This tool is not for everyone, unfortunately.
__________________
Chris
cj_ is offline
Send a message via AIM to cj_
tahvo
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Old 01-26-2005 , 10:27  
#5

I have perl in my gameserver, but I have this kind of error:

Can't locate IO/Pty.pm in @INC

What should I do?
tahvo is offline
Greentryst
WHAT MORE DO THEY WANT?!
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ? MAYBE SYRUP+TREES?
Old 01-26-2005 , 10:33  
#6

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahvo
I have perl in my gameserver, but I have this kind of error: Can't locate IO/Pty.pm in @INC ... What should I do?
It sounds like you forgot this step:
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj_
NOTE: You need to install IO:ty perl library, and also have some basic knowledge of perl syntax to edit the configs.
Greentryst is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Greentryst Send a message via AIM to Greentryst Send a message via MSN to Greentryst Send a message via Yahoo to Greentryst Send a message via Skype™ to Greentryst
imported_Nameless
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Old 01-26-2005 , 12:02  
#7

look forward too a windows version
imported_Nameless is offline
tahvo
Member
Join Date: Sep 2004
Old 01-26-2005 , 13:49  
#8

There is no error message, but bot won´t join the channel.


tahvo is offline
cj_
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Old 01-26-2005 , 14:54  
#9

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahvo
There is no error message, but bot won´t join the channel.


Paste the [IRC] portions of the logs that spit out to the console when you run it. I have not tested this with every irc server, and there may be anomalies in the protocol. IRC is kind of bitchy that way. If you show me what the IRC output is, I can make it compatible.

If you're still getting "can't assign to requested address" error (I notice you edited that out):

What do you have for the "myhost =>" part?

This has to be the hostname of the server itself, or one that resolves to the IP of one of its interfaces. If you can't figure it out, delete line 556 (LocalAddr => $config->{irc}->{myhost},) and you should be fine, as it will bind to all interfaces. I should probably take this part out, but it's there so you can choose your hostname on machines that have virtual hosts, like mine.
__________________
Chris
cj_ is offline
Send a message via AIM to cj_
Sjaakie
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Old 01-28-2005 , 18:14  
#10

how do u install the kbot on gentoo ??
i'm still learning about gentoo..and i don't know how to install a bot.
if i could i would...............




greetz

Evo
__________________


www.team-instinct.nl
217.67.239.42:27015 + hlstats
217.67.239.43:27015 + hlstats
Sjaakie is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Sjaakie
 



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode