Raised This Month: $9 Target: $400
 2% 

Struggle Running Local TF2 Linux Server with WSL2


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Scag
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Crashing Hale
Old 08-21-2021 , 18:41   Struggle Running Local TF2 Linux Server with WSL2
Reply With Quote #1

My remote servers are Linux so I thought it'd be easier to run a local Linux one via WSL2 so I don't have to worry about cross compatibility gamedata.

Running Ubuntu 20.04 (or just plain Ubuntu under wsl --list --online)

I've installed the TF2 dedicated server and all of the required libraries, but when I run srcds_run I end up receiving an error:



I've experimented with various switches but there's always the same OOM error.

Ran with -debug, didn't get anything special. I don't even get a crash dump.
Spoiler


Did a lot of research. Scoured across this forum. Installed an ungodly amount of packages. Performed a fresh WSL2 install. No dice.

So I'm at a loss.

I've spent more time trying to get this to work locally than what would've taken me to just remote into my machines
__________________
Over-engineering is underrated.

GitHub
Scag is offline
asherkin
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OnGameFrame()
Old 08-23-2021 , 13:12   Re: Struggle Running Local TF2 Linux Server with WSL2
Reply With Quote #2

Are you sure your WSL2 VM isn't actually just running out of memory? What does "free -h" show?
__________________
asherkin is offline
Scag
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Crashing Hale
Old 08-25-2021 , 12:23   Re: Struggle Running Local TF2 Linux Server with WSL2
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by asherkin View Post
Are you sure your WSL2 VM isn't actually just running out of memory? What does "free -h" show?
__________________
Over-engineering is underrated.

GitHub
Scag is offline
throwaway12812391
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2021
Old 09-12-2021 , 22:49   Re: Struggle Running Local TF2 Linux Server with WSL2
Reply With Quote #4

you need -console option, you are trying to run it like a normal game
throwaway12812391 is offline
CryWolf
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romania
Old 09-18-2021 , 19:36   Re: Struggle Running Local TF2 Linux Server with WSL2
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by throwaway12812391 View Post
you need -console option, you are trying to run it like a normal game
That's not needed under Linux , since HLDS/SRCDS doesn't have a guy by default on Linux.

I think this will not run ok, from a mounted device, because of memory loading speed, try moving it on a normal partition.
__________________
I dont walk trough this world with fear in my heart.
www.dark-arena.com L4D, CS1.6, CZ Servers
CryWolf is offline
Send a message via MSN to CryWolf Send a message via Yahoo to CryWolf
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 15:24.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode